Exactly and hence the materials used in different countries..
Here it is and it's been there over 25 years.
https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.8790454,-9.3226781,3a,75y,19.75h,80.23t/data=!3m7!1e1!3m5!1s9d-P59qazgD0BwQ0dmKrPQ!2e0!6shttps:%2F%2Fstreetviewpixels-pa.googleapis.com%2Fv1%2Fthumbnail%3Fpanoid%3D9d-P59qazgD0BwQ0dmKrPQ%26cb_client%3Dmaps_sv.tactile.gps%26w%3D203%26h%3D100%26yaw%3D351.13342%26pitch%3D0%26thumbfov%3D100!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en
Also you can have a wooden house made out of logs here there is one in the hills of Castlebar and it's there over 25 years at this stage. They are both foreign and dentists and they imported the materials from what ever country they are from.
The reason we do not have log houses is because of what I said above we do not have enough forests with good wood. The forests you mostly see here are crap ever green and that wood is sh*t.
We also do not have wood at an abundance like they do in all those countries.
Now, I don't know if brick would hold up better but in North America those wood houses don't really hold up against hurricanes and tornadoes.
If we lose the Gulf Stream we might well find the temperatures are cold enough for timber clad houses!
We are not cold enough, the cold removes the moisture from the air.
It has science to back it up and nothing cultural. The vikings even figured it out hence we don’t have traditional Viking buildings here. Go to these countries and you will feel their rain and winds. It literally isn’t the same as here and we have very moist air. The winds are dry unlike here so the wood is helped where as here the wet air is driven into the wood causing it to rot. Ireland is damp not cold with snow
I think rain is only one of the issues with wood. Wooden houses are the norm in Canada and America. I remember being told by an architect that our climate is unsuitable for wood due to the dampness in our air. In winter Canada and America have crisp cold air where we have damp cold air.
lads,
our builders couldn't even be arsed to make concrete blocks that wouldn't disintegrate after a few years, what do you think they would do with wooden houses?
But what about the Faroe Islands, and Iceland? Wet and stormy there, but still an overwhelming use of timber for domestic construction. I get your point about Sweden, but western Norway is one of the wettest places in the world, outside of the tropics. Three times what Donegal gets (on average). I wouldn't forget about our Canadian Atlantic island cousins either, Newfoundland has more rain than Donegal on average, (and the odd hurricane) and yet they build timber houses there too.
It just feels more cultural than environmental the reason for not using timber. And look at the home grown solution which gave rise to the pyrite scandal?!
It's something that is drilled into our conciseness from the moment we can talk. Stone is better than Wood is better than straw. Ask any 3 little pigs. 🐷🐷🐷
I love the realtor's name - Johnny Hatem Jr :D
Probably just for emergency use? And washing certain parts after....
How does that qualify as a domestic dwelling? Showroom/hotel/exhibition piece? How many staff would you need to occupy that kitchen, and how many to look after the building/grounds/etc?
I have a solution dig a big hole in a bog and build your wooden house in the hole and then fill it all in. Should last for centuries then. 🤣
I read a piece in an architectural magazine about this. The moisture in the air in Ireland is different to Scandinavia, where almost every everything is wood. Droplets are finer, it’s damper, and it’s impossible to adequately protect wood even using the treatments and types of wood they use in Scandinavia. It degrades very fast no matter what you do
And I guess it makes sense when you think about old ruined buildings. There’d a hundred year old wooden ruin in Sweden when in Ireland anything wood would have long disintegrated into nothing.
The fruits of the Yankee candle empire
https://robbreport.com/shelter/homes-for-sale/massachusetts-mansion-disneyland-1234745211/
Wow! The oval office is a nice touch, any connection to the Kennedys?
This is something else entirely.
https://www.elliman.com/massachusetts/sales/detail/595-l-658-41_de14014/113-juggler-meadow-leverett-ma-01054
I had to Google it, must be the longest R.N. dates I've seen.
Great few years for stonemasons though, until 1900 rolled around.
Wow... Seriously atmospheric. Imagine though what it was like in its heyday. Love that stone lion... and the caravan is grand.
And no sitting up in bed..
Neat!
It gives me cult vibes
Holy mother of Jaysus!
That interior is awful. What's with the wallpaper-patterned surface up high in the kitchen (is it formica or something?)? And the big uncomfy looking sofas/chairs lined up in front of the telly! And the bed under the sloping roof - you wouldn't want to sit up too quick in the morning.....
The outside doesn't exactly look a picture either, something very odd about the whole place.
The end section (at the top of the plan) looks as though one bedroom is accessed through another bedroom, which isn't very handy. The other end of the building appears to have been a separate 4 room house, there may have been one of those narrow ladder type staircases out of one of the two downstairs rooms. The sensible solution would be to turn that very narrow bedroom beside the stairs into a corridor to the first bedroom with an ensuite/dressing room in the end room. Overall its not very usefully laid out anyway.
I'd love to have a look round and sort it out!
Am I missing something here? 65 acres of land down that way is worth €800k any day of the week I would have thought. You could sell the land and get the house and t'mill for free or make cash already?
No pics of the inside of the house even though the doors are open. That's odd. And some of the upstairs rooms are absolutely tiny. All very strange.
I find the pics of the statues of the dogs very moving and very poignant. They've been made to order, obviously as a reminder of a previous owners' favourite pets. No sign of what their names were. First job would be to give them a clean. (Pics 25, 51, 52, )
The plans must be wrong.
There is a photo of the bridge that very clearly shows it was built in 1837, but the EA offers an approximation of the date?!
Anyway its an amazing property, it would be lovely to have the money, reason and ability to restore it, you would have to throw at least a million at it to get anywhere at all with it. Just researching its history would be fascinating.