Jesus, I feel like having a shower after looking at those photos.
That was posted already.
This has been on here loads of times already.
And while it would be to my taste, I wouldn't exactly call it a kip....
Maybe not a kip. Just a very ugly house with and a deathtrap with unprotected drops like the one in the kitchen.
The entrance makes it look like you are walking into a prison cell. The interior doesn't do much to change that impression.
The apartment of Negative Craic that place..
The property is strictly no smoking, no vaping and no meat consumption.
The price is inclusive of electricity. There is no internet at the property.
Imagine moving in and going through the whole process which I imagine it would be and the whole time pretending you don't eat meat. And cooking a fry some evening. I wonder would they get vocal or come up to you saying we don't agree with that.
They sound like a complete nut case, tbh.
It would be ideal for a person from the middle ages tbf, as long as their dog wasn't too big.
They’re hardly nut cases to be fair. It’s a nice place to rent for a vegan/vegetarian. That’s all. I think anyone who’d spend six months pretending to be a veggie so they can a fry down the line is the weirdo in this scenario
Their ad is pretty up front and honest (even calling the wetlook “tiny”) so fair play to them for that
Surely the ad stating that they only want vegetarians or vegans is discriminatory. I thought you cant discriminate against people when renting property.
Im puzzled why they have a problem renting to a meat eater when they are living in a separate property - its not like they are going to be looking at or smelling someone cooking meat!
No more discriminatory than saying no smoking or vaping.
Unless you actively dislike vegans, this shouldn’t be a problem for anyone IMO
I can understand no smoking as it leaves a smell and can cause damage to a property. But eating meat causes no damage to the property so Im struggling to see the logic. It seems the owner has an issue with meat eaters and only wants to rent to like minded people which surely is discrimination.
I wonder will they look for proof that prospective tenants are veggies 😂😂.
Perfectly legal discrimination
If you couldn't discriminate you would have to let to the first person who asked, regardless of ability to pay, history of damage to property, etc.
Stinky tofu and cabbage curry.
no meat no internet, craic vortex.
TBBT Room mate agreement springs to mind
As a meat eater, I wouldn't let the vege/vegan stipulation bother me, if the property was to my liking.
Perfectly possible for me to be a vege at home and do my carnivore thing when I'm out and about.
And meat does smell like meat when it's being cooked (duh!), and it leaves grease around generally, so I can understand why a vege/vegan landlord may not want that in their property.
Edit to add: mobile internet is a thing, too ...
Jaysis lads take the vegan/anti vegan chat elsewhere.. ruining another good thread
To get things back on track...7 people sharing 1 bathroom, 1 kitchen and 2 bedrooms. A bit of a tight squeeze for €780pm.
No they didn't. You can still buy them but they are made with fire retardant in them now
I wouldn’t give a shite. I’m not a vegan. I’m just pointing out I don’t mind any home owner making rules for their tenants
Last one mods!
Maybe now, but does the retardant stop the thick black smoke and molten polystyrene from dropping down, or just stop the fire spreading if only the actual tile is on fire and not the rest of the room.
My grandparents had these in their kitchen and sitting room. Years ago when painting the rooms I broke off a piece and lit it, they are seriously dangerous.
Yes it does stop that. It was also the decorations that were the problem not the tiles. I worked in nightclubs and any decorations would be checked so they wouldn't be a fire hazard.
There are a lot of misconceptions about the Stardust fire they get said and spread. Rules around the world changed as a result of what was learned from the fire and probably saved many lives. Some 40 years later people still make up stuff about it. One of the worst was when the pub beside it that remained open after the fire was closed and refurbed 30 years later and the media let the narrative that the pub was opened on the site of Stardust go around and never corrected the obvious lie. I get the angry relatives but it was a total lie to stop the owners business
This was posted a while back already. It's actually a pretty cool house. I visited it a few years back.
Was it the same owners of the pub and club?
Looks like a lot of house for 350k, until....
From the National Monuments map;
Class Description: Fever hospital
Web Notes: In sloping pasture, overlooking Kenmare town to the S. Two-storey former fever hospital built of random rubble with cut-stone quoins. Front (S) of five bays with central doorway. Rectangular window opes; sash frames survive on first floor. Gable-ended with slate roof. Four evenly spaced chimneys; one on each gable and two on ridge. Chimney on E gable end projects slightly wall. Single storey extension to the rear. Shown as a T-shaped building with two smaller flanking buildings to rear on 1846 and 1895 OS 6-inch maps. Hospital opened on 20th March, 1847 (Cronin and Sheehan 1993). Now functions as a private dwelling. Compiled by: Elizabeth Byrne, Ursula Egan and Sheila Ronan, Archaeological Survey Unit, University College, Cork. Date of upload: 30 May 2011
Yes but he owns the entire business park where many people still shop. There is a car park on the majority of the night club with the rest of it small businesses like an asian food store, gym and cafe. The weirder aspect is a new night club did open in the same building structure in the 90s and there were no protests but it eventually closed down due to the violence every weekend. Was called Crazy Joe's and on opening night I believe 3 different ambulances were called.
That's absolutely beautiful. In an absolutely beautiful place.
But - €350K for a total (with a Capital T) renovation, plus it's listed. You'd want very deep pockets!
The owner profited from the deaths at the club, so I can see how people might have no issue with leaving a rumour like that circulate.