"Quinn Country"
935 on RTE.
Even the name would make your blood boil.
I wonder who Mr Big is?
Hope its balanced. He shook up the cement/glass/insurance industries. But he clearly got into bed with some fairly dodgey elements, and made a stupid gamble with money that the Irish tax payer is still on the hook for..... and of course, he tried to wriggle out of paying up what he had stashed away ...giving a massive two fingers to the Irish state.
I shall be intrigued with this.
I heard a legitimate concern expressed earlier on a radio preview of this programme, that although Quinn is fully cooperating with this, that it should not seem that he had any sort of editorial control over it.
In other words, I wonder if the show that goes out is what he thinks its going to be, or is he going to get roasted.
Certainly the trailer hints that he is fully deluded about his situation, describing that he would like to remembered as the man who they tried to bury, but they failed to bury him.
I wonder has it slipped his mind that it was his own reckless gambling and crooked conniving that caused his financial demise and legal exposure.
Its gas. Some amount of cowboys and gangsters exposed from that period. Sean quinn, sean fitz, fingleton, drumm, Roddy Molloy. The list goes on.
Quinn must cringe when he comes out his front door and see that beautiful hotel and golf/leisure centre he built but lost through nothing but greed.
If RTE don’t nail this scumbag it’s a disgrace. The fact it’s a 3 part mini series would indicate it’s not going to be too explosive but I’m hoping it will be. We all know what he and that family are like, I just hope RTE are on the same page.
They’re all weirdos up that part of the country. It’s like the Deep South in America. I drove through a town in Cavan a few years ago and there just seemed to be this strange atmosphere up there like the whole place was in a trance.
RTE don't give a fiddlers f**k about you. All they want you to do is watch their rubbish.
Brilliant. We have a live one here folks. 😁😁
I worked with loads of people from Cavan and Monaghan over many years and they're the soundest you'd meet. Nothing stingy about the Cavan people either. Very generous and very loyal workers.
Every one of them men seen themselves as victims and not the crooks that they were. In general there are a lot of very greedy cute hoor/chancer types in Irish society with scant regard for playing by the rules.
Have to turn it off, what a self important, deluded gangster. The national broadcaster should not be giving him media oxygen.
I wonder did he take in any Ukrainians, plenty of room in his huge mansion. me me me me me , cant stand him.
But you take the word of another two gangsters? 😁
Whatever about Cavan folk , their is no such thing as a straight honest Monaghan man , crooked as a three pound note
His Mrs seems even worse
When Sean Quinn admits to links to criminals, I’ll believe him to.
Never trust a man who refers to himself in the third person.
A narcissist, don't be fooled by this narrative that the locals are all loyal to him.
When she launched into the priest, that was it for me.
He does seem to see himself as a victim anyway
I agree, being from the area and having known Sean for years. A loyal customer of my father's and both school friends.
The media like to portray the area as bandit country and hive minded.
Not the case with Sean, there are as many detractors as there are supporters, probably more of the former.
That whole Cement Roadstone and Quinn debacle is an interesting read. Google it, fascinating period with lots of familiar names.
I'm not au fait with how he went bang but he was a fearless operator. Some going for a lad dropping out of school to opening cement factory etc etc. Not many have that bottle!
Bitter bitch who had all the money in the world and a bit of power. State of her.
Edited - in a word GREED!
It's sad that he started out going head to head with the Dublin centric Haughey mafia but in the end got screwed over by trying to join them.
Jaysus he gave no **** at all.
This is utter shite. The lad was (is) head of a criminal organisation and you would think he was some sort of sainted business genius based on the show so far.