After partition, nationalism in the North became pretty much confined to the catholic community because unionism looked after the prods at least to some extent and fomented a division along religious lines.
The south was left with a very small, mainly well-off prod population many of whom worshipped the British monarchy in private. Almost all the rest of the population was nominally catholic.
So nationalism became restricted mostly to the nominally catholic population north and south. Is it hard to understand that their cultural catholicism would in some ways colour their thinking, including their political thinking?
Remember the prods in the north cut themselves off from political nationalism, so they can then hardly complain that political nationalism developed in ways that they didn't like. In the south they gradually gravitated to FG resulting in FG coming to be seen as the anti-nationalist or at least non-nationalist party.
Prior to partition plenty of Protestants were involved in the various strands of nationalist Ireland. Sam Maguire, Ernest Blythe and Douglas Hyde immediately spring to mind, from counties Cork, Roscommon and Antrim.
So my thesis is not that SF is a catholic party, but that the low number of protestant nationalists is due to partition.
Why is the DUP supporting this catholic policy? Why does the protestant Bible-belt in the US support this catholic policy?
Foley is referrring to the SF database that was I think run by the same foreign company that also held the FG database abroad. I wonder why she didn't lambast FG at the same time?
As for SF having no policies, she must be incapable of reading if she believes that particular lie.
Sometime last year, I went into the SF website to see if they had a policy on Irish, and I was amazed to find policy documents there on virtually every aspect of public life.
Shame on the Examiner for spreading this lie.
I wonder why she didn't lambast FG at the same time?
FG are their government partner, when SF become their partner in a few years time they'll go on the attack of FG. Simple politics
Now that you are so informed on SF policies, can you tell me what percentage reduction in climate change emissions they want from agriculture?
Is that the photo she posed for and asked to be taken? I agree with you, it was a terrible invasion of her kids privacy that she exploited them and used them like that. Shame on her.
Crossmaglen Rovers and SF contain more than a little overlap. Not surprising in that light.
Earlier in the thread you stated that certain articles had been deleted from the net. What were these articles and how do you know they were removed?
What has that to do with my last post? Last week's discussion is last week's discussion.
That's not the case. Why are you reluctant to answer questions based on your posts?
Questions have been asked for quite a long time about MLMD's house. Here is an article from 2015. No answers yet, though.
By the way, can anyone find a copy of the May 2011 feature about her house? Can't seem to find it.
I am not a witness in a court case, to be cross-examined on my posts.
This is a discussion board, and cross-examining people on their posts is part of its raison d'etre.
Cross-examination isn't discussion.
Who are Crossmaglen Rovers
Probably just as well
a typo
It wouldn't be a major shock to discover that there would be many members of Crossmaglen Rangers (presuming that's who you mean) who might be members/supporters of Sinn Fein, after all they (SF) have close enough to 50% of the constituency supporting them, wouldn't really equate to the third secret of Fatima.
SF was hosting its website with a web hosting company called Linode. It was hosted in Germany. Ironically, FG was hosting its website with the same company. SF, FF and FG had to address privacy concerns.
Regards...jmcc
In time honoured republican tradition, Mary Lou's favourite ex Councillor has turned supergrass.
It wasn't a major shock to me, neither was it a major shock to me that there was a pedophile hidden in their ranks.
In the ranks of Crossmaglen Rangers or Sinn Fein? Are you saying that he is a member of Sinn Fein
Liam Adams was a member of SF, hence my comparison of the two organisations. Catholic Church, GAA, Sinn Fein, all have their problems when it comes to child abuse. People knew of these guys and nothing was done.
It would be incredible if Mary Lou becomes the third Irish Taoiseach to be unable to explain how they paid for their house. Fool me once etc….,
Was Liam Adams a member of Crossmaglen Rangers?
Welcome back Mike
You might have missed my question, which I'll ask again, what business were Dowdall and McDonald partners in, you said they were business partners so you should have no problem saying what business, presuming you weren't bullsh1tting of course, that surely wouldn't be the case
was it crossmagen who flew some of their senior members out to NYC so one of them could visit their Garda Killing scumbag son who was scuttled off there to hide after the murder ?
murder smuggling peados and drug gangs and sf all in the same Venn diagram once again
Catholic Church, GAA, Sinn Fein, Fianna Fail, Fine Gael, swimming, soccer, you name it, all have their problems when it comes to child abuse and nothing was done
You might have missed my question, which I'll ask again, what business were Dowdall and McDonald partners in, you said they were business partners so you should have no problem saying what business, presuming you weren't bullsh1tting of course, that surely wouldn't be the case. I'm not sure that MLMD would be overly enthusiastic about being accused of being a business partner of Mr Dowdall if it was an untrue accusation.
thanks very much , but of course this isnt my full time job ya know :-)
na kid its been answered already a few times and god knows who JD is going to drag into the mix now ,
id advise you again to swing by the gangland thread and read up on the sf organized crime connections,
lots of questions being asked around here and few answers ,
leader of a political party with a huge gaff and small income associating with organized crime figures,