Thinking back, I was in the kitchen and heard that bit but didn't see it. Maybe the wife was on early. But the woman speaking for the rest was his sister.
Care to tell me why? My experience is there was an unease up there, like people were looking over their shoulders. This was a year or two before all the carry on with that poor Lunney chap.
Still, very strange folk all the same.
Was the woman that called the local priest a back stabber not his wife?
Ok, here's a loose summary
Wealthy family, beginning in construction, moving into insurance.
The head of the family made a massive bet with Anglo Irish Bank. If it had clicked he was hundreds of millions to the good, if not he was in a hole for hundreds of millions. It didnt click so he was bankrupt.
He/they decided to fight this, but lost in court.
Then they decided to fight the liquidators and managed to get local communities to protest as well.
The family were asked to disclose where their money was hidden (for the purposes of liquidation), but obfuscated or plain refused to say even to high court judges. One was even sent to jail.
All this time they had community support and acts of sabotage against liquidators were common. The new board of Quinn insurance were/are intimidated and one of them was kidnapped and tortured.
Ultimately we are all charged a Quinn premium on our insurance (but this is just part of what's wrong with insurance here, in fairness).
The questions are:
• Why all the community support?
• Who funded or orchestrated the intimidation?
• What exactly was it about these businesses that so interests criminals?
• Have all of Quinn Group's holdings being exposed or do some remain hidden?
• What is the status of the Quinn family vis a vis their former business.
This whole saga smells really, really bad and there is a worrying lack of answers to the above questions.
Don’t shoot the messenger lads…
A good republican some would say…
The 'wife' wasn't on it. That was his sister.
I see he was interviewed on local radio here and says he can no longer support the programme due to the editing.
Sean Quinn said there was an agreement in place with the documentary makers that he would have his opportunity to tell his side of the story.
Speaking to Joe Finnegan on Shannonside Northern Sound, he believes that hasn't happened and that the documentary will bring nothing new to what already is in the public realm.
Probably afraid of legal injunctions.
I agree, I thought it was a good insight. It's bound to get more interesting as it pokes into the hiding of assets etc.
How he can hold on to that house while the rest of the country pay a 2% levy on insurance premia (ten years now) for his gambling failures just shows how ridiculously lenient white collar crime is dealt with here.
The wife is some dose.....
I'd say the Wednesday night finale will be the episode where we get the real story.
First two nights week be all about building him up for the big fall.
Whatever happened to that son in law weasel that had the bench warrant issued for his arrest in ROI? Cocky bollix used to go to Fermanagh matches and the Gardai could do nothing.
Of course. Most of the wrestlers from that era get that exception.
This has to be the most juvenile post ever in the history of boards.ie
Except Macho Man Randy Savage, he's the exception to the rule.
I wonder why they decided to show it over 3 nights in a change to what was scheduled?
Plenty of supportive feedback on Twitter, truth is a lot of Irish people like hucksters
Hard to believe how easily he threw it away like that.
That was quite good. Both sides of the story is never a bad thing to hear. They aren't blowing smoke up his rear anyway.
Loving the Drone footage of the Slieve Russell, the course looks fantastic.
His gaff is massive, I would say the septic tank is huge.
The story about the time Seanie fell off his stool in the Westbury when Quinn told him he owned 20 per cent of the TNA still makes me laugh. The stupid chunts thought he was joking.
Would love to know who Mr Big is.
To answer your question, I think he's a fantastic businessman . And a gentleman who knows and respects his place and his people.
Jesus, that’s a hideous looking McMansion.
This is utter shite. The lad was (is) head of a criminal organisation and you would think he was some sort of sainted business genius based on the show so far.
Jaysus he gave no **** at all.
It's sad that he started out going head to head with the Dublin centric Haughey mafia but in the end got screwed over by trying to join them.
Edited - in a word GREED!
Bitter bitch who had all the money in the world and a bit of power. State of her.
I'm not au fait with how he went bang but he was a fearless operator. Some going for a lad dropping out of school to opening cement factory etc etc. Not many have that bottle!
That whole Cement Roadstone and Quinn debacle is an interesting read. Google it, fascinating period with lots of familiar names.
I agree, being from the area and having known Sean for years. A loyal customer of my father's and both school friends.
The media like to portray the area as bandit country and hive minded.
Not the case with Sean, there are as many detractors as there are supporters, probably more of the former.
He does seem to see himself as a victim anyway
When she launched into the priest, that was it for me.