Thread to discuss the football itself.
This is not a thread to discuss the hosting of the competition in Quatar.
You can discuss the hosting in the relevant thread.
Terrible start for Poland. Mac Allister scores.
Argentina deservedly ahead.
Ah ffs.
It was coming I suppose. Polish defending is poor.
Martin puts Mexico in front.
sorry I doubted ye lads. probably still need at least one more though...
Was that even a yellow card? Looked a bit wreckless.
So Mexico are heading for the knockouts and Poland heading home.
No one would have expected that 🤣
Edit: Mexico not there yet
No Poland still heading through as it stands
Not on current standings, Poland still 2 ahead of Mexico on GD...
edit: make that 1
Mexico need goals...
Not yet Poland are still going through as it stands
Poland still going through - Mexico need to score twice more (or Poland concede twice more, or one of each) to turn the goal difference around.
Did Mario is a waste of space
What a f*cking goal from Mexico. Wow.
Chavez golazo.
Mexico closing in on Poland's goal difference.
Another one for Mexico - just need a third (or Argentina to score) to set them up!
Am I right in saying as things stand in the Mexico game, a draw will see Argentina out on head-to-head?
that would bring them level on GD. How would they be split?
That's a superb free kick for Mexico to make it 2-0.
Nah, head to head is the 3rd decider - goal difference and goals scored are ahead of it, so Poland would top, Argentina second, and then Mexico - as things stand in the Mexico game.
That would leave Poland on 5 with Mexico and Argentina on 4 with Argentina with a better GD and 2-0 on head to head
Goals scored. The 3rd goal that would put them level on GD would also put them ahead on goals scored.
Should be 2-0 to Argentina, Mac Allister again.
just checked,
I think
If it's a Mexico goal they go ahead on goals scored, ironically cos they had none before tonight
It it's an Argentina one Mexico and Poland would be level on everything and it would come down to fair play record
Doesn't matter it seems, but I forgot it was Saudi Arabia that bet Argentina and not Mexico!
I believe Mexico will jump ahead of Poland with goal scored if they are level on goals with Poland.
Unlike other tournaments, the World cup groups use head to head only after points, GD and GS
Poland are on the ropes and are offering nothing in attack. It looks like they are focusing on not conceding any more goals (and gambling that Mexico don't further improve their goal difference)
I love how lewa gives out when he decides to press once every 20 mins no one is else is doing it. His team mates are wrecked
Poland in trouble now.
Lovely finish.
About time Argentina got their second goal. Lovely finish by Alvarez.