Thread to discuss the football itself.
This is not a thread to discuss the hosting of the competition in Quatar.
You can discuss the hosting in the relevant thread.
South Korea with what looks like a late winner!
Son did well to make it.
How was that not offside?
South Korea score! uruguay fucked!
Uruguay need one more goal to get back to 2nd!
Uruguay have been good here and I think they've been easily the best team in the group besides Portugal. Plus out of the potential runners up they should offer the biggest challenge to Brazil.
They'll still roll over for Brazil though.
Cawley just can't find it in himself to not say Kudos instead of Kudus, every single time 😅
Seems the current Ghana coach doesn't make a big deal of it anyway
It was Ghanaian journalist questioning Suarez about previous WC handball asking him would he apologise.
And Suarez just said no he didn’t miss the pen - Ghana did. And he also said it wasn’t as if he did a dangerous tackle just a handball - which he was punished for.
Fans from
id guess they would alright... Suarez was asked to apologise in his press conference, and his answer was along the lines of; "no, i took my red card and gave away the penalty - they missed the penalty, that's not my fault".
It being a statement by Suarez himself makes me think they'd end up becoming aware of it.
I havent been following it really but did ghana make it a thing or did the media make it a thing?
i didn’t see a dive there from Nunez. When you think of the soft pens Ronaldo and Messi got makes the decision even more stark.
Thought Uruguay had another pen there.
No penalty given. Poor decision.
What sort of a decision is that!?
Getting a touch after you foul someone is still a foul.
Should be a penalty to Uruguay.
Suarez goes down and holds his left leg but I think the contact was made with his right leg 🤔
Would they really know too much of that talk though
Playing great in fairness for an auld fella. But Saurez should get an Oscar for the amount of shapes he throws. He has More expressions than yer wan on the millionaire raffle ad.
The Ayew brothers never really lived up to their potential
The BBC really on the England are going to win the World Cup.
The English never learn.
I would be lovely if something like that put Uruguay out.
Or if they are through on GD and Ghana get a late spiteful goal to only lose 3-1
As well as all the extra pressure on the penalty, after all the talk of Gyan's missed pen.
Apparently not as the Korea Portugal game on a good 2 to 3 minuutes before the other
Edit: Way longer seems they go with 15 mins break
not my point.
Suarez is playing like a man possessed.
Like Ireland would NEVER bring up past incidents ahead of a match
They should've never made the handball thing a thing.
8 minutes injury time vs 2 mins injury time that to VAR,
Do the second halves have to start at the same time?
Do it in front of the ref and that is what happens maybe he thought so many players around it be unnoticed
Just for reference, Darwin Nunez getting booked for trying to scuff the penalty spot has fair play at 4-4 between South Korea and Uruguay.
If South Korea go in front, and win, Uruguay will have to score again.
We see the difference between Ronaldo and Suarez there. Suarez would never turn his back on the ball!!!