Fair play lads. Vouge and Spencer will have serious competition for baby related content.
His sister is the surrogate so hardly applicable... In fact the remaining outraged posters seem to have questionable motivations in their declarations.
Talking about surrogacy in general, the overwhelming majority of which involves rich white people buying poor peoples children
So they have a daughter, Blake Maria Rose Dowling Gourounlian born on Thursday weighing 7lbs 4oz.
What’s with these fooking pretentious names!
So that childs aunt gave birth to her and one of the fathers is the real father and the other is just a stepfather? I wonder will she want to know who her mother is, or will she just call her aunt "Mam"?
Will they go back looking to the Dowlings sister for a sibling?
Sure you cant leave her an only child now.......maybe they could buy one off a Ukrainian that needs accommodation here?
RTE would be all over that "modern family"....
Where?
Blake is a regular name
Maria is an extremely popular name as is Rose
Dowling is Brian's surname
Gourounlian is Arthur's surname.
Almost boringly traditional.
But sure some homophobes will cling at straws to get a dig in
What has homophobia to do with it?
It’s always a happy event to see a healthy child enter the world.
I just hope they respect the baby girl’s privacy and ensure that she has a private, secure childhood away from the glare of cameras. Don’t use her as a tool for publicity.
Too late and that carefully posed picture makes it look like Brian was after giving birth himself.
Well they are making a doc series with Virgin Media, so that won’t happen
I agree 👍.
These two guys love media attention though. I hope they get some sense and keep the little one out of the limelight and social media.
This is Ireland and they're not the royal family, give it 6 months and they'll be back to being nobodies apart from an odd mention here and there
I hope the sister makes a full recovery both physically and emotionally after the birth.
It wasn’t until after having my own babies that I realised how common birth injuries and birth trauma are for women. She risked her future health to carry that baby. It’s easy to look at the happy couple and think isn’t surrogacy lovely, however surrogacy isn’t all rainbows and unicorns. I think it’s important that prospective parents and surrogates go into the process with their eyes wide open to potential risks to the woman carrying the baby.
Best of luck to everyone involved here. This baby like every child deserves a loving home environment, which is hopefully what she has.
This is Ireland. We're just as obsessed with C-list celebrities as anyone else. Child will be growing up in fishbowl.
If the Dads had any sense, they'd back away from the media limelight now and raise their kid in a more private environment.
Never a good thing.
With no real surrogacy laws in Ireland, what happens now? Does the mother put the child up for adoption and Brian and Arthur become the parents?
I feel odd about this and I wouldn't usually. I don't have strong feelings for or against surrogacy and I'm absolutely supportive of gay parents.
Maybe it's that Brian mentioned they don't know the egg donor or even seen a photo of her. That's part of the little girl's story, her genetics. Surely it would be important to have information?
I also think that sometimes the need and even desperation for a child can make it all about you. So no regard is given to how and if you can truly give a child everything they need, nurture and care for them properly. Think about the potential impact your decisions will have on the child for example sperm donor, adoption, surrogacy etc.
Either Brian or Arthur is the biological parent. They haven't disclosed which one. The egg came from a donor and Brian's sister carried the baby.
One would hope it isn't Brian's, something slightly incestuous about carrying your own kins child.
Yes I'd say Arthur is the biological dad.
Yes I remember a similar story on Tommy Tiernan and that got a more complex because the mother was married to another man and this meant he had to give the right to be a guardian. Lack of legislation and hope it all goes away is no way to deal with it here.
This poor child is already teed up for RTE documentary...it wont be long before they will haul the child out on Ireland AM or Xpose etc....all for publicity....
I've no issue with two members of the same sex starting a family. Ya sometime the kid might turn out a tad eccentric but that happens with any type of family. The only issue is people who raise there kids to be bullies and not accepting of others.
They are kids born into terrible backgrounds, who are unwanted, uncared for, abused you name it and I think this is a cause for concern and not two people starting a family in a different way.
I find Brian fairly tough going, I wouldn't follow him online, etc. Arthur seems fair enough from what I've seen of him.
Best of Luck to them!
Good luck to them both.
However, they better not use this child to gain more media attention for themselves…people are fickle and this will turn against them if they do.
I’m sure this baby will be spoilt beyond belief…..
Baby should be loved and well looked after ......... as long as it keeps generating clicks and likes. Not a day old and already plastered all over the papers. A photo shoot, hair, make-up, lighting and edited content was all planned and organised for this. Can't really blame the lads. It's their business I guess. It's the saps that lap up this celebrity drivel I pity.
Poor innocent child.
Hope the sister is ok too.
Hormones will hit.Milk will come in.She will have to recover from the birth without the hormone "hit" of holding or feeding a baby.
I hope she gets some support if needed.
How do you mean 'hormone hit' ? Is it like everything is sore and you're emotional but when you hold or feed your baby the pain and fears melt away? If so then how come lots of women speak about not experiencing a rush of love immediately? I just curious about this 🙂
I agreed with you up until the last sentence.
Why do ppl feel the need to be so extreme in their judgements these days.
i disapprove of this whole thing.
I cant elaborate more cos beasty will be along do what beasty does best