Jesus, that’s a hideous looking McMansion.
To answer your question, I think he's a fantastic businessman . And a gentleman who knows and respects his place and his people.
Loving the Drone footage of the Slieve Russell, the course looks fantastic.
His gaff is massive, I would say the septic tank is huge.
The story about the time Seanie fell off his stool in the Westbury when Quinn told him he owned 20 per cent of the TNA still makes me laugh. The stupid chunts thought he was joking.
Would love to know who Mr Big is.
That was quite good. Both sides of the story is never a bad thing to hear. They aren't blowing smoke up his rear anyway.
Hard to believe how easily he threw it away like that.
Plenty of supportive feedback on Twitter, truth is a lot of Irish people like hucksters
I wonder why they decided to show it over 3 nights in a change to what was scheduled?
Except Macho Man Randy Savage, he's the exception to the rule.
This has to be the most juvenile post ever in the history of boards.ie
Of course. Most of the wrestlers from that era get that exception.
Whatever happened to that son in law weasel that had the bench warrant issued for his arrest in ROI? Cocky bollix used to go to Fermanagh matches and the Gardai could do nothing.
I'd say the Wednesday night finale will be the episode where we get the real story.
First two nights week be all about building him up for the big fall.
I agree, I thought it was a good insight. It's bound to get more interesting as it pokes into the hiding of assets etc.
How he can hold on to that house while the rest of the country pay a 2% levy on insurance premia (ten years now) for his gambling failures just shows how ridiculously lenient white collar crime is dealt with here.
The wife is some dose.....
Probably afraid of legal injunctions.
The 'wife' wasn't on it. That was his sister.
I see he was interviewed on local radio here and says he can no longer support the programme due to the editing.
Sean Quinn said there was an agreement in place with the documentary makers that he would have his opportunity to tell his side of the story.
Speaking to Joe Finnegan on Shannonside Northern Sound, he believes that hasn't happened and that the documentary will bring nothing new to what already is in the public realm.
A good republican some would say…
Ok, here's a loose summary
Wealthy family, beginning in construction, moving into insurance.
The head of the family made a massive bet with Anglo Irish Bank. If it had clicked he was hundreds of millions to the good, if not he was in a hole for hundreds of millions. It didnt click so he was bankrupt.
He/they decided to fight this, but lost in court.
Then they decided to fight the liquidators and managed to get local communities to protest as well.
The family were asked to disclose where their money was hidden (for the purposes of liquidation), but obfuscated or plain refused to say even to high court judges. One was even sent to jail.
All this time they had community support and acts of sabotage against liquidators were common. The new board of Quinn insurance were/are intimidated and one of them was kidnapped and tortured.
Ultimately we are all charged a Quinn premium on our insurance (but this is just part of what's wrong with insurance here, in fairness).
The questions are:
• Why all the community support?
• Who funded or orchestrated the intimidation?
• What exactly was it about these businesses that so interests criminals?
• Have all of Quinn Group's holdings being exposed or do some remain hidden?
• What is the status of the Quinn family vis a vis their former business.
This whole saga smells really, really bad and there is a worrying lack of answers to the above questions.
Don’t shoot the messenger lads…
Was the woman that called the local priest a back stabber not his wife?
Care to tell me why? My experience is there was an unease up there, like people were looking over their shoulders. This was a year or two before all the carry on with that poor Lunney chap.
Still, very strange folk all the same.
Thinking back, I was in the kitchen and heard that bit but didn't see it. Maybe the wife was on early. But the woman speaking for the rest was his sister.
Like the bailout and Mica which we'll pay for too, if the regulators had been doing their jobs, none of it would have happened.
What about what about what about.
Sure, you might have been down playing a game of 25 with the lad. For 50c a game. Do they play with a joker up around there?
Don't shoot the messenger JJ.
I just thought it odd you had no questions about who f***ed up in the regulations. The taxpayer is on the hook for more than Quinn because they didn't do their jobs.
What I want to know is why did they liquidate IBRC in the middle of the night
I'm not a gambler Doc but even I know nobody anywhere uses a joker in 25. That one fell on it's arse a bit, eh?
Eh? Quinn insurance was legally required to hold a certain level of cash reserves to cover claims. Instead they used those reserves as a personal bank to prop up other quinn companies.
They broke the law, and caused the whole house of cards to fall, and that was the quinns decision that they have to live with (and the rest of is tbf)
West Cork and East Kerry, Francie. They call it 35 down there. Top trump worth ten, and joker plays when dealt. You get these sort of peculiarities when it comes to border areas I find.
Whatever about the other questions, the easiest thing to understand is the community support. Came from nothing to be one of the richest men in Ireland and brought his locality with him along the way - brought decent jobs and entire industries to a region which had practically none.
So not 25 then...a game called 35. I get ye.