According to the article, the charity was never paid back, his company went bust.
Is this now the second example of a SF TD not paying a charity?
How low can you get?
Of all the people....Mattie 'terror to bigots' Kenny (always smirk,noone picked this up in media),seems like someone to dot the I's and cross his t's,
If he's done wrong,he should apologize, resign and reseek his electoral mandate at a by-election
(1) The failure to disclose the loan in the accounts is a serious breach of charity regulation
(2) The actual loan itself may be a breach of charity regulation, if it involved an interest rate lower than the market rate.
(3) According to the article, the loan does not appear to have been repaid 10 years later, which is very strange.
(4) It is taxpayers money
Thank you for pointing this out. This is quite possibly the most serious allegation against a TD in recent times. Trustees of a charity are not allowed profit from their links with a charity.
There are potential criminal penalties, including jail time for a breach of the Charities Act. Not saying that this falls under that category, but the regulations seem clear.
It was linked as an example of the ditch reporting against SF to show they weren't biased, but sounds like it failed on that count.
Can you explain to me what's wrong
Ahh yeah, nothing wrong with that. Sure it's SF.....
I'm not sure what action Sinn Fein should be taking against Martin Kenny, I presume the article below is what you're referring to. What did Martin Kenny do wrong, was he excluded from applying for a loan from LCEF, was he involved in the decision to grant the loan, has he made the required repayments, what has he done wrong.
I don't know how bodies like the LCEF work but I know for example if you are a director of a Credit Union you are well entitled to get a loan from that Credit Union but must exclude yourself from the meeting while your fellow directors are making the decision on your loan application.
Is this different
A Sinn Féin TD received a loan from a charity while he was serving as one of its directors. The deputy said he was not involved in the decision to approve the loan.
Sinn Féin's Martin Kenny used his family home as security for the €20,000 loan to his company according to Land Registry records seen by The Ditch. The guarantee is still registered as a burden on the property’s folio – usually indicating a loan has not been fully repaid.
Charity directors “may not profit from carrying out their duties as a charity trustee… or receive other benefits”, according to the Charities Regulator.
Sligo–Leitrim TD Martin Kenny served as a councillor with Leitrim County Council from 2001 until his election to the Dáil in 2016. He is Sinn Féin’s spokesperson for justice and equality and a member of the Oireachtas committee on justice.
In December 2009 he was appointed a director of the Leitrim County Enterprise Fund (LCEF) and served on the registered charity’s board until September 2015.
The LCEF, the charity says, “aims to assist and support small- and medium-sized enterprises in job creation by offering low-interest loans”.
Kenny incorporated boiler-servicing company Jack Frost Freeze Prevention Systems Limited in June 2011. He and his wife were both directors of the company and each held 50 percent of its shares.
Kenny’s firm received a €20,000 loan from LCEF less than a year later. At the time Kenny was a director of the charity, which did not disclose the loan in its 2012 accounts.
In a statement to The Ditch, Kenny said “The company did get assistance from the County Enterprise Fund and I made sure not to be part of any decision around the company's application.
“Jack Frost Freeze Prevention Systems Ltd was a company that unfortunately went out of business and stopped trading in early 2013 and was liquidated toward the end of 2013, at which stage my directorship ended.”
LCEF declined to comment.
What the hell has that got to do with Phoenix magazine? Stop fuucking deflecting. An Poblacht is a republican paper that will spout Irish republican views and values. So, if it has no bylines who cares as you already know what views you will get.
Seemingly she's to be replaced by head of parachute regiment aswell.
Yes they can, this is a SF thread if I read it correctly.
Strange I don't see the over the top reaction on twitter when any of these stories involve a SF TD. It is almost as like all the fake accounts have no interest in shining a light onto SF
What action have SF taken against Martin Kenny?
😂
Nail on head 👍️
An Poblacht?
didnt take long for the new accounts to surface ,after the lads were banned ,
as predicted
Having no hack in the byline means you can read an article without getting some pre bias because it might be written by a journalist you hate.
Having written for Phoenix having no byline by my story is no big deal. I had a byline in the Journal but getting a story in the Phoenix is much more satisfying. It’s a magazine I grew up with and was part of my childhood alongside Magil.
Absolutely correct, that is what I posted before. And I will say again, anybody with a passable understanding of the English language should be capable of reading and understanding the article, can you understand it. My opinion on what he said is of absolutely no significance or relevance to understanding that simple bit of English
Above is what you posted before, I am asking for you to explain so we can all grasp what he said. Simple question. Not sure why you have 5-6 posts now without giving your opinion on what he said.
Anyway time to move on.
Did you read it, is it difficult to understand what he is saying, if you are challenged on it I'm certainly not going to be the one explaining basic English to you.
Looks like the lad doesn’t understand it himself.
Very keen not to go down that road it seems to this poster.
Still waiting for that explanation :-)
You struggling to understand what Eoin was talking about?
As I said it’s a disgrace in the first place that a political party has an online mob in the first place
I wouldn't have you down as a wit, but fair play that is funny
Why would I know what is sent to SF supporters?
Even worse they have to be reminded on a monthly basis and we still see the disgusting carry on online from the mob.
SF have made a huge hole for themselves with encouraging these people, now they need to fix it.
As I said, its a disgrace SF have encouraged this type of behaviour online for years and I have no idea why they think sending out an email will suddenly stop this mob online.
As I said it’s a disgrace in the first place that a political party has an online mob in the first place, worse they have to be told to have some cop on
But as I said that’s impossible after been told for years it’s a free for all
Most people really have moved on from the dusty mouldy book you're quoting. As they say if you've nothing good to say best to say nothing at all.
Ahh yes trolling someone is always the answer....
It's a disgrace that a political party has to send out this type of email to so called supporters, based on the reaction on social media it seems the majority haven't checked their emails.
I suppose what do SF expect? can flip a switch on/off with these people.
I was more interested in the poster giving their interpretation. To me it sounded like Eoin wasn't even sure what he was saying himself. Even the presenter was getting bored with him going around in circles. It was like he was given a list of things to say and no matter what the question was he was going to say that
That bloke Gave the weekend singing with the green brigade at the Celtic v rangers/servco match,now he's hiding behind Martin McGuiness to send condolences to the queen
Difficult to imagine he's not setting himself up,to be trolled/reefed for being a hypocrite