I can't believe this steaming horseshit opinion is still being peddled. WTF do you think will happen if Europe were to "cut their losses"? Ya think everything goes back to how it was pre Feb 24th? Do you think the gas will start flowing at the same rate as before and the same price (don't forget 8 months before the invasion that gas prices were gone through the **** roof causing fertiliser plants to shut down, countries stopping exporting it, etc [I mention fert as this is a farming thread!]). Do ya think Putin will be only too happy to do a great deal price wise with Europe who for the last 9 months have been trying to end the little bollox and his regime?
What do you want to happen to Ukraine and the Ukrainian people who have been fighting to preserve their borders? Will they stay to be Russian? Do you think Russia would treat them with respect and dignity or terrorise them, kill them, export them, rape them?
Do you think Russia and Putin will just all shake hands and settle down and be happy with their new land grab? Or will they gear up for more? Seeing as they said they wanted to take Moldova, control the black sea, have eyes on Serbia, Moldova. Threatened Poland. Want Estonia, Lithuania and that region back under their wing too.
Shaking a big nuclear mickey in the face of the world does not allow ya do what ya want, when ya want, how ya want.
Finally, if/when China decides to go after Taiwan, what will you solution there considering the tech exports from Taiwan that power the world and the tat exports from China? We'll be even more rightly banjaxed. Don't forget Trump and his type are looking likey to run the US again soon which will embolden all the other crazy dictator **** on the planet.
I think you were too restrained in that post. Lads posting the BS that @yosemitesam1 should be called out on it all the time. You would not mind but Putin blew the gas pipeline's Nordstream 1&2 to prevent dissent and prevent him being overthrown
At this stage I'm fairly sure if the Russians knocked on his front door he'd give the lads a bottle of vodka and box of viagra and tell them to work away on the wife and kids once they left him be and promised to turn back on the cheap gas to Europe
Some of the reference's to sex with posters wives when you disagree with someones views is nothing short of bizarre.
If its not just a juvenile maturity level it's very unsettling to think that's the first thing in someone's mind
Championing and cheerleading letting a holocaust type event befall the Ukrainian population, so the rest of Europe wont go into a economic recession is more messed up to be fair
We could be in for a tough time in Ireland with the tech bubble collapse and a lot of high paying jobs going. Not that has anything to do with the war.
To compare the holocaust to the Ukranian situation is just completely misguided.
The holocaust was the systematic murder of 6 million defenceless jews.
Nothing even remotely like such an event has happened in the Ukraine since the war began 8 years ago
Plenty of them tech jobs are not so highly paid either. 35k average pay isn't great in Dublin, you'd be on the bread line. Someone leaving in the west drawing dole and getting all the benefits would be far better off.
Tech is always changing one crowd is at the top until it goes stale and bloated, it then gets toppled and another crowd moves in.
Where have I done anything of the sort?
You're reading too many made up propaganda stories... How many months is it since ye were on about the mobile crematorium and yet no evidence ever materialised that it ever existed.
But the outrage you felt when you believed it to be true stays with you...
Where's the proof? Nord stream explosions were investigated and then they never share the results. Why would the west cover for Putin?
Doesn't give him any safety and they can just repair it anyway.
All your post is nonsense not based on anything factual...
You can't repair it. Whole/all the pipe will have to be replaced. Big hole let in salt water. unless there was something along the pipe that could have been closed to stop the water filling the pipe entirely, then that pipe is goosed
It's very doable if they want to. It's not the first underwater pipeline in need of repair.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=lbHPodRRy1Q
One of the techniques used in it's construction would be capable of fixing it.
One in the eye for the slack jawed conspiracy theorists
Interfering in this country too.
Just look over social media in Ireland to see their representatives. Russia treat their own like dirt and expect them to be grateful for it. They don't be grateful at home but as soon as Russia is left for western quarters it's Hail Putin and death to the West.
