Thread to discuss the football itself.
This is not a thread to discuss the hosting of the competition in Quatar.
You can discuss the hosting in the relevant thread.
I love how lewa gives out when he decides to press once every 20 mins no one is else is doing it. His team mates are wrecked
Poland are on the ropes and are offering nothing in attack. It looks like they are focusing on not conceding any more goals (and gambling that Mexico don't further improve their goal difference)
I believe Mexico will jump ahead of Poland with goal scored if they are level on goals with Poland.
Unlike other tournaments, the World cup groups use head to head only after points, GD and GS
Doesn't matter it seems, but I forgot it was Saudi Arabia that bet Argentina and not Mexico!
just checked,
I think
If it's a Mexico goal they go ahead on goals scored, ironically cos they had none before tonight
It it's an Argentina one Mexico and Poland would be level on everything and it would come down to fair play record
Should be 2-0 to Argentina, Mac Allister again.
Goals scored. The 3rd goal that would put them level on GD would also put them ahead on goals scored.
That would leave Poland on 5 with Mexico and Argentina on 4 with Argentina with a better GD and 2-0 on head to head
Nah, head to head is the 3rd decider - goal difference and goals scored are ahead of it, so Poland would top, Argentina second, and then Mexico - as things stand in the Mexico game.
That's a superb free kick for Mexico to make it 2-0.
that would bring them level on GD. How would they be split?
Am I right in saying as things stand in the Mexico game, a draw will see Argentina out on head-to-head?
Another one for Mexico - just need a third (or Argentina to score) to set them up!
What a f*cking goal from Mexico. Wow.
Chavez golazo.
Mexico closing in on Poland's goal difference.
Did Mario is a waste of space
Poland still going through - Mexico need to score twice more (or Poland concede twice more, or one of each) to turn the goal difference around.
Not yet Poland are still going through as it stands
Mexico need goals...
Not on current standings, Poland still 2 ahead of Mexico on GD...
edit: make that 1
No Poland still heading through as it stands
So Mexico are heading for the knockouts and Poland heading home.
No one would have expected that 🤣
Edit: Mexico not there yet
Was that even a yellow card? Looked a bit wreckless.
sorry I doubted ye lads. probably still need at least one more though...
Martin puts Mexico in front.
Ah ffs.
It was coming I suppose. Polish defending is poor.
Argentina deservedly ahead.
Terrible start for Poland. Mac Allister scores.
Ooooh, what a cheeky little goal! Crept in!
That was a shocking penalty to give. If that sets a precedent, there's going to be ten penalties a game.
Messi is the best player of his generation but his attitude stinks. He's far more introverted than Ronaldo so he doesn't draw as much attention to himself but he can be equally obnoxious. He has an air of Roy Keane about him: a hunger to win and the talent to match it but throws his toys out of the pram when things don't go his way. His commitment to Argentina at times should be questioned and he certainly though he was bigger than Barca. I admire his ability and he's great to watch but he's a right prat.
The people who say Argentina should win because Messi 'deserves' it also get on my tits. He'll deserve it if he contributes to them winning it but gifting it to him just because of who he is is bollocks.
Weren't there people questioning him being Player of the Tournament in 2014 and that he was given it mostly because of who he was? Though I might be remembering that wrong.
Ha, that was a lot to get out but hearing that he hat put the ball on the spot before they'd even gone to VAR is just another sign of him being a twat.
RTE a bit wishy washy on the penalty