Is it me or is his house not especially appealing?
You need to understand the sheer cliquey and clannish nature of rural Ireland, a local can’t be in the wrong when it especially comes to a local finding themselves in a dispute with an outside force , doesn’t matter what the local has done, we see this all of the time, it’s just amplified multiple times in the case of Quinn
The locals would have you believe different.
Those tenners add up. Particularly if you're in business and find yourself with large insurance policies, stuck paying for the effective gambling debts of a charlatan that somehow has a bunch of devoted acolytes cause he gave a few quid to their GAA team or whatever.
Multi nationals invest in places like that all the time, its where lots of money can be made, cheap, whether its Venezuela or Nigeria or Mexico or China or what not.
Ballyconnell is hardly MedellÃn.
Dukes is some craic. Called them all thick animals up that way and he hit the nail on the head.
Jaysus. Why would any multi national go up there with bullets being sent in the post and houses being burnt down. Nutcases.
Calm down Seanie
So he's going with that old trope, "it was the government's fault". Fcuk sake, this boll0x should be locked up for ever. Same line used for everything nowadays, no personal responsibility whatsoever.
It's exhausting, there's a lot of people in this country that need a real shake.
**** deluded the lot of them.
Happy enough to proclaim him as the second coming of christ and the best businness man in ireland but at the same time say that he was a simple culchie and an easy target for them lot in dublin.
He didnt do anything wrong 😂 those properties were only resting in his account.
The training unit in the joy fair softened him and the son.
Or as rich.😉
There's a book coming as well, written by the producer of the series. He's quid's in. Safe to say he won't be on Quinn's Xmas card list.
In effect you paid them €800 for a piece of paper which was largely worthless. Some bargain.
Maybe. Hindsight at best. As it was it has worked out reasonably well considering.
There's a reason why they were undercutting. Quinn Direct was a ponzi scheme. It was only a matter of time before it failed regardless of financial crashes etc. If regulation existed and proper penalties were applied to white collar crime seanie would have been given a hefty sentence.
We can argue that the 4 billion the quinns owe is miniscule compared to the 250 billion but for one man to inflict that on ordinary people and not face reasonable sanctions is wrong. Only in Ireland.
We're not all as thick as those inhabiting Quinn country.
Think we owe c250 billion, the banks going wallop cost 45 billion someone posted.
In the documentary last night he owed anglo 2.8 billion minus whatever the businesses/ properties were flogged for. I'd substitute nice for miniscule!
Got insured with Quinn direct when I was 20 on my first policy. Think I saved e800 with them over the next cheapest. Most crowds didn't want to know at all.
Lets see what tonight brings. Seanie has withdrawn his support of the series so that might be an indication of the content tonight and what tone it might take. He never really stood a chance in the world of banking or insurance. Its just too complex. Pure greed ruined him. Reputation in tatters too. People can lessen the cost of insurance levy and bailout all they want but Seanie and his sort cost ordinary men and women their homes and in some cases their lives. Their actions fuelled by their egos led us to where we were for a good 10 years until some sort of recovery sorted.
Remember when the carers grant was cut? Disabled terminally ill people used that for transport to hospital throughout the year etc. Well they had to find another way to the hospital. That is directly related to the shite that the likes of Seanie Quinn and them inflicted on us.
Thats just one example. The USC being a standout from that era.
And zero contrition shown. The sense of entitlement is disgusting. If you are sorry Seanie sell the mansion, live off the old age pension and pay the proceeds from the sale of the house off your debt. That might go some way to ensuring your reputation isnt in absolute tatters when yoy are buried.
Its the sense of entitlement which really annoys people.
100k wedding cake. Man of the people my bollix.
Nowhere did I say it was a public road. The gates are at the entries to the quarry above swanlinbar and a cement plant at Ballyconnell. the Council maintained roads cross it at several points and have the right of way .
The mistake was bailing out Anglo. If we had guaranteed all the other banks, we could have got out easier. McWilliams told Lenihan it was a no-brainer and Lenihan, a seriously ill man at the time, fell for his schtick.
As it was, private pensions were lost, those whose pensions were in Bank of Ireland shares were wiped out.
So he 'upgraded' a public road, made it a private road with access gates at each end and dodgy signs, is that it?
The road was already there for the most part. He upgraded it. Don't worry not a cent oF public money has been spent maintaining it.
Well dont watch it then.
Truly bizarre. According to Google Street View it's all in Co Cavan and yes you can 'drive' along it including through the plant - pictures taken last year. Doubt the old regime would have let Google in...
There are a few places where it crosses a public road and it has yield signs - even though the public road it crosses is only a gravelly boreen with grass up the middle. Maybe an admission of the dubious legal status of this 'road'?
Been patched up in a few places. Hopefully not public money maintaining it.
'Lucky' with planning permission is right.
I don't want to know anything about the clown, for sure don't want to be looking at him on national TV, looking for sympathy.
Regulate effectively/ ensure their departments have the regulators on their toes.
Mica, Fire Safety, Financial System and many more the list goes on. What's the next scandal.
If they were regulating effectively, had proper controls and checks in place, and harsh penalties/sentencing for white collar crime we wouldn't be paying all these nonsense taxes for chancers like Quinn being allowed to run amok.
I see that posters point. What's the next stupid levy we are going to have to pay?
Its beyond ridiculous, I didn't cause any of this shite yet the amends come out of my pocket.
Iirc the nephew Peter Dara Quinn never served or purged his contempt of court. Or did he? Has he never been back in the jurisdiction I'd wonder.....
Sean Jnr paid over 200k iirc and the bauld Sean SR had a few days in the pokey...
Is all this chicanery ahead in episode 3?? Won't help the wanting to be forgotten brigade / shareholders
The insurance levy amounts to what on a standard policy? Not even a tenner. you would think it was €100s to listen to some of the whinging on here.
Taxes are meant for paying for services and helping less fortunate.
What Facebook page was that written on? Taxes are for many things apart from what you've mentioned above.
Not to be charged on innocent people to bail others out because of gross mismanagement of the country.
Had the government not bailed out the banking system, what do you think would have happened? Where would peoples private pensions have gone? Where would peoples savings have gone? How many job losses would there have been as companies are forced to close because they can't get credit? How much would all that have cost us?
That the government allowed a culture of light-touch regulation take hold (despite what @blanch152 reckons) which led to greed bolloxing up the economy does not mean that the course of action to recover wasn't one of the better options available at the time. That those responsible haven't been brought to justice is also a different matter. I guess we could ask (and in no way defending his actions) - did Quinn or any of the others break the law? If not (and I don't think so), do we need to change the laws to prevent what they did being repeated?
I think 'preventing the outright collapse of the financial system' is a form of service.
But sure look - I agree with you, Sean Quinn is a scholar and a gentleman. It was all those dastardly politicians.