Just for clarification. The cost of electricity market opening was €1.2bn approx, that's €600 approx for every electricity customer, any idea who might have paid for that. The cost of maintaining that market is millions if not hundreds of millions per year. There are even some idiots who think that switching electricity supplier is free (somebody has to pay).The price of electricity has increased significantly (not just this year) since market opening. Market competition has given us the risk of power cuts this year for the first time since 1927 (other than line faults and industrial action).
Market opening/deregulation has served us well, hasn't it.
Edit: I should have said those figures were for the 2001 market opening, lord knows how many additional billions SEM & I-SEM have cost us (electricity customers)
Where did you get your figures from?
Have you ever heard of knowing stuff
I have heard of making things up.
Just interested in knowing where you got those numbers from.
Michelle O'Neill is the de-facto first minister of Northern Ireland, Paul Givan is the de-facto deputy first minister. While the 6 counties remain part of the UK they both should be there, Micheal Martin and Simon Coveney are strange additions in that respect
Did Gerry attend to offer his condolences? Himself and Charles have so much in common. Both of them have played key roles in covering up their respective brothers sex crimes.
Not sure but I don't think so, but then he has no great role anymore so wouldn't expect him to be there
SF is an irish party and anybody who has anything to do with it has no business being at a commemmoration for a british monarch.
first minister or no first minister, it doesn't matter.
I take it you voted NO in the GFA?
I wonder if any of this money ended up with SF?
There should be a full audit of such.
There are certainly questions that need answering.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0apbdroLad4
The fact that energy costs have fallen as well as risen (and that you won't acknowledge that, which is funny to watch), that consumers have a choice of supplier and that multiple energy companies have left the market due to spiralling costs renders your entire argument moot.
SF aren't planning to nationalise, they're copying the British Government by putting the cost directly on the tax-payer to handle the cost differences. Europe is going with a different approach, but both amount to shuffling money around.
If Europe weens itself off russian energy, prices will settle again (they always have in the past...), if another major event occurs, then the prices will react to that. The Middle East is paying close attention as they don't want the world to wean themselves off fossil fuels and they don't want competition from shale oil, so they'll increase supply as needed to keep the dollars pouring in.
Sticking fingers in your ears and ignoring stuff happening isn't a solution (like all the eejits on the covid forum who couldn't handle advice updating as more information became unavailable).
And again, the monopolies that controlled energy before de-regulation had awful customer service and a bloated unproductive staff. No sane person would want to return to that (apart from those wishing for a socialist revolution, likely as they never experienced the previous ineptitude themselves).
So the funeral of a head of state should not be attended by anybody from outside that state?
Presumably
New Zealand’s prime minister Jacinda Ardern, Canadian prime minister Justin Trudeau, Australian prime minister Anthony Albanese, Emperor of Japan Naruhito, European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen, French prime minister Emmanuel Macron and Brazilian prime minister Jair Bolsonaro.
shouldn't be going either?
Are you proposing to remove Ireland from the Single European Market for Energy? Did we strike a well somewhere that I didn't hear about?
You would expect Michael Martin to be there in fairness, head of govt of their nearest neighbour, Simon Coveney as foreign affairs minister too.
the monopolies that controlled energy before de-regulation had awful customer service and a bloated unproductive staff
What a load of horse manure, to go with the pile of horse manure that was posted before.
Have you ever tried recently to contact any of these energy companies, left hanging on the phone interminably, customer service my ass.
Why do people post stuff like this that is so obviously and verifiably untrue, beggars belief
Edit: These same bloated unproductive staff who have delivered projects all over the world, SSJ
Where did I say/suggest/hint/think of/? removing Ireland from the SEM. I was just responding to your ridiculous (imo) bluster in the previous post that obviously had no basis in fact. Strike a well????????????????
Energy prices have never been higher,I dunno whom your trying to convince that they have fallen🤣
Ah yes think il put up with awlful customer service and unproductive staff,than this present utopia of record prices and record profits🤌.....at some point,even to yourself deregulation has failed and like communism hurts ordinary people the hardest,unless you present scenario as a success?
Sorry I thought it was in relation to their meeting in Belfast yesterday
Heads of state should of course go to the funeral of another head of state.
And internally, in the UK, at the very least, the first ministers of regional assemblies should also attend. Until such a time as a border poll is passed by the 6 counties that includes NI
that's correct.
that's up to them.
however members of the party which represent the irish republican movement, the 32 county republic and all that it stands for should not be attending anything to do with a monarch who was the head of state for a regime which tried to suppress this nation and everything it stands for.
sf are going against the people they are supposed to represent and it's not good enough.
jesus a bit stupid for them to start advertising that they want higher thresholds. looking at 40 per cent capital gains tax most likely. absolute chancers. the money will be funneled to only one section of society. who do they think will vote for them?
not when they are an all ireland party.
let the DUP attend if they want seeing as it is their monarchy.
I agree with you that MLMD should be next or nowhere near the funeral or any other commemoration outside this State, she has no role in representing the Irish people abroad.
However, MON has claimed that as First Minister she will work on behalf of all of the people of Northern Ireland. A consequence of her own words is that she has a duty to attend the funeral to represent the people of Northern Ireland.
The majority of SF supporters are also GFA supporters.
Beyond some Éirígí types most people recognise MON's visit for what it is, and those types aren't voting for SF anyway; in their eyes they stopped supporting SF when SF sat down at the negotiating table.
who do they think will vote for them?
Sinn Féin continues to be the most popular party in the country according to the latest Sunday Independent/ Ireland Thinks poll.
The opposition party is up 1pc to 36pc, with Fine Gael falling by a point to 21pc. Fianna Fáil is also down a point to 16pc, while coalition partner the Green Party fell from 4pc to just 2pc.
yeah not if they continue with this sort of shite. the point being they still need to get the votes of the "squeezed middle". this won't help that.
it still won't be enough to get a majority
We'll probably have to wait for the next opinion poll to gauge the effect of 'this sort of shite'.
Those numbers are getting them very close to a majority. What's more important is the shirt/soldier combined only on 37% - with those sort of numbers they will be really struggling to pick up the final 1/2 seats in any constituency, for the first time in the history of the state the shirts/soldiers won't be picking up transfers from anybody else except themselves and even then in a lot of areas there would still be a reluctance among the old diehards (who probably form most of the shirt/soldier vote) to transfer soldier to shirt and vice versa. Time will tell and a lot can still happen twixt cup and lip
Luckily for most folk, your opinions are reserved for the file labelled ‘batshït’.