fairplay to him calling it out but can you imagine the outrage there would be if LEO said it
Pity he wouldn’t go a bit further and be more specific, if he’s that sure?
Any idiot can come out with stuff like that, surely?
Pure dog whistling.
What? you doubt the system is being abused? LOL! If that fool Varadkar hadnt abandoned working people for those that dont vote and suck the countries finances dry, maybe that and sorting housing, would have FG doing well, instead of 24 months or whatever it is from losing relevance for decades hopefully...
Nothing of the sort,dude.
Quite the polar opposite.
If some dude , especially a TD,calls out certain issues, it would help if he/she would outline who is involved.
Otherwise it’s just a load of pure horse piss, designed to confuse those who are one trick ponies.
The fella is saying that he's had people in his office who really shouldn't be trying to claim....should he be coordinating a socioeconomic background check on them before commenting or were you hoping for individual names, Bren?
I think he's stating the obvious myself. Is there a welfare payment or tax break in history that some folk haven't tried to find a loophole with? Probably happens more in volume in the lower socioeconomic brackets, more in individual value at the higher bracket.
The way I look at it Fionn, this lad should not be the arbiter of who does or who doesn’t need the assistance.
If a person fulfils the qualifications for assistance,they should get it, if not they shouldn’t get the assistance.
As an aside SF seem very ‘taken’ by what those who come into their clinics have to say, Louise O’Reilly in particular.
Wouldnt be representative of the population at large one would think, though she seem to think it does.
Anyway…….
Martin got a tiny piece of the story wrong.
"“Anyone who sincerely believes in a republican vision for our country should be appalled by the growing attempt to intimidate and shut down debate by one party which refuses to accept the basic accountability accepted by everyone else,” Mr Martin said.
“There is something deeply wrong with a party which has built its entire existence on honouring a campaign of violence — but which now attacks and sues anyone who claims that they supported particular actions within that campaign.”"
This bit is entirely correct, as usual you miss the large part of the story.
I thought it very strange that he spoke of putting people off getting assistance if he felt they didn't deserve it. Smacks of running a state within a state.
Just regarding the/Dowdall case, it is a stark reminder to me that those who have ‘involvement’ with SF are never far away from knowing someone who was/is ‘known to Garda’.
It is notable to me that when in trouble Dowdall headed to ‘The North’ for ‘contacts’.
What it reminds me of years ago when I was in college there was an auld diehard Republican there from Derry. Now this fella used to sing the praises of Stephen 'Rossi' Walsh (Well known to Gardai) as a great legal mind.
Free Online Library: WRONG ARM OF THE LAW; Rossi to set himself up as a legal eagle after he's released from jail.(News) by "The People (London, England)"; News, opinion and commentary General interest
Not only that, this Derryman claimed to be friends with him and ‘knew him well’. But ‘Rossi’ Walsh was a defender of gangland criminals as a ‘self taught’ legal expert.
Rossi by the way was much later convicted for indecent assault of a child.
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/man-appeals-conviction-of-indecent-assault-of-child-citing-adverse-media-coverage-1.4596551
I was wondering would the Dowdall/Hutch case affect the younger new electorate who now vote SF? As that new electorate view the troubles as ‘ancient history’.
Would the Dowdall/Hutch case bring home the ties those involved in SF have to criminality? After all the Dowdall/Hutch families were friends before this case.
Or will such a case be ignored as SF ties with lawlessness is nothing new. Or will voters view it as a sign of SF and associates ‘anti-establishment’ credentials?
Sf supporters, especially the young lot could do well to read this from Fintan O'Toole in the Irish Times about what 'Up the Ra' really means. Its not funny in the least and that goes for the media buffoons who shout it all down and tell us to leave young ones singing it alone.
Paywall.
There ya go.
It’s a powerful piece of writing about a truly sociopathic organisation.
I think the younger voters will enter the polling booths and look at the names and parties who have left them without the prospect of somewhere to live while they study or work. They might just think no-one could do worse than FFG/Lab and the Greens.
OK what you are saying is the younger voters will be willing to ignore current/past SF 'shadiness' for the promise of utopia?
