I would think that SF don't have a clue about anything in relation to climate change. If they can get a united Ireland in 30 years, it doesn't matter that the world burns in 40 years.
You haven't been around for a couple of days so you may have missed my question, if you saw it and found it too difficult to answer no worries, but just in case you missed it I will ask it again, just once, but I won't be repeating it.
What timescale would you think FDI would be looking at when deciding on a major investment
I'll vote SF for the first time. No matter what. Change is needed. If it turns out wrong, we'll change again.
Power to the people.
What will they do now that the corporation tax bonanza is drying up big time? Tech sector globally is under serious pressure. It'd almost be worth letting them into government so they can see that there are no easy solutions to difficult issues, as they pretend there are, and the electorate would see that the emperor truly has no clothes.....almost.
the bankers and the land lords are well overdue to be taxed SF will go after them for sure. And this business of comparing theem to gangland yeah there were a few bad apples but whats the point of going over and over the past??
You mightn't get a second chance or if/ when it arises, they may have have completely f**ked up the country both north & south. Putting SF in government now is not just a risk, it's literally playing with fire.
You do understand all that motivates SF??
It's the national question and everything is subservient to their grand plan to reunite Ireland, by any means and at whatever cost.
Can we be sure of this. We currently have a national housing disaster caused by the current Govt parties, a health service not fit for purpose also getting worse as the years go on, etc
Can SF really do any worse?
People want changes in housing, health, education, services etc and the current Govt parties have failed/are failing at these. Talking about the Ra is not going to change people's minds on SF, the Govt and especially the media who don't like SF don't seem to get that.
Im big enough to know thats bs. Scaremongering of the highest order.
MLmcD calling out the governments Ukrianinan fiasco on leaders questions. About time.
You don't understand, do you? Housing, health, education - SF will campaign on these and promise the sun, moon & stars. But that's not why they want to get into government both south & north of the border.
As regards housing anyway, they're already adopting the exact same strategy as other parties and saying it will take two terms of five years. How many times have we heard that in relation to housing & health?
what motivates SF is looking after the people getting everyone sorted with housing health and education well be looked after if we get them in
“They were not soldiers (the IRA), they were murderers, robbing the pensions of older people, that’s what they did.”
Jerry McCabes wife’s words not mine.
i'm sorry for her loss of course, but she is incorrect.
to me and many others they were soldiers defending their community against brutality.
yes of course there will have been some criminals within the organisation but most were there for the good, to keep the british army, RUC and loyalist terrorists at bay.
They won't touch them. They constantly criticise the waiting lists and inefficiencies in the HSE but never blame the top management for this, but the government, and "lack of funding" even though the HSE is one of the best funded health services in the EU with far worse outcomes.
Mary Harney was the only TD in living memory who actually took on the HSE and look what happened her. The rest have just thrown money at it.
It doesn't have far worse outcomes.
so which community were the killers of McCabe protecting? one of the Ra heads needed the money to build his gaff. adams admitted it was okayed by a local commander.
be honest for once will you instead of the endless trolling .
you couldnt give a toss about any of the iras victims really could you?. they are just an annoyance to you and your ilk now as they are brought up as an example of sf iras terrorism and criminality so people dont fall for the propaganda that ye try to shovel around here like a cart full of fresh manure
shredding a car containing two innocent men with assault rifles in limerick? how the fcuk is that defending their communities. were the british army in adare ?
terrorists and criminals, now just criminals just with a "political party" in their pocket or visa versa
how ?
The IRA defended communities against the killings of Catholics, burning out of their homes etc in the North
IMO If you can't acknowledge that, your either totally misinformed of the history of the troubles or just disagreeing with other points for the sake of it
once again, were there Catholics being burned out of their homes in limerick when they murdered Jerry McCabe ? what crime did Paul Quinn commit again his own community or Robert McCarthy or many many more...
cowards who hid behind politics to rob kill smuggle extort and abuse and are still being facilitated by the same OGC/political party
Nobody is saying they didn't do horrible and unforgiveable things, well im not anyway. Rubbishing andd disputing the fact they defended Catholic communities is nonsense no matter what they got upto anywhere else
I'm well over 40 and I think that anyone who votes against their own interests because of the little girl at Claudy or the kennel club is a fool. Those voting against their countrymens interests because of warrenpoint or warrington are traitors.
Anyway I'd say many of the most regrettable incidents attributed to republican freedom fighters were british false flag attacks.
Miriam Lord’s article from the Irish Times. With a tongue firmly in cheek view of the SF Ard Fheis. Apparently MLM mentioned ‘change’ 18 times in her speech.
https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/oireachtas/2022/11/06/miriam-lord-sinn-fein-looks-to-cusp-of-threshold-of-dawn-of-a-new-age/
Wow, that last paragraph seems like extremely hopeful speculation in an attempt to ‘sanitise history’ for ‘your side’ before the final push. I get the sense you don’t really believe the statement yourself. Like a lot of things with SF and their supporters a lot of cherry picking. and rewritten narratives are created. Crafted especially these days for the ‘new SF’ vote. For that aspirational future.
If you said what you have posted here to children of Gardai killed in the line of duty by ‘the RA’ how do you think they would react? Maire Holm would be confused/upset by such a spectacle, and your chance of pulling her would remain as aspirational as ‘the four green fields.’
I have not heard any Brits mentioned in connection to the regency hotel attack have you? Was that a false flag? I suppose Dowdall’s ‘Republican contacts’ were Brits in disguise??!
that's a disgraceful allegation.
i am never anything but honest and never troll on this site as not only is it quite rightly against the rules but it's a dick thing to do.
i have never condoned or justified the killing of innnocent people by the IRA or annything else.
i have never condoned or justified the killing of gerry mccabe because there was no justification for it.
but it doesn't change the facts of why the IRA resurged and that the fo-outrage over SF is not justified.
they have committed to peace and have committed to politics.
I think we have seen in the last couple of days that FDI companies can be very very quick to shut down and fire people and get out of town. So what timeline do you think will they take to get out of Dodge when SF take over?
More dog-whistling from her, no doubt. Was she blaming NATO or telling the government they can't manage the numbers and that Irish people were losing out?
I guess each person has to balance the good that you believe they did with the damage that we know they did.
At the end of the day those who did evil things and murdered innocents, smuggled and stole abused and terrorised for their own ends are still being protected by the party along with those you might call hero's right? some of them may even be the same people .
True, they could do awful damage, imagine if they were to convert €62bn of bank debt into sovereign debt, or waste a couple of billion in installing rusting water meters, or build an €800m hospital for €1.7bn (or more), people might have to wait for hours/days in A&E, and so much more, far too big a risk for sure.