A pit bull dog below in Wexford the latest episode of a child been savaged . Are these dogs suitable for pets .
PS The only people with Pitbulls or similar in our town are involved in drug dealing and or general criminality.
Threadbanned Posters:
xhomelezz
Eskimo you’re the one calling for the genocide I’m just calling the spade a spade.
The end result of banning pit bulls from existence is an act of genocide on a whole breed of dog for the sake of a fraction of the populations bad encounters with humans. You’re the one proposing a ban. How else would that work if not by effect wiping them out?
So condoning?
It's under the section that allows them to send non-motor tax payers direct to jail.
Criminal Justice (Made Up Acts) Act, 2022.
No idea but I'd rather see a dead dog then a child or adult mauled or killed by one.
Deal with it.
Oh really, you may be able to point out where I condoned what happened?
Or is hysterics the order of the day
Fair enough but Gardai have no legislative power to gun down a dog which would be difficult as the vast majority don't carry guns anyway.
Someone complains a dog is dangerous but it's just barking at someone, do the Gardaí shoot it on the spot with their new powers?
If you want them to have more powers canvas your local TD, the people who control such things
Could you elaborate what breeds are considered safe and what breeds are considered dangerous?
No hysterics what so ever.
A dog that was known to be a danger to the public. Not once, but twice. Once was once too many. The owner should be done big time.
Animals(as we are), should be looked after with people who know what they're doing. Not scoobies.
Are you saying that because the child was playing out on the green of the housing estate, a public area, he was provoking it and it was his fault? That's some twisted logic.
By law all dogs are supposed to be under control if outside their home or premises. There is nothing that child did that was his fault. All dogs have the potential to turn and bite someone. They don't need to be provoked, they just bite the nearest thing to them if spooked or pissed. Reality is most of the dogs that have been gotten during the lock down are not trained, socialized or even treated like a dog the way the should be.
I've been bitten when I was on a job in someone else's house. The owner came out opened the gate to let me in and the Scottie bit my leg as I walked up the path behind the owner. The owner just laughed and said he's a bit hyper or something.
There was an incident on the main street where a nasty bit of work at the back of us threatened an elderly man and then loosened the lead of his rabid psyched up terrier at my mother. The man was letting his dog loose and was being told to keep it under control by the elderly man because it was chasing cats even when in their own gardens.
House near by lets their cockapoodle loose every so often and it came into our garden and growled at my father.
None of these incidents involved provoking the dog.
So you basically pay someone to make you a good dog owner... Your little muttie must be over the moon.
Grand, so you admit you were just talking nonsense.
Just go onto dogs.ie and look at the amount of ads for american bully pups for sale.
No regulation, license or **** given to buy or sell..and to think there are certain people who will put one if these pups under the xmas tree as a pressie from Santa.
The sentence makes sense.
Local post office usually has someone selling lab pups for €700+ each. The amount of dogs for sale and people just using them to make money is disgusting.
There is already a list of what the people in charge of these things consider to be dangerous breeds. You’re free to consult that.
Ah go join PETA overheal.
The child with his flipping left lip eaten off that can’t eat or breathe by himself anymore? Yeah, I bet HE’S the guilty one.
Take a look at yourself and what angles you’re taking to save face for a dog.
Pit bulls have no benefit to society and present a clear risk to children and other vulnerable people.
I wouldn’t shed a tear if they were all euthanised. But at a minimum the breeding and sale of them must be banned.
The only list I'm aware of in Ireland are restricted breeds. You said in your post there are known safe breeds and there are dangerous breeds. So I thought you know what are you talking about .. Again, any examples of safe breeds and dangerous breeds, you could name?
It would be my understanding that restricted breeds in Ireland are for dogs the people in charge of this would classify them as “dangerous”. For what other reason would they require that the dogs are while in public, muzzled, on a strong lead, held by someone over 16.
Labradors are not on that list but Pit bulls are— why If danger is it the reason? I imagine you’ve scarcely heard of labs eating the face off 9 year old kids.
The dogs face was unmarked. Unlike the child who's fault it was.
Family member 🙄. Jesus wept.
I wouldn’t shed a tear if they were all euthanised.
Not so sure how this is benefiting to society either.
I work as a dog walker and I can reassure you that most, not all, but certainly the vast majority of dogs love going out for a walk with someone else for a bit of variety. I had a dog walker for my own dog when I was injured. He loved her so much that we invited her over to cheer him up when he was unwell. I don't know why you're picking on this dog owner for taking proper responsibility for their dogs needs.
That's beautiful. Really hit me in the cockles.
Wouldn't effect society in the least.
I can assure you, I'm not picking on this dog owner.
Probably not, just few clowns here calling for euthanising something they haven't got a clue about.
Like people blaming a child with a free roaming vicious dog? Which I pointed out and got a level 1 warning for(whatever that is).
Jesus Christ! Read what you just wrote. How could you even make such a statement?! Wow.
Labs have made the Australian Gold Cost restricted list this year and I remember from 2016 a report saying they are responsible for most bites. Probably due to so many people having them. It was a small cross breed terrier that killed the seal in the UK. Labrador Retriever are on the list that are likely to bite including Jack Russel which we all know suffer from small man syndrome