So the balls-up has started since last night which makes Fairview from clontarf to Edges corner a single lane with bollards down the centre.
This will be a permanent feature and works will take 21 months.
Plans change. Its for the greater good.
People like you with this ridiculous attitude is why nothing gets built in this country and then the same whingers are the first to moan about having nowhere to live, poor infrastructure, etc.
You have to break eggs to make an omelette is the best analogy here.
Wait till Joe hears they’re replacing the wall
Scarleh for him
I'd say he already knew it was going to rebuilt. He just wanted to build up some outrage.
you want to see the the clowns they have running the traffic management in north strand tonight. Duffys Circus would do a better job. I’m all for the greater good but lantern Jaysis.
There's a stop go system in place at the Five Lamps, isn't there?
And what a stop go it is. They have the right lane closed coming down Portland row for absolutely no reason. So all the traffic looking to go straight down Seville place or right on to Amiens street is now one lane. The tail backs are brutal from it.
Must be great eyesight and insight you have to be able to say that there is absolutely no reason for their approach from a passing glance.
I'd imagine it was done to bring it down to a single land so it would make their job easier to manage the traffic but it just causes more unnecessary delays. Surely they can do a better job on the only route into amien street and surrounding areas.
You would think they might have learned from the mess they made at the Alfie Byrne. 'Road Control' indeed.
Having been walking quite often in this area recently, this traffic system is largely being ignored and people just proceed along Amiens st to the 5 lamps as normal.
As to the pulling of bus stops , this is happening a lot without consultation at the moment, my old 15 route stop in Knocklyon got removed with no information or warning in people's doors; parents were not entirely happy as it means a longer walk.
I wouldn't say largely ignored, but there are drivers who will chance it, as they know that the odds of it being enforced by the Gardai are slim.
Not my observation based on the few times in the last week I've been this way. There will always be a few who will chance it but most people are going through Fariview Strand as required. That's why Fairview was at a crawl when I came though it on a bus at 07:10 last Thursday!
Honestly what I don't get about the road closure is why it's 24/7. That feels completely unncessary. Realistically it should be 7am-7pm and open during the evening/nightime when there isn't as much pressure on traffic.
Having been in charge of roadworks in Dublin City they have to bring the traffic to a single lane. The one time my traffic management tried to keep traffic open in two lanes it was quickly stopped by DCC and brought back to one lane.
And just so everyone here knows when I am doing roadworks the safety of the men working for me and the safety of pedestrians is my top priority. The length of the tailback of traffic is last. Dublin City council and the Guards have no problem with this. And by 9.00 and sometimes earlier the delays are only minutes.
Good to know that it's a DCC decision and not the lads doing the work. As a matter of interest is there anything wrong with keeping two lanes open?
If there isn’t as much pressure on traffic off-peak, what’s the benefit in re-opening the road? Especially since that would probably involve filling any open trenches, removing machinery and charging all the traffic cones and road signs.
This guy walked the length of the works by the park in Fairview today. No idea why he didn't just cross onto the path.
Is that Bono?
The road isn't closed. It's open all the time. It's just restricted to one lane which is only for buses, taxis and motorcycles on a 24/7 basis. I'm saying take that back to a 12 hour 7-7 restriction instead and allow all traffic to use it outside peak hours.
I'd imagine part of the issue with doing that is the sense of entitlement that drivers have. Once they can drive it from 7 to 7, they'll be far more likely to break it at the other times, so they need to be kept off the road at all times.
Oh FFS!
There's been a marked uptick in drivers breaking red lights, speeding, and using the bus lane since the works began. If drivers are given an inch, they'll take a mile.
Firstly, motorbikes aren't allowed in bus lanes but let's not get bogged down with that.
Why should it be open to cars 24/7? Why should any bus lanes not be open 24/7 for that matter? Bus services are now running 24/7 so we should keep the bus lanes open for them. People moan that bus services are slow and then when you do something to improve their passage, some people moan because they want to use their cars there.
I think you are now demonstrating the point being made by @Citizen Six
Can you give one good reason why this bus lane should be open to drivers at certain times so that inbound drivers don't have to take a short detour?
What's the point having a 24/7 bus lane on the North Strand if there isn't even going to be a bus stop on it...
I wasnt aware that the bus stops were removed. Can you clarify which ones aren't there anymore?
Anyhow, there are several 24/7 bus lanes around Dublin, some without stops. Those roads work fine though.
DCC announced last week the permanent removal of 7x bus stops along the C2CC route including the 2 main bus stops in the heart of North Strand (617 and 4384). This was not in the planning approval and even a document issued by DCC in March 2022 included all current bus stops.
They haven't provided any justification for this, although I see on the link below, they have updated to say it is based providing a bus stop within 3-5minutes walk of residents in the catchment. This is not true as a significant portion of North Strand residents will now be 6-7minutes walk. That doesn't consider the elderly or other mobility challenged members of the community who will have to trudge to the top of the hill, over the canal and halfway to the Five Lamps to catch a bus to Talbot Street. More like a 10-12minute walk.
"DCC announced last week the permanent removal of 7x bus stops along the C2CC route" - do the bus companies and/or TFI have any say in this ?
Are they gone or planned to be removed? My understanding was that so far it's just the plan.
I don't believe anybody was seriously consulted about these decisions. I agree there are too many bus stops along this route. 3 inbound stops along Fairview Park is unnecessary given the lower density of housing here, so removal of 1 is fine.
The removal of 1 inbound stop along Amiens Street makes sense, no need for 2 stops here. However, it is extremely short sighted to remove the stop next to Preston Street, at the proposed new entrance to Connolly.
As for my main issue, the removal of stops in North Strand, they have justified on their webpage the following
"The bus stop spacing was prepared based on a review of international best practice taking account of the geometric constraints on the street and the level of demand at each location."
.... however they haven't actually provided any data or evidence whatsoever, over and above this statement, to back up their claim. Their claim of a 3-5 minute walk is also categorically untrue.
This is not just about North Strand. What happens when Bus Connects start work on the core bus corridors? Do DCC get to move and remove bus stops, however they please, without any consultation or explanation to the communities affected?
No they are still there. Not sure when exactly they 'plan' to remove.
No news on the guarantee that the traffic restrictions would be removed then @Larbre34 ?