Orc long predates JRR Tolkien novels!
orc noun
\ ˈȯ(ə)rk, ˈȯ(ə)k \
plural -s
Definition of orc
1 KILLER WHALE
also : a sea animal held to resemble it
: a mythical creature (as a sea monster, giant, or ogre) of horrid form or aspect
Also the Cleopatra Glossaries from the 930s AD describe an Orc as a "hell devil".
Sounds about right to me.
That number seems within the bounds of a reasonable guess to me as well. It's still a horrific number. It means 130 Russians are dying in Ukraine every day.
An independent country has been invaded by an aggressive neighbour, who has tried to overthrow the democratically elected government and have murdered likely thousands of their citizens, and yet you describe their fight to defend themselves as nonsense?
What an appalling thought process to have!
Does not compute, comrade. Nice try, but I've seen better.
So much for Kerch Bridge being open to traffic:-
Just waiting for a Putinbot to say that's a Brexit video from Dover.
I think you might be missing out on sarcasm there at a guess.
In the beginning of his career, founded in blood as it was, he was considered as being the best of a very bad lot, and kept the worst of them under control. So, he was their choice. But imagine how bad he had to be in the first instance to control them? And now his true talents are showing. He's a murderous dictator.
Too flat and not enough trees. 😁
... the final cost of this nonsense ...
Spoken like a true believer in the cost of everything and the value of nothing.
Its all part of the propaganda machine of a losing authoritarian state
They are showing their desperation
Ah jaysus lads….
The hills and trees were returned to the Single Market, it's obviously Dover!
Didn't someone tell us there was full trains flying across it today
Perhaps they have just paused traffic whilst they scratch their heads wondering what happened to all the rebar?
Le HIMARS
Considering some of the posts on here, it's hard to tell sometimes...and for sure, there has been posts worded slightly different but asking the same question. " Why can't Ukraine stop the fighting, make a deal with Russia, and stop the killing?"
Certainly fits the pattern of clusterfuckitude that this war has been so far-
Bold of you to assume they would ship their dead home.
Billions are a hill o'beans. Besides, it has been suggested that the seized oligarch's money be used to rebuild Ukraine.
People are still talking about negotiations which can mean one of two things:
Ukraine surrenders. No.
Putin pulls out of Ukraine. No.
So why are they still going on about negotiations? They seem to think negotiations are some kind of magical incantations that will fix things.
The Russian woman from Germany calls for the murder of Ukrainian demonstrators in Dresden. On her TikTok, she said that on October 10 there were too less missiles and calls Putin to strike Dresden.
A Russian with a resturaunt named Rodina(Motherland) in Germany who wants Russia to attack Germany and genocide Ukrainians. What a surprise. 🙄
And then you think about all those eejits here who were shouting that it is not correct not to let all those poor russians in EU, they are running away from the regime they said, poor people.
This is very true
That sounds very like the running russian narative that helping Ukraine defend itself from evil murdering invaders is making it worse for Ukraine and is just a sick way of excusing putins empire extension plot that I think many countries rightly think should be stopped. Just to illustrate how nonsensical your worry about the USA tax payers having trouble with supporting Ukraine is, this graph shows support for Ukraine defending themselves as a percentage of GDP.
I know where you are coming from . I SPOTTED you coming a mile away
David Attenborough has said there's too many people on Earth. It goes to show even the greats can hold warped ideas. Humanities problem is infighting, misuse of resources and destroying our shared environment not a population problem.
I wonder are they trying to figure out how to rebuild the bridges destroyed in Kherson too
That graph is nonsense since most if not all aid actually come from the USA and to an extent France and Germany. Top countries (ex eastern bloc) simply transfer their old soviet stockpile to the ukraine with promise of that being replaced by new guns from USA, France and Germany. Free of charge so it will actually be paid for by taxpayers in the west.
I observed a situation in a certain developing country when massive generators were being transported on trailers with 40+ wheels. The transport company checked if the stated weight bearing capacity was correct. In the end the company had its doubts and dismantled the generators so as to spread the load. The bridge was built by the China or Russia. In this case it was the low level of cement to gravel which was used. Transport company must have got a sample of the concrete analysed.
I'm afraid Attenborough is right. Studies show that the world can 'comfortably' support 2 billion people. After that, there is trouble. We are now 5+ billion in excess.
++. The OP missed the reason for the problems we have - infighting: too many people, too little stuff. Destroying our shared environment: too many people, too few places to live/eat from. All these problems derive from human overpopulation.