The key elements include six high speed charging hubs on motorways capable of charging eight vehicles simultaneously; 16 high speed charging hubs capable of charging four vehicles simultaneously; additional high power chargers at 34 current 50 kW locations; upgrading over 50 22 kW chargers to 50 kW, and replacing up to 264 locations with 528 charge points at the pre-existing pilot grade of 22 kW to next generation high reliability models.
The only ecars branded EVs I've seen were outlander phevs and a lone Ioniq28
We need to get one of them to move to Waterford in that case, and maybe Sligo as well
To be fair, a lot of the main high voltage lines run that way as well. So I suspect getting access to high powered grid connections is a bit cheaper
Has Anna flown the nest?
Worrying times indeed!!!
Maybe Anna transitioned?
The issue is that EV charging in general requires you to go off your route to a degree at different points.
That looks bad to ICE drivers - who will moan that it takes 20 mins to get to a random (to them) place before charging.....
So the issue of how far is acceptable to go off route is still valid.
Slieveroe does seem to be very close to Waterford city hence my "improvement of sorts" comment.
The Inver station mentioned is on the main road from New Ross into Waterford, it's also on the last exit of the Waterford bypass from Cork going to Wexford.
It's pretty much a perfect location for a charger for people going to Waterford/Cork via Wexford.
I'll happily take it as and where it is if it means a guaranteed charge either going to or from Waterford.... and not having to even consider the sh1tshow that is the Bolton St. DC charger.... (or Loony Larry when he gets back in the charging game)
Check out this job at ESB: https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/view/3324062697
There you go all, an opportunity to make ecars your life's work!
Don't you need to refer to yourself as Anna if you get the job?
I'd give any regular poster about 3 months before they quit when they find out how difficult it is to get any progress made.
Yeah, true..
but also, I'd probably happily sit out the rest of my career there doing the grand sum of fcuk all while on their dime.... pension and all.....
and then yis can all feck off...
Went to circle k today to charge as the app was showing it free. Got there and an id4 was charging but the app was still showing the charger as available.
If a decent company comes in and starts a reliable, nationwide network then it'll be good riddance to ECars.
This man could go all the way in civil service life, if he can deliver........
eCars don't run their own backend, like most operators they use OCPP compliant hardware and vendors software to integrate with it. Applegreen are using the same platfrom Driivz for their chargers.
Well they must run part of the backend servers, remember that server fault a while back which took out the whole network? I don't think any other networks were down as well so it wasn't anything to do with Driivz
I've always assumed that a job in Ecars came with a free lobotomy, otherwise I can't see how anyone could survive more than a year there
Tuat was the 3 SIM cards that list reception and couldn't communicate with the rest of the network.
I guess you can never expect that people will obey the 45 min rule. The driver said that he's okay with €8 charge. He was at 57% at 45 min and was charging to 80. At least 150kW charger is free and 3c extra /kW won't make much difference to my bill but still..
There is no 45 minute rule. He was there first and can stay all night if he wants to pay stupid charges.
What was he driving out of interest?
I know I should've said "rule". eNiro was his car.
That's the issue with the 50kW units, they're basically outdated now and often you can get enough juice from the 45 mins session
Yeah in your typical big battery SUV the 37.5kWh you can take in that 45 minutes will be in or around 50%, which might not be enough to get you home without another charge…. And when you’ve no guarantee that the next charger will be (insert one of the following: available without queuing, working, not ICE’d etc…) then you’re probably just better off overstaying and taking on what you need there and then.
Sorry don't understand, are you saying you take the €8 hit and you are no longer charged per KW and can stay as long as you want then? I'd be very surprised if that's the case
You continue paying for each kWh consumed but you only pay the overstay fee once. So when taken that hit, there’s no reason not to charge all the way to 100% (except for your time).
Yeah, I’ll happily take that €8 hit the 2-3 times a year I might need a public charge on ESB to get me home without a further charge…..
they could do away with the overstay fee on DC chargers if they simply had more of them at every site, but as the majority of their sites are single unit sites, the overstay fee is their ‘get out of jail’ card to attempt to cover up for their utter sh1tshow of a network……
”Because our network is so sh1t, we limit you to 37.7kWh before being hit with a punitive overstay fee as that’s the only way we can make it fair for everyone, so it’s not our fault when you rock up and someone is charging for an hour and still has 20 minutes to go before they finish”
Note ESB have said it applies every 45 minutes so after 90 minutes another 8 euro fee may apply and so on if you abandon your car all day. I don't know if anyone has tested that in practice. Many cars will be full in 90 minutes and disconnect themselves.
I'd be delighted to see someone getting caught with €40-€50 8n overstay charges.
Absolutely, I think a 90 mins overstay is more realistic for a 50kW, but there should be something like 8 chargers per site
Knowing ESB if they ever installed 8 chargers they'd only provide 5 parking spaces 😏
Their FAQ clearly states the €8 overstay fee only applies once.
To ensure a charge point is available for the next user and to respond to EV driver feedback, an overstay fee of €8 (ROI only) will apply for charging sessions longer than 45 minutes when using all DC CHAdeMO, CCS and AC43kW connectors at Fast or High Power chargers. An overstay fee will also apply for charging sessions longer than 10 hours on both 7kW and 22kW chargers/sockets. (Note: this charge is applied once).
Where do they state they have changed this policy? They certainly haven't emailed me to notify me of this unilateral change of T&Cs!
Not questioning you - it wouldn't surprise me if they have done this or haven't, but say they have etc.
They briefly mention on this video in relation to overstay 40 minutes into video, "and every 45 minutes thereafter" is the exact quote. It's a 2 hour recording so I suggest you jump right to 40 minutes in.