Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
Mcconville always came across as totally honest and I would have loved to have seen him involved in Mayo. He always had big time for us over the years as a pundit and came across as fair. I hope he does well in wicklow
I'd agree, they seems like honest comments rather than bitterness to me. There's definitely a chance that there could be too many cooks involved in McStay's team but I guess that's McStay's job to make sure everyone knows their role and that everything runs smoothly.
I always got the impression that if McConville has something to say he says it, or speaks his mind regardless of the timing. This is more of that by the looks of it, it could be taken as sour grapes as he didn't get involved but he is honest about that disapointment and why he thought Dempsey would have been a better option. Id have all the more respect for him for it too!
he sounded quite bitter alright. Didn't expect that from him to be fair.
McConville Doesn't Like Look Of 'Overloaded' Mayo Backroom Team | Balls.ie
Interesting comments... only time will tell.
I must be losing it so, thought he was a few years older.
Crazy that he made FBD squad or two for the seniors but couldn't make the cut for the U20's.
Jack Livingstone was U20 this year but wasn't on the panel. Jennings from Ballinrobe was another option
Jennings from Ballinrobe.
From Knockmore you had two forwards who both played in a senior Connacht final, neither saw game time
Who was the best keeper in the county? I've heard people say that Jack Livingston from Breaffy should have been in between the sticks but unless I'm losing my marbles, he was a year or two overage.
Think it might have been Ah Ref podcast that were going on about it.
You can when you have the best keeper in the county on the bench and 90% of the slapstickness is due to the goalie.
From what I hear he went out of his way to make examples of young lads that he thought were too big for their boots
I'm perhaps concentrating on some of the stuff that the Tim O'Leary fan club would post. I should probably know better than to pay much heed to empty barrels.
I think there was a bit of underestimation of Sligo from the supporters. I don't think the players did but that doesn't matter now.
I didn't think there was much ott criticism. Not that I was aware of anyway. I think he got criticism for the way he played and some of the selections and I would have to say they were fair enough.
Putrid football and success is one thing... sometimes, but the problem was that he we played putrid football and lost so you'd expect criticism. Did we understimate Sligo? I'm not sure we did, we just threw away the game.
I think the criticism of Sheridans style of play was warranted,however a lot of that would have been glossed over if we had gone further or indeed won the u20.
The manager couldn't be blamed for the slapstick cartoon stuff that lost us the game v Sligo,you just can't account for stuff like that happening not once but a few times in that game.
I think some of the criticism was over the top to be honest. A lot of folk underestimated Sligo not taking into account that was a very strong team at minor coming through in this age group. The style the team played was indeed putrid to watch, but his job isn't to get teams playing for entertainment.
His winning Sigerson won't have done any defence of his retention bid any harm. Appreciate they're different grades too but he did well there. He also managed to get Fionn McDonagh playing exceptionally well at that grade, I'd be very hopeful to see similar from Fionn at senior intercounty if he can stop getting injured.
I came on here hoping to see this
ye didn’t let me down :D
And Kenneth in an era when positions wouldn't have been as fluid. Saying that, midfield was probably still midfield, rather than the middle third, when Keith was switched.
I think Sheridan was a bit fortunate to get reinstated, it's a big year for him. He shouldered a lot of blame for the defeat to Sligo and most of it was probably deserved.
Can only be a good thing,know nothing of him in management but arguably the best cornerback to play for Mayo (although I'd give that to Zippy)
Funnily enough both himself and Keith made the unusual move from corner back to no.11 in different eras.both were successful at it but in both cases it was scraped after a season!
Kenneth Mortimer joins Sheridan's backroom team for the U20s. Best of luck @km79 🤣
what ever happened to Ned?
Good man, thanks
released Wednesday night https://twitter.com/MayoGAA/status/1570165583836250113?s=20&t=QccCkpN97Ne_ozKvFHgEhA
think I saw them already out yesterday or the day before on Mayogaa twitter
Any idea when will the fixture details for next weekend be confirmed?
The interviews have been reassuringly focused, calm and confident.
The Mayo News podcast had separate interviews with Rochford and McStay up recently on patreon. Will probably be realised outside of that in a few days. Well worth a listen as your point is the focus of a lot of the interviews.
Rochford interview: He's well used to the assistant manager role at this stage and is very happy to play that role. Typical modest interview from him.
McStay interview: said he wouldn't have done it without Rochford as his assistant, and that Rochford has added so much already. McStay also made it clear that his management style is that he wants to be challenged by the strong characters around him and wasn't interested in yes men.
Personally I wouldn't have been worried about the team assembled and certainly not after the interviews.
Most set ups have 3 selectors or so involved, we've got an assistant manager thrown in. It's not excessive imo.
I get that but surely he doesn't want to devalue his selectors opinions otherwise distrust, dishamrony set in and impact morale. This probably happened under Horan and the body language from the side line was telling. I hope McStay is not that type of manager especially with a big back room team. Time will tell.
The manager carefully considers all opinions before ignoring them and going with his own.
Half joking... but a manager manages at the end of the day. All others are there in supporting roles. A good manager will take on other opinions when needed, but doesn't necessarily need to be taking lots of time doing so.
If you believe the gossip and the pictures of arguments on the sideline it was Horan and noone else.
There is effectively 5 selectors. Is that more than normal and how does that work in pratice? Final say is with Kevin i presume so that makes the debate fairly long to get perspectives on board. How did it work under Horan, I think there was Horan and two others?
That ll suit o hora so!