I always get checked for those, yeah was thinking it might be a minor offence, must start taking pictures of these certs in future
Are they for sheep or cattle? The knackery don't issue an actual cert for sheep, just give you a receipt with the tag no. written on it. Those receipts might be with your financial accounts? It happened me this year. Spent ages looking for a cert for a sheep I sent off.......
Ah jaysus that was it, my father dropped both of them off and I thought he lost the blue certs, good to know. Much appreciated
Will have to do QA for the first time soon. How far back will I have to show medicine/feed records?
What years does the farm book state?
Do you get a farm book after you apply is it? I haven’t officially started yet but it’s on the cards with the new suckler scheme. Just thinking of sorting out what I have in time
6 months worth of receipts for first time application.
Yes ring bord Bria and they will send you out one.
If you weren't in Bord Bia previously there should be no need to have any feed records. But do have a label from whatever you're feeding available.
As it is, you should already be keeping medicine records for cross compliance. You'll need to have them available.
Should but don’t is how I would describe it right now… would they look back a few years for medicine records?
6 months or so should do you
Very unlikely they'd go back a few years. It's none of their business really, if you weren't in QA at the time.
A cross compliance check on the other hand would be a different matter...And this is one of the benefits of being in QA. It keeps you focused on having these things done right.
I read somewhere, a while back, that a Bord Bia audit includes cross compliance check. So better to have the medicine records in order going back, 5 yrs I think.
Completely untrue.
@Sugarbowl Ask the inspector how far back will you have records available for him. Bet you any money that he'll say 6 months.
We're having our audit tomorrow
Best of luck
Does anyone here pay for a person to fill in their records book for them? If so how does it work? Do they send the book off to them to fill out with a bag of receipts or is there software to make it more straightforward?
No just fill it out yourself - it very straight forward
There is a fellow I follow on twitter that does the paper work for the audit.
I just record everything in HerdApp as it happens and run off the reports before the audit.
Herself used to do it for a good few people a few years ago. Normally handed a blank book and a bag of receipts. I'd say there'll be plenty demand for it with the new suckler scheme.
Did she find it difficult, essentially the medicine side of things? A lot of lads easily forgot once a job is done if not recording in a diary
Id imagine that would be the farmers fault if they forgot to give a receipt for something.
Ya true that. I think another area that they are tightening on is if you used 60ml out of a 100ml bottle, there should be 40ml left, if less then why
No just time consuming looking up the withdrawals for different medicines when you don't have the boxes or bottles to hand and trying to organise feed dockets and other remedies bought by date. In fairness there's very little to it if the records were filled in as jobs were done but a lot won't do it and I'm guilty of it myself aswell.
Use a marker to write down the purchase date and supplier on the medicine box or 5 litre bottles of doses on the day you buy them. Handy to have for doses used on different days. I have built up a database over the years of medicines and doses showing full name and withdrawal dates in an excel spreadsheet
Hpra.ie has all the Data on all the different medicines. I find it useful
One of the biggest problems I see is getting a shot of something from the Vet… They’ll give you a prescription alright, but the writing is so bad I can’t make out what it says. I had to go online several times with what little information I could make out on the prescription to see if I could find the spelling of it.
Had the bord bia audit and had to come back to them with one or two 'follow ups'. I assume the idea of the bord bia auditor creating 'follow ups' is just so you don't get 100%. It's all box ticking with this audit.
Never had to do any such corrections for the organic yearly inspection which looks at similar info.
For the likes of those 'shots' from the vet for the likes of say draxxin for a lame ewe would you even bother putting that in the bord bia book at all
Just passed mine, a nice man arrived at 10 am and left at 1. Went through everything though. The one thing I didn't like was the use of the farm survey as a way of catching you out. The answers were right but the wording of the question are designed to catch you out. We double checked everything, but he said this will be double checked by someone in Dublin. I understand why the bord bia inspections are there but I they are more independent than most other inspections.