He’s only a small store.I wouldn’t be feeding him. I’d keep him out for as long as I could, house him for a couple of months without meal and then try and get him out to grass in early March. He’d be fit to kill next May/June when prices are usually high with no meal.
Some lads are feeding 3kg and hoping to kill the likes of the above in 3/4 weeks but more lads say to keep until june .Considering a five month winter he will eat 4 bales of silage at 40 = 160 for silage and another 50 for meal
He is probably FS3-/=. You could carry him to 4= he go from O=/+ to R-. Even if he went to 4+ it would not be a disaster the K/O would increase as well
We used to bolus everything but haven’t done so the past two years due to rising costs, don’t notice any difference to be honest
Is there not a danger he’d go over fat if he got that much meal for a few weeks, given he’s FS3 now?
Give minerals here, even have a link block in the field that they go through every 3-4 weeks. Times you wonder is it worth it
i thought of this when I wrote it first. No I never took account of the lads that were missed. Must do next year.
Surely there will be penalties for a carcase so light but he probably ain't going to get a whole lot bigger only become overfat. Thanks for your feedback it is much valued.
Maybe, but I hate grabbing a cow by the nose. I think it drives them mad.
Bless your memory. I don't remember that.
I would class him as FS 3. You could probably have him slaughtered. What weight is he. I am presuming he was getting 1-2 kgs for the last few weeks. If he was mine and I reared him from a calf I would feed him for 4-5 weeks @3kgs/ day and hang then unless he is under 500 kgs
The bullock on his own is a He/JE x bullock how would you class his body condition? Born 23 March 21.
Same here, headscoop only job for bolusing and drenching cows anything too contrary gets multimin injection.
I was replacing tags on yesterday and with the price of tags now, you want them attached right, needed the scoop
Did you find much I’d a difference in the ones skipped compared to the rest
Very true, we had the same discussion with patsy mc cabe here, this time last year on the head scoop topic.
Ah lads buy a head scoop and you’ll have it for years. Buy a few other bits and you can get the tams on it. How do ye manage dosing etc.?
could you not use a “nose snaffles” and pull head up?
Planning on bolus myself this year as won’t be feeding any meal
Killed a HEX bullock this week...4.70 base price
R- 405kgs dead weight....a superb animal....29 months...
He had 5 residences so i got no bonus whatsoever....i didnt realise until after slaughter...I am still raw as fùck over it...
Larry will certainly be selling him as a QA animal....
I use a rope halter here on suckler cows when giving them a bolus. Ideally, you'd want the rope tied up and straight out. I have a bad back and catching them any other way kills my back. Might have to make up a cheap head scoop.
Different story with bucket fed bullocks. You could spend 10 minutes with one f@@ker.
You would want a crush with a perfectly working head gate and blind sides on it
Done over 100 yearling bulls in the spring, the scoop and anti backing bar made easy work of it. Left a few off without them that were contrary but majority were fine.
Why not sell them at the mart. I took a 4year old fr/mox for a neighbor. No board bia. Taller than myself. 955kg 2315 euro.
Wouldn't fancy having to give them to bull.. I done stores around 500 kgs 1 or 2 were fun but the majority were grand, but a head scoop would leave it easier.
Gave them here this last two years too. Some lads say it an awful job giving them but a head scoop makes an easy job of it.
I wonder could the bolus be given to store cattle over the winter instead of minerals on top of the silage?
I was watching the mart from Tipperary town yesterday and there was a few dairy-cross animals like that going thru the ring. It was a mixture of AA, HE, and LM mostly. Depending on shape and flesh cover, you could expect anything from €1.90 to €2.20 for those 320kg AA heifers.
What age are they? Younger ones (April/May born) seem to give a better chance of €2.20.
If they out of genuine British freisians then they should be worth a good bit more than the other sort that claim to be out of "British" freisians.
Which ain't too helpful but some buyers will be wary.
Are they decent shapely animals, blocky, straight back, growth, decent rear end? If so you'll do well, might be an idea to hold on to them if you can.
Can't say what I think they would make as the variation between Angus is .....broad.
Someone might put an upper and lower limit per kilo on it....is it mart or a lad calling to the yard?
What would year old bucket reared angus heifers around 320kgs be worth. Out of brittish friesans
Any quotes for next week?
It's not a requirement to stamp the card anymore.
If they were not in test, the mart office would not let them through the ring.
If they are now in your herd, and your on agfood or herd watch, type in their tag and tb dates will show up.
They wouldn't be allowed to transfer out of herd/into herd if they over 12 months since clear tb.
The card is supposed to be stamped but I think its gone outa fashion. Cards don't mean anything anymore it's what is on the database that matters.
Wouldn't be that worried about them over 12 months since test they used to send me letter about them when sent for slaughter but haven't got the letter since covid. It was a total waste of resources as the cattle were gone and why they felt the need to waste paper and post to tell me I can never figure out.
If 20% of the herd is over 12 months since test they might stop sales to farms but can slaughter away