There's a programme on TG4 atm with Hector in the Balkans. He was in Bulgaria in the last one. People were telling him how the old generation are very passive and would resign themselves to nearly looking for the USSR again. The younger generation have a different outlook and look at Russia as backward and an uncaring brutalistic outlook on life.
Hector visited a monument building built on a mountain top in Bulgaria by the communists. Spartan architecture and massive. Completely pointless. It's only use was to project power of the Communists in Bulgaria. It's not used nowadays.
Any in this country giving praise to Putin should automatically be deported to Russia. I'd start with the Z wavers on the m50 first. You can be sure the authorities know their names and addresses.
I'd block anymore Russians being permitted allowed access to this country too.
Russians talk of Ukraine being forgotten about by the next love Island episode by people here but that's because they're doing the inflicting and want it to being forgotten. Time should be this country took a more serious look at Russians here. If it did, they can reconcile themselves by watching the next episode of love Island from Russia.
We've a few MEPs that seem to be on the Russian payroll aswell that could do with being deported
I haven't the foggiest who you're referring to.
It is not straight forward repair. Its also time sensitive. The Germans are of the opinion it not repairable
It unlikely that any democratic country would carry out such an attack. The risk of the leaking of the action would mean the severely damaging diplomatic relations with European countries.
It likely the attacks was carried out by either Russia or Ukraine
You couldn’t be more wrong, Russia would quite happily kill 6 million Ukrainians, double even. The big difference is that during THIS invasion the ruSSians had unbelievable resistance. Putler made the error of not finishing off Ukraine when they first invaded.
It's not remotely like the Holocaust.
To suggest so only serves to highlight the credibility of your posts
Not remotely, eh? You keep telling yourself that.
could you square this circle for us, is it a de-nazificatikn of Ukrainian children to save them from becoming nazis our what exactly, maybe he's copying what the Americans done to the native Americans childern
Surely the Russians knew that they were going to be up against significant amounts of modern weaponry and a trained army before they invaded? The us had been providing significant amounts even before the Russians invaded.
Even if outnumbered the Ukrainians would have local know how, javelins and American intel.
It just goes to show the limitations of a dictatorship/kleptocracy in terms of one person calling the shots.
MOD: I am disappointed and disgusted by this post. It not just attacks the poster instead of his argument but brings his family into it with a suggestion of rape being facilitated.
This has got to rank as one of the worst posts I have ever had the misfortune to read on Boards.
I am grateful it was not risen to. A lot of maturity and self-restraint was shown.
I shall deal with this.
It's the ongoing supply of equipment that's taking its toll on the Russian army. It's all down to Biden really. I'm not so sure the last two US presidents would have been as helpful.
It was definitely a daft idea to invade.
Trump if he gets back in would still provide weapons
I am not sure he is jibing on the campaign trail on about politicians worrying and spending money on borders abroad and not securing US borders.
Does the US need to secure its borders though? A nation needs immigration. You could say nafta etc but a nation still needs inward migration of people willing to do the jobs natives won’t do.
What is the positive role of nationalism in the modern world?
Ukraine in some ways is playing out as a fertile play thing for both the US and Russia while Ukrainians suffer.
If they knew that the results of the investigation weren't going to be made public it reduces that risk massively.
Do you not think that even if the smallest piece of evidence was found that could link Russia directly to the explosion that we wouldn't have had it plastered everywhere?
From the pov of Putin blowing it up to save himself, you could argue that that makes him look even worse to those who could replace him and would make it even more important to take him out.
It's very fixable. The technology is there to do it. 2 inches of solid steel isn't going to rust away to nothing overnight. A few years maybe it would be much more questionable. Which actually makes it even less likely this was done to protect Putin as it would give a sense of urgency to those replacing him to get the repair job done sooner before any advanced corrosion sets in over the coming years.
I wouldn't think there'd be any kind of hard evidence in this type of scenario, unless the Russians culprits royally fucked up, which it appears they haven't.
That's because they have plenty of experience of blowing up things, including russian apartment buildings with russians in em.
He's just using war to control his people and neighbouring countries as well, he's been grooming the Russian people all his life.