And what do they do then when they realise the grass is not greener, and hear phrases such as 'a lot more to do'? Because the reality is if SF are to get into power, due to nature of PR voting SF will have to compromise. Unless of course SF get an overall majority on their own, in which case there will be no hiding and no excuses. Which can be a double edged sword, as others have found.
"OK what you are saying is the younger voters will be willing to ignore current/past SF 'shadiness' for the promise of utopia?"
No, that's not what I am saying/said.
This is what I said -
"I think the younger voters will enter the polling booths and look at the names and parties who have left them without the prospect of somewhere to live while they study or work. They might just think no-one could do worse than FFG/Lab and the Greens."
Big difference.
Not really, it is just a round about way of implying what I last posted without actually saying it. I don’t see this ‘big difference’ you seem to think there is.
Ironically, I think the current government are performing very well, did well in the budget, did well against Covid, firm stance on Russia etc.
To the extent that SF (for example) have been scrambling for negative criticism, such as ‘the budget was too little too late’ and so on.
Optics wise the government look statesman like. And it is brought into more contrast to the grubbiness/shadiness that follows SF and associates.
Then, add in in on how SF vote against myriads of housing developments on Dublin Council you really have to question who is codding who?
Do the younger voters really buy into this ‘brand’ SF that has been manicured for ROI consumption? I honestly think it is only partly, as some of seems to be voting for apparent ‘change’ for the sake of it. As you admitted.
Also then you have to question SF’s economic credibility. On the one hand they secretly cosey up to big business and say ‘when we get into ‘government’ etc. But on the other SF wanted to bring in energy caps costing €€€€’s.
Ironically, the same strategy which was a major contributor to lack of economic confidence when the British conservatives did the same, only for the Bank of England to step in.
"Not really, it is just a round about way of implying what I last posted without actually saying it."
I'm not implying anything you posted; I'm implying exactly as I posted.
I think you should post what you mean to say and, if you stick to just reading my posts rather than reading them and interpreting them to say something that they don't, we should be fine.
Exciting news for SF whose leader has just won the 2022 European Slapp Politician of the Year Award by a country mile!
*Awarded to the politician who has proven most reliant on SLAPPs and legal intimidation to respond to opposition, dissent, or efforts at accountability.
Her handlers in West Belfast must be very proud of her.
https://www.the-case.eu/campaign-list/the-european-slapp-contest-2022
L.A.M.E.
fair play to her on her win
We cant have people talking openly about or discussing the activities of a political party with more verifiable links to organized crime every day.
more sf = less freedom
Is that new new SF tag line? Less Arguing, More Explosives.
It was posted at 14.31 on a Friday. That's when the latest intake of remedial interns are normally rostered for duty.
MLMD's husband is threatening to sue Shane Ross.
Are SF going to sue EVERYONE they disagree with?
What will they be like when they are in power and everyone is complaining about them. There won't be a slot to be found in the High court schedule for real cases with Mary Lou taking all the court time for her Slapp cases. Or maybe she'll just pass legislation that makes criticism of either the party or the great leader a criminal offence.
The most interesting thing about SF in Government would be the Minister of Justice, Dessie Ellis, requesting access to secret files on which of his comrades had been turned by special branch back in the 80’s and 90’s.
Or when certain files are “disappeared”, while others make their way into the hands of shadowy figures in smokey backrooms up in Belfast.
Yea that could be very interesting, but I'd hope that no Minister would be passing files marked 'Confidential/not for circulation' to his buddies outside of government, it would never have happened before obviously.
Oh I hope he does, takes Ross to court, wins, and is awarded exemplary damages, not for Mr Lanigan's sake but for Mr Ross's.
I think its hilarious that people who called a serving Taoiseach leaking confidential documents a "nothingburger" are now claiming to be worried that TDs/Ministers might just do exactly that if we see SF in government.
That was always going to happen, it is ok as long as it is the party or government they support doing it but god forbid if a party or government they don't support do it. They have a hard time understanding that the rules apply to everyone and not selectively.
would it be a case of people suddenly falling from windows from the 5th floor or slipping under a passing gravel truck... Sf's little black book is no different from the Russian little black book. Disturbing time ahead for the Republic. Sf and the Provos have not gone away and like nothing better than settling scores, even the small ones.