So theyre damned if they do, and damned if they don't. Amazing.
Still doesn't hold any position representing anyone.
No reason for MLMD to attend the funeral, she doesn't represent anyone.
Mary Lou McDonald is the leader of the most popular political party on the island of Ireland blanch.
Those poll results at the weekend must have really got to you.
So now it appears MON is representing all the people of NI, why would somebody come out with such garbage BEFORE a decision was made/announced. As Abe might say, better to stay silent and be thought a ..........
I hope MON does go to the funeral, I think it would be right and appropriate (assuming she's invited of course)
No reason for MLMD to attend the funeral, she doesn't represent anyone. Any excuse for a photo op.
As I have said all along, MON should attend, she is the First Minister in waiting for all the people of Northern Ireland who are part of the UK, and it is her duty to be there. No praise necessary for doing her duty. However long it has taken her to wait for the call from Belfast to tell her what to do, it is good that she is going.
She will be delighted to be spared me calling her a hypocrite.
Will they take up their Westminster seats as a balance to the DUP
The BBC article doesn't seem to think so.
But don't expect Sinn Féin's new-found respect for royalty to be a political game changer.
Once the week of royal protocol is over, another protocol will be back at the heart of politics and parties will return to their trenches.
Fair play to them for attending.
Does this mean a softer approach in SF to the monarchy? Will they take up their Westminster seats as a balance to the DUP rather than remain completely powerless to effect change for their constituents? (and yes, that is a loaded question after bottling the Brexit votes).
One particular poster thought non attendance amounted to hypocrisy and lies, and generally letting down the people they claimed to represent.
Join the dots.
Party leaders attending a funeral is not much of a story. Why should a party earn praise for something that any other political entity wouldn't think twice about doing? Historically they have tended to draw attention to what they were not doing and why, hence all that negativity, so this is a positive I suppose.
They will never offer praise and will be doubling down.
Just read on the BBC that SF president (MLMD) and/or the Vice President (MON) are expected to attend the funeral.
Few posters will have to eat crow and stand corrected now, and heaven forbid, maybe even offer some praise to the SF leadership.
Well I would say she weighed up the possible ramifications of attending/not attending and she seems to have decided to not attend outweigh the reasons to attend.
Can't keep everyone happy blanch as I'm sure you can testify to. There'll be no votes from hardcore unionists who wouldn't want her to attend anyway, and I don't envisage nationalist people too bothered either way, republicans on the other hand probably very annoyed if she did attend.
I personally wouldn't care either way whether she went or doesn't, I don't think you do really, other than getting a dig in.
Funerals going to be televised, so whoever wants to can fill their boots. The rest of us, will carryon with our lives regardless.
O'Neill has made her choice, and I for one respect it, you should too, and then get on with life. It won't affect her or her partys polling here or the north ether way.
Yes, but Michelle is not claiming to speak for most people on this (shared) island, she is claiming to speak for all, and in particular, she is claiming to speak for all of those who are part of the United Kingdom.
I am not castigating her for non attendance, I am pointing out the hypocrisy of her words. That it happens to be the death of the queen that reveals her hypocrisy is coincidental, it would have been revealed sooner or later in relation to some other incident or event.
Typically cheap shot at a poster to claim that they are using the death of the queen to score points. Not a good look for an esteemed journalist to be stooping to that level.
Most people on this (shared) island probably could not care either way whether she goes or doesn't.
I get your agenda, castigate her for non attendance, ridicule and jeer if she does attend. I would say Michelle O'Neill will sleep soundly regardless.
You're now using the death of the queen to score points. Not a good look.
I don't think that either the Taoiseach, Tanaiste or Eamon Gilmore have claimed to represent all of the people in Northern Ireland equally. Pretty silly comparison.
Any neutral or independent commentator or journalist would quickly conclude that Michelle is acting as a partisan leader in Northern Ireland contrary to the fine words she used.
Maybe she's decided to mark the occasion in other ways than physical attendance. The rabid FF/FGers amongst us would only love for her to attend, they'd get great milage out of it I would guess, prob more so than her decision not to attend. In other words, she couldn't do right for wrong regardless.
I'm sure the Taoiseach, Tanaiste or Eamon Gilmore will attend if they so desire. The funeral will go on with or without O'Neil no matter.
Twas Michelle who claimed to represent everyone, yet she isn't going to the Queen's funeral. All words, no action, and the words are lies, pretty much sums up SF.
I think you will find a sizeable amount of the people in the north will gladly tell you Michelle O'Neill doesn't represent them.
Let those that they say do represent them attend.
The whole idea of a monarchy/, royalty is outdated mumbojumbo to me personally, but ive no issue with who wishes/doesn't wish to take part either way.
its very clear that the only one michelle o neill represents is the army council
pros at killing roya horses and old men and kids on boats
id say less than welcome at any funeral bar one for one of their sweaty little creeps in too tight white shirts and sunglasses
I have made my posts on the issue, they are there for you to read.
You haven't clarified this:
but you think nothing strange about a TD approving a personal loan for himself from taxpayers money.
Theres no method to misinterpretate that nor particular clarification needed,you have however attempted to pivot away from it,and shout down anyone pointing out,legally you have overstepped the mark there
Do you,yes or no,withdraw the entirety of the allegation there,answer very carefully and don't let bravodo or your obsession cloud your response
Thank you for your concern, but it will be clear to anyone that reads the sequence of my posting that I have clarified exactly what I am saying, and that in doing so, I have not libelled anyone. The desperation to try and tie me to my initial comments rather than the more detailed explanation is palpable but also illuminating.
This can all be cleared up by a statement from LCEF to back up Kenny's account. We are still waiting, mystified by the silence.
Literally every single poster has called for him to resign if he has done wrong.....your post smacks of paranoia
,people engaged fully with the story and expressed hopes it would lead to an end of limited liability and rich hiding behind company law to bankrupt the poor
What exact part of story,do you feel is being shut down or not teased out to its end??,people are literally pleading with you to save yourself from your own liabilous posting.....
your so used to years and years,of throwing out nonsense accusations and mud about shinners,you forgot basic rule of not target an individual
I am all for thorough reporting on this story. I don't think what you are doing is that.
The panic in here to try and shut the story down is something to behold. Makes me think there is more to come out. The word must have gone out to suppress it.
Wow, can you afford good lawyers? You should just bow out gracefully.
Let him sue me, that will end up worse for him.
Edit: And by the way, it can easily be clarified by the charity and Kenny.
I certainly wouldn’t want to see anybody in trouble, that post smacks of bravado, what would happen if there was nothing to see from your discovery, would it all be worthwhile then. If I was in your position I would withdraw gracefully, and admit you erred here (you lose nothing by admitting you got it wrong, it’s obvious to everyone anyway), but that’s just me. I’ll opt out now
At this stage not even Perry Mason and Matlock can help @blanch152
Ya mate....your so happy and confident with your posting,that you deleted passages to accuse people warning you of the trouble your making of misinterpretation of the posts
There may be ambiguity in his statement,but there's certainly none in your allegations