A pit bull dog below in Wexford the latest episode of a child been savaged . Are these dogs suitable for pets .
PS The only people with Pitbulls or similar in our town are involved in drug dealing and or general criminality.
Threadbanned Posters:
xhomelezz
The dogs face was unmarked. Unlike the child who's fault it was.
It would be my understanding that restricted breeds in Ireland are for dogs the people in charge of this would classify them as “dangerous”. For what other reason would they require that the dogs are while in public, muzzled, on a strong lead, held by someone over 16.
Labradors are not on that list but Pit bulls are— why If danger is it the reason? I imagine you’ve scarcely heard of labs eating the face off 9 year old kids.
The only list I'm aware of in Ireland are restricted breeds. You said in your post there are known safe breeds and there are dangerous breeds. So I thought you know what are you talking about .. Again, any examples of safe breeds and dangerous breeds, you could name?
Pit bulls have no benefit to society and present a clear risk to children and other vulnerable people.
I wouldn’t shed a tear if they were all euthanised. But at a minimum the breeding and sale of them must be banned.
Ah go join PETA overheal.
The child with his flipping left lip eaten off that can’t eat or breathe by himself anymore? Yeah, I bet HE’S the guilty one.
Take a look at yourself and what angles you’re taking to save face for a dog.
There is already a list of what the people in charge of these things consider to be dangerous breeds. You’re free to consult that.
Local post office usually has someone selling lab pups for €700+ each. The amount of dogs for sale and people just using them to make money is disgusting.
The sentence makes sense.
Just go onto dogs.ie and look at the amount of ads for american bully pups for sale.
No regulation, license or **** given to buy or sell..and to think there are certain people who will put one if these pups under the xmas tree as a pressie from Santa.
Grand, so you admit you were just talking nonsense.
So you basically pay someone to make you a good dog owner... Your little muttie must be over the moon.
Are you saying that because the child was playing out on the green of the housing estate, a public area, he was provoking it and it was his fault? That's some twisted logic.
By law all dogs are supposed to be under control if outside their home or premises. There is nothing that child did that was his fault. All dogs have the potential to turn and bite someone. They don't need to be provoked, they just bite the nearest thing to them if spooked or pissed. Reality is most of the dogs that have been gotten during the lock down are not trained, socialized or even treated like a dog the way the should be.
I've been bitten when I was on a job in someone else's house. The owner came out opened the gate to let me in and the Scottie bit my leg as I walked up the path behind the owner. The owner just laughed and said he's a bit hyper or something.
There was an incident on the main street where a nasty bit of work at the back of us threatened an elderly man and then loosened the lead of his rabid psyched up terrier at my mother. The man was letting his dog loose and was being told to keep it under control by the elderly man because it was chasing cats even when in their own gardens.
House near by lets their cockapoodle loose every so often and it came into our garden and growled at my father.
None of these incidents involved provoking the dog.
No hysterics what so ever.
A dog that was known to be a danger to the public. Not once, but twice. Once was once too many. The owner should be done big time.
Animals(as we are), should be looked after with people who know what they're doing. Not scoobies.
Could you elaborate what breeds are considered safe and what breeds are considered dangerous?
Fair enough but Gardai have no legislative power to gun down a dog which would be difficult as the vast majority don't carry guns anyway.
Someone complains a dog is dangerous but it's just barking at someone, do the Gardaí shoot it on the spot with their new powers?
If you want them to have more powers canvas your local TD, the people who control such things
Oh really, you may be able to point out where I condoned what happened?
Or is hysterics the order of the day
No idea but I'd rather see a dead dog then a child or adult mauled or killed by one.
Deal with it.
It's under the section that allows them to send non-motor tax payers direct to jail.
Criminal Justice (Made Up Acts) Act, 2022.
So condoning?
Eskimo you’re the one calling for the genocide I’m just calling the spade a spade.
The end result of banning pit bulls from existence is an act of genocide on a whole breed of dog for the sake of a fraction of the populations bad encounters with humans. You’re the one proposing a ban. How else would that work if not by effect wiping them out?
A car isn't a danger because it has no tax.
Again, Gardaí don't have the power to put down a dog on there own say so and not on the say so of someone making a complaint
Are you seriously suggesting that the child is in some way to blame? What planet are you on to even begin to form that notion in your head.
It’s not irrelevant though that you’re comparing what are known safe breeds of dog to be kept as domestic pets vs ones known to be dangerous, which have caused harm to numerous people on a semi regular basis at best.
You can like dogs and admit some breeds are not safe and are unnecessary. They are, as you would say, irrelevant.
missing the point: I neither assign blame nor innocence to the child, they’re not on trial here.
Which piece of legislation allows Gardai to shoot loose dogs again?
Pin the blame on the boy with life long scars and other issues, rather than on the crap owner? Seriously? Give yourself a pat on the back for such an outlook on life.
It was the first time the dog attacked?
Car taken off you and crushed, no more car or danger.
You don't go straight to court for not having tax on a car, stop talking sh1te.
Nice grandstanding but if you drive down the street with no tax either you'll get a fine or you'll get the car seized and a fine. You'll.only go to court if you don't pay the fine and you certainly won't end up in jail as a result of no tax alone.
Theres really no point in getting into the errors in your other made up situations.
The situation is bad enough without the need to make up false outcomes to your scenarios. The laws need to change to provide more power for Gardai to deal with these incidents. A court order from a judge to have a dog destroyed generally comes after the fact and Gardai can't just seize/put down dogs on the say so of someone else who claims a dog was loose or claims a dog is dangerous.
genocide
/ˈdʒɛnəsʌɪd/
Learn to pronounce
noun
noun: genocide; plural noun: genocides
the deliberate killing of a large number of people from a particular nation or ethnic group with the aim of destroying that nation or group.