100+ properties as well.
The absolute stupidity that Paul Murphy was talking on the radio today about energy seems to have been picked up by some.
A) then largest companies are semi-state, we get most of the profits anyway
B) lots of energy companies are leaving the market
Leading us to C) the driver of this is the high cost and demand for energy which goes up and down all the time, we must be prepared to subsidise them too when the prices go too low (hell, shouldn't we be subsidising the likes of panda power as well by that reasoning).
People are getting really dumb with simple supply demand curves at the moment.
It will take a year for this to stabilise itself, it would be less for us if we hadn't stopped gas exploration and had put in LNG terminals when they were advised, we could have used the revenue to fund most of our green energy infrastructure instead of continuing to burn even dirtier fuels.
And yes, some of this does apply to current idiotic government policies as well.
Someone earning e70K is likely in top 5% of earners worldwide
something like 65% of population earn under 35K.....we as a state can borrow afaik 4 billion and stay inside budget restriction
But if these record profits aren't capped/taxed out,energy companies will consistently attempt underpin their share price with these level profits I to the future.....
these lump sums given to people for electricity bills,while well-meaning is pointless as long-term don't tackle big issue of excessive profits,and essentially amount to state subsidising electrity companies making record profits
Had a further think about the SF proposal.
Four young lads sharing a house in Longford earning 50k each on the sites, eating takeaways and hardly home for more than a few hours a day, will each get a cashback payment from SF, while a family with a single earner on 75k, paying a huge mortgage with spouse and young children at home all day using heating, cooking, lighting etc. will get nothing.
Harebrained scheme from the economic thoughts of Pearse.
The most concerning thing isn't the specific number in this instance, but rather the regularity with which SF revise down the entry point into what is considered the privileged who shouldn't receive support.
By the time the election rolls around, will it be anyone earning €50k+ shouldn't receive XYZ? Maybe if anyone in the household earning above minimum wage?
Never mind the absolute idiocy of even suggesting capping electricity prices at June '21 rates. I get that economics experts aren't really their target demographic, but is there ANYONE naive enough or unaware enough of global news to buy that sh*te?
Sailing dangerously on that one.
They believe SF TDs earning 100k should keep cheap social housing, but people paying huge rents on 70k incomes in poorly insulated apartment blocks shouldn't get any relief?
We finally have some indication of where SF’s thinking is on where free money should end. €70k income seems to be the threshold above which you’re not worthy of any payment from the free money tree. That’s useful to have in advance of a GE and should focus the minds of a lot of people.
Posts are made in the context of discussions and should be considered so.
no reason for annyone of them to be there.
SF are an irish party, she was not our queen and he is not our king.
Accusations of trolling are a banable offence....you cannot accuse someone of misrepresenting your post or taking out of context,if they quote the entirety of your post
It's baffling you think people will fall for this
If she attends, one would assume it's in response to an invitation. If she's invited, why question on whether she has any representational role in being there? Do you think she should snub any such invitation?
It's plain to see you don't like Sinn Fein or McDonald, but on this, the potential attendance of the queen of Englands funeral, assumedly after an invitation to attend, you are giving out for no other reason than your dislike.
I must admit, I'm shocked at you, I would have thought you'd be a real advocate for the female leader of the largest, most popular political party on the island, to attend the funeral of another female head of state, who was highly influential and admired by millions.
I quoted the entirety of the post,how can you proclaim it out of context?
If you post erroneous posts,perhaps it would time to reconsider your posting style and improve methodology?
You are quoting the post out of context which was clearly as part of the discussion around attendance at the Queen's funeral.
I am not losing the plot over anything, I am a little irritated at what seems to be a low-level flaming attempt to quote me out of context, that is all. Cease and desist, as one might say.
Except it's not....I quoted an post,which in its entirety,stated she represents noone and nothing else?
Quite why you have lost the plot over this is beyond me.....personally I think the whole monarchy is an affront to democracy,which no civilised country should endulge the English in celebrating.....fair enough if she was the last,but they have pressed on with continuence of it,so let em at it imo
No, my point still stands, if attending the Queen's funeral, or any other such commemorative event abroad, MLMD is representing nobody, she has no representative role. Nitpicking that to point out she has a representative role in the Dail for her constituents is just pure nitpicking.
Pointing out entirely erroneous posting,is not nitpicking
But sure needs facts and logic anyway🤷
Slán
As I was clearly talking in the context of representation at an event abroad, it would be fairer to categorise the response to me as nitpicking.
Bit of a fair travel from this:
Still doesn't hold any position representing anyone.
In light of some basic facts,you must surely concede the above statement was entirely erroneous?
That is a representation role within the State.
She has no representation role outside the State.
Except of course,yous claimed she deosnt represent anyone,which is entirely 100% untrue,as an elected representative she represents her constituency and constituent's
If you don't understand the subject matter,would you not simply avoid making broad brush statements,that fall asunder under basic scrutiny?
Article 29 (4) of the Constitution:
"4 1° The executive power of the State in or in connection with its external relations shall in accordance with Article 28 of this Constitution be exercised by or on the authority of the Government."
Do I need to dig out the relevant articles of the Constitution to explain what the Government is, and how an opposition TD is not part of the government, and has no representation role for the State?
Let's try two simple questions for you: What is the biggest party in NI Assembly? Who is its president?
Regards...jmcc
This is completely erroneous,as an elected TD,she represents her constituents.....
you really don't understand the subject material atal it seems
As Axel once said.
Nah, Taoiseach, Tanaiste, President, Ministers, if any of them go, they are representing the Irish State and the Irish people. That is what their roles are for.
Other politicians, they don't represent anybody, and are there for the photo-op or the social media likes.
I would say she represents those who have voted for the party, or intend to in the next election, north and south.
We do agree on something however.
You said this
Any excuse for a photo op.
I said this.
One can show empathy and decency in more ways than making sure you're seen to be attending a funeral, which lets face it, for many all that counts will be that their face can be seen attending the funeral.
I include the rest of the Irish politicans in that assessment
And I repeat.
So you congratulate her gesture?
You need to read my post, I was very clear that MON should attend and the reasons why.
I was only responding to the poster who said that they wouldn't be attending the head of the British Royal family's funeral. Are you saying that journalists don't get things right?