New regulations new season....
Can redbull keep up the pace
I didn't see the sky coverage. Did Brundle get upset when a celebrity didn't want to talk to him on the grid?
Brad Pitt kind of ignored him (although he did say "top secret" when Brundle asked him about the F1 movie) and someone else blanked him IIRC.
Brad Pitt was walking past and ended up being followed by Brundle asking him if he enjoyed F1 and if there was any info about his new film. He answered his questions while continuing to walk, didn't give any info about the film with a polite "it's top secret" then gave a little wave and said "thank you".
The cringiest part of the grid walk was the chap standing infront of Brad Pitt who thought Brundle was coming over to him, he gave a sheepish smile and extended his hand for a shake, Brundle just said "were trying to get to that man behind you", it was awful, absolutely shot down.
I liked his comment about brads security/funky being a pit stop, he's never short of a word anyway
I get that it's probably embarrassing for MB to have someone tell him he's an annoyance to them rather than be honoured to be chosen. But I never understand why fans get cross on MB's behalf.
The same thing happened this time last year over a rapper not wanting to talk to MB and fans were upset about it then too.
I'm not an iota upset, the whole thing is just media (especially twitter) generated noise. Still appreciate an ould dad joke though!.
Brundle doesn't strike me as the type to get embarrassed if someone declines an interview, nor does he seem the type who'd want someone to feel 'honoured to be chosen' for an interview. I get the impression he genuinely enjoys doing the grid walk and it's more than likely Sky trying to add drama by telling him who's around through his ear pieces. He's always been one to go up to celebrities and ask them questions, no matter how awful they can be (think Owen Wilson & Ozzy Osbourne many years ago)
Lat year was also different, I believe it was Megan The Stallion (or whatever she calls herself) and from memory she was perfectly happy to talk to Brundle but her beefy security kept saying no. I can't remember anyone being upset for Brundle over this, more a little annoyed at the over-zealous security person
Interesting
Are they going to announce they are coming to F1...again?
Williams linkup?
Thought Porsche was the rumour for that?
Aren't they rumoured to be buying Sauber?
And there we have it
Glad that's sorted. They've been coming for probably a decade now. The diesel emissions scandal scuppered the last attempt and now they're actually coming.
Thank feck for the diesel emissions scandal.
It kept VW and Audi away from F1 for the best part of a decade.
Maybe it would have been a good thing do with Mercedes dominance as they Audi might have been competitive from the off or they could have been another Honda and been a disaster.
So maybe all this time with them not there and them seeing what Honda went through is good.
VW/Porsche wanted to buy 50% of Red Bul but they couldnt agree term and it caused Honda to double back and agree terms with RB
Yup that much I knew. Porsche are now rumoured to be buying into Williams.
Kinda Want the Andretti Ford stories to be true ,
that would make for a pretty interesting season with all these manufactures .
Ferrari
Redbull/Honda
Mercedes
Apline/Renault
Audi/ Sauber
Porsche /Williams
Ford
then the Mclarens and Alpha Tauri and Aston Martin customer teams .
What's the Andretti-Ford story? Is it something to do with haas?
The Race were speculating on an Andretti/Porsche deal, with them using Audi engines as a customer. Would address F1's need for a manufacturer, and would get Andretti in without needing to take over an existing team.
Would love to see at least an 11th team on the grid, all the swapping of ownerships without additional teams is pretty meh.
No Mention of Haas , German sports site reporting it . But Andretti has been linked with everyone to get in . I just liked the sound of the Ford one .
Today sport1.de is reporting that there are talks taking place that would see an all American hookup between the Andretti Global Motorsports and Ford to enter Formula One together.
This week Mario Andretti confirmed his group are well under way with their development plans for a car to join F1 in 2024 and they are merely awaiting the green light from the FIA.
TJ13: FIA favour Andretti 2024 F1 application
However, the Andretti/Ford alliance would only come into full effect in 2026 and Andretti would require an interim F1 power unit partner for the two seasons prior to 2026."
https://thejudge13.com/2022/10/16/ford-and-andretti-hookup-for-f1-entry/
I doubt the Ford Andretti thing will amount to anything. Ford only recently announced they will stop making the Fiesta soon. So one of Ford's biggest sellers will no longer be made and you think Ford will be able to afford to get into F1. I doubt it. Ford need to concentrate on there new models and making them popular not on getting into F1.
Ford sales are not anything like they used to be and Ford are no where near as popular as they used to be in Europe either.
The last Ford victory in F1 was with Jordan at the crazy 2003 Brazilian Grand Prix. Over 19 years ago.
Engine supply deal only one would assume . They get paid for them , IF Andretti did well , then it's "Powered By Ford" , if they do poorly it's just Andretti F1 with Ford in tiny letters.
Ford get something out of it either way .
I can't decide if every post from this guy is trolling or not...
No I am not a troll. Did you not see the thread on the Fiesta. Ford are not the great company they once were.
Don't get me wrong it would be great to see Ford in F1 but I just do not see it happening.
Aren't Ford heading towards fully electric now as a company anyway?
Mexican Grand Prix to remain on the calendar until 2025.
Yes they are. It would make more sense for them to get into Formula E than Formula 1.
ABA agreed, decision to be announced tomorrow