In Dublin next weekend so popping up to Newry on a booze run. I've my list made out, not a chance I'm paying the prices down here.
Tesco have 6 pack 70cl cases of Santa Rita 120 wines for 32e. Not sure how they're selling them that low with MUP but they're there in the newspaper ad for anyone into wines.
They are reduced strength-less than 10%.
Castlebar store shelf price. Unsure if nationwide. Checked the online afterwards and true, no sign of the whiskey online, nevermind the price reduction.
Lads my stock from last year has finally run dry. Aside from surge cans this is the first time I've had to deal with MUP. Any pointers towards what the cheapest a bottle of Bacardi or vodka can now go for?
700ml 37.5% is €20.74
700ml 40% is €22.12
https://www.calconic.com/calculator-widgets/mup-calculator/61237b0ca5959d002a00d111
Thank you very much.
Did a run to Newry at the weekend. Sainsbury's and Tesco. Reckon I saved 50% on a wine and beer haul. Noticed most food was more expensive than down here though.
What’s with all the odd prices in Tesco for beer, todays paper has 14.38 14.06 15.63 24.86 for various 15 packs
MUP minimum i'd say?
Usually MUP minimum. Though the prices you've quoted don't appear to tally to any standard size/alcohol content for 15 packs that I can think of.
Maybe you haven't typed them properly - 24.89 (not 24.86) would be MUP for a 15 pack of 4.2% 500ml. Your €14.38 example could hardly be a 15 pack unless it's 330ml beer around 3.5%?
20x330ml Heineken @ 4.3% is €22.40 (actually 2c below MUP according to the calculator)
20x300ml Bud @ 4.3% is €20.36 (also 2c below, I wonder if the calculator is slightly off).
14.38 is the MUP for 12x 330ml 4.6% (Moretti/Madri). The calculator says 14.39 so there's probably a rounding error
My mistake, they were prices for 12 bottles
Looks like Powers Three Swallows is down to €25 in Tescos
https://www.tesco.ie/groceries/en-IE/products/290670747
216 cans of Budweiser in Sainsbury’s last Saturday - 440ml - 18 cans per box - 12 boxes purchased @ 12quid a pop. Total cost was £144 (€166 on exchange paying with AIB debit card at checkout).
Cost down here is €334. Basically half price. Same for heino & coors. Add to that the wine / Prosecco bargains and my Achilles heel - terrys choc orange @ 75p compared to €2.50 in Aldi, plus a trolley load of other stuff bought by herself at what she maintains was ‘well cheaper than home’ and it proved a very worthwhile trip.
Ordered 96 cans of 500ml from mybooze last week and it arrived Tuesday to my doorstep. Obviously it's all about luck for the package not to be caught by revenue.
Dingle Gin Is €25 in SuperValu at the moment when you scan your RealRewards card. Also comes in a really nice presentation box (located on a free standing unit rather than in the shelf)
no presentation boxes in my local sv...
That's good going.
BTW https://www.dealz.ie/13966-157g-terrys-choc-orange-ball/
Did Sainsbury’s. 15 off 60 spend x3
got 42 bottles of wine and it worked out on average €4.02 a bottle which is half the price I pay and sometimes if I’m lazy the off license charges me 10 euro a bottle so I felt I done ok.
i also got 15 Guinness 440 for 18 pound
30 cans of Heineken for 24 pound also 440ml.
overall I think the trip was worth it but the Guinness is probably worst value as you can get 8 500ml for 13.50 in supervalu.
@Bigmac1euro but the Guinness is probably worst value as you can get 8 500ml for 13.50 in supervalu.
but the Guinness is probably worst value as you can get 8 500ml for 13.50 in supervalu.
It might have been worth doing a MUP calculation on the Guinness while you were up there. MUP for 4% Guinness is €3.16/l. You paid £2.73/l which works out the same. The smaller cans and less alcohol would have put me off anyway to be honest
Going to make a run to Sainsbury's before Xmas, as getting married in the new year.
Presume it's as simply as registering and buying online ? Is a clubcard needed?
Yes.
No.
If you want wine it might be worth waiting a week or 2. The 25% off 6+ bottles of wine and £18 off first online order over £60 should be coming round again soon.
Yeah I was running on 2 hours sleep I didn’t even look at the percentage and just wanted out of there. Guinness was clearly bad value. Nice to just get all the booze bought all the same.
Picked up a Jameson black barrel today in Tesco was 30 instead of 28 must have went back up, still though looking forward to it cheers
Drumshanbo Gunpowder gin is €25 in Dunne's. Cheapest I've ever seen it even before MUP came in.
She’ll still probably find ye.
ill get me coat.
I took two Jameson Black Barrel from from Tesco for €30 per bottle
we did a trip to Newry yesterday. there is the 25% of 6 or more bottles wine in case anyone is looking. Got 15 good bottles at €5.80