Honestly rogber i think any command from Putin or his inner circle to go nuclear in London or any other NATO city would be completely ignored by his generals and would mean Putin and his cronies strung up by their necks. An attack on London would basically mean an attack on Moscow in retaliation resulting in millions of dead Russians who would be family and friends of those same Russian generals. Basically it ain't happening.
Now would a chemical or tactical nuke in Ukraine be an option to a humiliated Putin, well that's a totally different question and not something i see as completely out of the realms of possibilities to a defeated Russia.
I would say russia moved alot of their troops to kherson because they thought thats where Ukraine would make the big attack but now they dont have enough troops left in the north to defend the Ukrainian blitzkrieg
these lads will be heading to Kupiansk.
I don't see any Ukraine or Russian sources suggesting this. Right now everything seems to be localised to the Kharkiv region.
Thats harsh and cynical… possibly correct 😅
hmmm I dunno now. The lads retreating may be fairly peeved and want to take some kind of revenge. Imagine thousands of troops returning to the Kremlin. Could get real ugly real fast.
Yes all their equipment,ammo,tanks,armoured vehicles
And also a major railway hub
Quite a reward
Following the Russian collapse after being caught sleeping I’ve finally figured out what the Z they use on vehicles stands for. Zzzzzzzzz
Putin has two choices 1.) continue to be routed, which will be hugely embarrassing, until Ukraine reach all their objectives.
2.) state he is pulling his troops out because [insert BS reason re Nazi’s etc] objective has been completed.
The latter I think gives himself his best chance to survive as 🤴of Russia.
Wow and that will just be troops. Think of the C&C logistical personnel I mean it was a major hub.
True,i dont think the russians wants another Stalingrad
Yes so true and pretty much the same with Covid.
Wouldn't report a single bit of positive news.
I guess misery sells.
Looks like Ukraine is making great gains,more cities liberated
And Russian ministry of defence
Even BBC are confirming Kupiansk.
Hopefully it ends peacefully and the 10,000 men show common sense and surrender - nobody wants to see people dying.
Estimate is 10k+ troops,remember they all retreated back to Izium
Wonder if this ties in with information about risings in Mariupol and something after happening in Melitopol.
It's uncomfirmed and I've been stung before with info. But maybe Russian forces are abandoning some areas so it's easy for locals to reclaim?
Besides name calling do you have a rebuttal to the photos and quotes attributed to him? If not you're proving the voluntary deafness argument.
It's not just her saying it.
Russian Ministry of Defence are not reporting any of the big setbacks in their daily briefing.
It seems though the Russian public are well aware things are going badly - the mood on the TV propaganda shows has been pretty downbeat for the last two or three days.
Lots of reports now of Russians abandoning positions all over Ukraine. Some reports may not be true but there seem to be signs of a total Russian collapse.
Ok then, there are 10k men standing about in Izyum. Knock yourself out with that idea.
Seen reports in Twitter via Reddit or Partisan uprisings in Mariupol and something else going on in Melitopol. Anyone else come across anything?
Yeah fair point. Maybe not. In the back of my mind is the scenario that the Russians got themselves into in Kyiv where they stretched their supply lines and ended up stalling. They were fighting an undermatched but well disciplined opposition though. Also they were on foreign land.
Would they need a breather though. They are taking huge territory without a significant fight so they are not being depleted. Yes they have to consider logistics but the Russians don’t look capable of interfering with that.
If anyone is accessing UK media and wondering why it’s mostly about their mostly loved, long lived head of state and not Ukraine they need to cop on.
Even in the UK media they are reporting Ukraine taking Russia by surprise or combining both reporting Ukraine artillery units writing Queen Elizabeth messages on their ordinance.
Maybe that atomic bomb they suggested for London back in spring is being kept for September 19. Wipe out probably the entire Western leadership in one go.
In any case, looking through today's Irish Times, I see one relatively short article about the war itself and Ukrainian gains, and several long articles linking the war to energy price rises and panic in the government. Just shows how the focus is shifting as autumn and heating season looms
The Queen dying was always going to dominate the news cycle for around 10 days to two weeks.
To be honest, I don't think the Ukrainians will be too worried about this. Once the funeral is out of the way, attention will quickly switch back to the war again (and there's been no let up in aid....Anthony Blinken was in Kyiv yesterday).
Actually no, those cities are a long way off still
There will be no pushback imo. The Russian army is collapsing right before our eyes. They are a pathetic farce and all the talk of them taking Poland/Finland at some stage has been absolute tripe. The whole conflict has exposed them too the world as a laughing stock and tbh pictures of their commanders/pilots when captured expose this as iv'e seen fitter guys down Ladbrooks after a feed of pints. It's just a pity they have nukes as i'd love to see Ukraine push on and raise the flag over red square.
I would say possibly those cities in Luhansk that they lost over the summer - Sieverdonestk, Lyman and Lysychansk.
They might take a breather though to shore this territory that they have liberated.
I saw an article on the BBC site regarding the Queen title "This is the moment history stops".
Well it certainly hasn't stopped in Ukraine!