Simple yes no poll. Hoping this poll ends pointless bickering on other threads
Are the local residents of Kill Co Kildare who are protesting tonight also racist far right extremists?
In your opinion, which is essentially worthless.
Keep telling them that too ;)
Seems MM is not screaming racist.
Annnnd there it is, the BS of post colonial White Guilt in full flow.
I see your point as my boy explained the residents concerns to me. Still though its stupid to be there annoying refugees when its our govt that lied to the residents about who they were putting in there. Targeting refugees is still a cowardly act and how many of these protesters are actually from the local community surely it'll have attracted crackpots, racists and genuinely concerned folks from all over the city to protest.
Actually the lack of housing, services and infrastructure isn't in any way the fault of refugees, Its 100% the fault of Irish authorities and politicians so why aren't they protesting against them ?
It's a false argument.
The LA's are in charge of emergency accommodation for people living their district.
This office space was never touted, primarily because it's wholly unsuitable.
Ah yes, the IDA, founded under a Fine Gael Taoiseach, reorganised as a commercial semi-state under a Fianna Fáil Taoiseach. Nothing happens by itself.
Yes those parties existed under a heavy Catholic theocracy, and even supported it, but don't forget that Catholic domination was itself a social rebound from British, Protestant rule. Being a conservative, Catholic, nationalist Party was the thing to be.
Because it would do no good protesting the TD's. In areas like policy you have to protest where the policy hit's the road. So it cant be hand waved away. MM has realised this and has changed the old tune. Again has not screamed racism.
Kill is a more a middle class area so it’ll be interesting how the virtue signallers talk down to them
So? I can look at something like Newgrange and feel pride, but it's bollocks, I didn't build the feckin thing. So if Joe O'Grady of Waterford did a fine line in slaves 300 years ago why the hell would I feel any guilt over it? I don't meet a lad from Devon and start shouting you robbed me spuds. This "sins of the father" thing went out with the bow and arrow. Or should have done.
I voted yes. But here’s the thing. Racism is a natural human behaviour/emotion /feeling.
There are many levels to it as well. So simply labeling something racist, with little context is pointless.
so on a score 1-10 on a racism scene where 10 is wanting to exterminate:lynch, this is a 1 or 2
The place where they burned down a building so that it couldn't be used to shelter people? Some of them yup.
I thought that was homeless people in the vicinity has anyone been arrested.
Too many coming in - unvetted, too. And are dumped bang in the middle of a community without consultation about the ratio etc. You need to take human nature into consideration. It's their community, they want to be able to feel safe. And statistics bear out their fears, just look at the percentages of foreigners in Irish prisons and among the homeless. A massive amount of both are male to boot.
And then you have the agitators who try to use the situation to their advantage. I don't know who said "left wing" earlier but I have to disagree, what I've seen so far points to the far Right. People have the right to voice their fears and it's not that those immigrants/refugees are placed in very affluent areas in such huge numbers, either.
And all this "racist this and that" snowflake nonsense - the country is in a nosedive. And more and more people are coming in, we can't look after them all, it's impossible. And of course this is causing tension, anyone who doesn't see that needs to go and live in a community like that and see what it's like.
To be honest, I am surprised there hasn't been any violence yet. I have no doubts it'll come if things continue like that. History repeating itself is nothing new...
Anything I have read points to it likely being arson.
I pretty much agree with all of this.
Move where? There’s an acute housing crisis.
Why should people who have lived in East Wall for generations move because of the egregious policies of a nitwit like Roderick O’Gorman?
What's it got to do with the policies of Roderic O Gorman?
I am pretty sure the minister for justice (Helen McEntee) covers immigration?
We're off topic here but according to this there were Irish slave owners who made a bit of money out of it. Clergymen too. Lots of Irish people benefitted and partook in the British Empire willingly.
The mask you were barely wearing slipped in that last sentence completely....disgusting
That Gary Gannon lad (seemingly a TD) really showed himself up as a weak and naive sheep type public rep in his comments earlier.
Absolutely brewwww-tal
Is it a deliberate policy you’d wonder?
if they are protesting over people of color moving into their area then there is a high chance they are, yes.
I don't meet a lad from Devon and start shouting you robbed me spuds
I agree.
I tend to shout at those particular thieving bastards for robbing all the custard.
I shout at the rest of them about the spuds
theres a crowd mainly on the left (including the like of Soc Dems, Labour, The Greens and the Shinners) who throw around certain insults :
racist
far right
fascist
....the idea is to tar people with those words to delegitimise and deplatform people’s views.
they throw around insults like that at ordinary decent people who have concerns and want controlled planned organised migration policies.
People are seeing through this
Not sure what all the posts are about slavers. Haven't read all the last pages. But I reckon there were more slaves owned and traded by Black people than there were by Irish people.
its eye opening to read about Islamic, Indian and African slavery.
Shocking stuff that went on for centuries.
Why are we housing asylum seekers,in accommodation that is unsuitable?
If its good enough for them,it's good enough for our own and vice versa....everyone is equal in this state
It still doesn't make those shouting above at the people in East Wall any less racially motivated.