Thread to discuss the football itself.
This is not a thread to discuss the hosting of the competition in Quatar.
You can discuss the hosting in the relevant thread.
Fck yes!! Brilliant goal, fantastic game!
2-2 and we're only coming up on half-time. Ebola the scorer, I prefer that spelling.
EMBOLO! What a game. Great ball by Widmer.
As a geography nerd I would disagree with John Kenny's claim that these are near neighbours.
There's not much difference in distance from Dublin to Bern compared to Bern to Belgrade (latter is 136KM closer), and travelling by ferry you'd technically only have to pass through one country to get to Switzerland from here, and you wouldn't call us near neighbours.
Fantastic game.
What's the cavalry for Brazil here? Richarlison for Jesus, Vinicius for Antony?
that is a fabulous goal! What a ball from Shaq to start it off!
The lads in RTE are very confused it seems - have Serbia 3 Swiss 2 on the scoreboard...
Beautifully worked goal.
Lovely goal.
That assist from Vargas was beautiful. What a game so far.
Embolo will be relieved he was offside.
Fair play to Xhaka, for a fella who can get wound up sometimes, he's been very cool today.
Some dive from Mitro though, ha
Oh dear Mitro. Such an obvious dive.
Do you not get a yellow card for diving anymore.....
The attendance is 85K in an 80K stadium with empty seats 🤔🤔
Mitrovic is a rotten cheat, should be punished, regularly cheating in a Fulham shirt too, shame as there's a good player in him.
Brazil's set pieces have been abysmal this game
Wooh has done well for Cameroon. Important block there on Guimaraes.
Aboubakar gives Cameroon the lead. Another upset on the cards, although they appear to be going out anyway.
Silly to take the shirt off when on a booking. He's sent off. 😂
Wow, fair play to Cameroon!!
Brilliant way to bow out!
Ultimately doesn't change anything in the ground though.
Thats be called out before in another game I think. 41k attendance in a 40k stadium. A lot of empty seats.
Cant for the life me what the game was and I only read it today.
Winning goal and a red card for the celebration, what a brilliant way to close out the tournament for Aboubakar! 😂
Scored and sent off 🤣
So no team with winnibg all there group games wonder when that happened before. Great goal shame the ref had to send him off
Cameroon have scored a potential winner at this late stage. Nice cross and headed finish. Aboubakar not too clever though getting himself sent off for a second yellow, taking off his jersey celebrating.
Ya heard that one I think it was in first round matches
I think if Cameroon were to score another, Brazil would finish second to Switzerland.
Thought my Xhaka red card prediction had a chance for a moment...