What do you drive which has mud guards included?
You'd wonder why people would bother coming into a thread dedicated to a certain type of car that they have no intention of ever buying....🤨
What's the etiquette at destination chargers if you're not a guest of the hotel or using the facility where the charger is based? Rarely charge in public but just curious to know.
The general consensus is that you should be a paying customer in some way or another...
We've stayed in hotels and used the destination chargers, and we've stopped off for food at other hotels/restaurants and used the destination chargers..
I wouldn't however rock up to a place, plug in and then feck off somewhere else, as that would be bad form.
If you filter this map to show only Tesla Destination Chargers, and select each one, you'll see teh details for them.... i.e. mainly customer only...
Also, here's a thread;
perfect, thanks for that. handy to stop in at one of the locations for some lunch and a few kWh.
How does the car decide who is driving?
My OH will have a very different driver profile than me. Seating position being one where she would have the back rest vertical, the seat closer to the front and zero lumbar support. I tend to have the seat reclined, far back and I need lumbar support.
If we are travelling anywhere, I normally drive, but she might be first to approach and enter the car. In the Leaf, its a minor inconvenience where we sometimes need to disconnect a phone and connect the drivers phone, but in a Tesla, there is a driver profile. How do other owners overcome this?
You just tap your name on the screen to bring up the driver profiles, and select the other drivers profile.
That'll work.
You can do better. You can cater for when Tesla detects two people with phone keys in the same car. To make one of them a priority so that if car detects 2 it sets one as priority.
https://youtu.be/TjC33f1yCJA
We have this situation and the car knows who is in the right side. If she drove previously but now she opens the left side door nothing happens. When I open the right side the car switches profiles and seats start moving. For that you need to link to key to the driver profile. From the next update the driver profile can be in the cloud so you seat position and other settings would be the same for all cars you have access to.
https://www.tesla.com/ownersmanual/model3/en_jo/GUID-A2D0403E-3DAC-4695-A4E6-DC875F4DEDC3.html
That's exactly what I was hoping would be the case...as long as I can still manually select another driver profile while in the car without it then defaulting to the priority profile while I was still in the car. I'll be using the car most because it will be my commuter car.
They did do an update a while back that made it easier for teh car to determine who was getting in and driving it....
as previously anytime my OH was driving, I'd get in and after inputting the Pin to Drive Code, and tapping teh brake pedal, it would activate her profile, and squash me up towards the steering wheel, but that doesn't happen anymore!!
Thats teh beauty of these cars, if there is an issue or a function that it's great, they can fix it...
Will be picking my car up on the 7th.
I'm about to order the jack pucks, air compressor and puncture repair kit. Do you need to buy a jack aswell or is one of these included in the car, or should I be able to do a repair/ re inflate and drive to a tyre centre without jacking?
No Jack with the car.
Same as the other brands unfortunately, BMW etc
Thanks. Hope you don't mind me asking have you bought one or what have you got for in the event of a flat tyre?
I’ve had a trolley jack for 20 odd years but keep it at home.
I keep a little ciggy lighter compressor in the boot with a tyre plug kit.
That update is Live, got it during the week
So. I want to buy a Black Model 3 with 19” wheels.
BUT! I can only add one of these options before losing the SEAI grant. Can I just add the Black upgrade with standard 18” Aeros and buy the 19” wheels after I get the car?
So I suppose my question is, are the genuine 19” wheels for sale at all. I can’t see them as an option in the Tesla store?
Wife was out in portlaoise last night with some friends. One of them had come down from Dublin in an ID3. She left Dublin on 86% battery and got to portlaoise on 50%. She was worried about the drive home (range anxiety was her actual words). It was her husband's car and she very rarely drives it. I told her not to worry as she had plenty spare and just maybe ease up on the accelerator on the way home.
I left Dublin on 92%. Went to ballybrittas to drop the kids of to the mother in law's. I then drove into portlaoise and dropped herself off. Drove back to ballybrittas and then back to portlaoise to collect her later last night then back to ballybrittas. Back to Dublin this afternoon and I'm home with 38%. 120 on the motorway and the car was full with kids bags, dog, camping gear (don't ask) and various extra junk.
The M3 efficiency is really good.
Why not wait until you get your car and then decide if you still want them. The 18" that come as standard give a more comfortable ride and will also help with range .
Very rare to see the 19” for sale in Ireland. I have only seen maybe one set in the last few years unfortunately.
Ride quality is very similar between the 18” and 19”.
There are turbine wheel aero wheel options available from likes of AliExpress if that helps your decision process…
Ok thanks. Strange you can’t buy them direct from Tesla?
I’m aware 3rd party knock offs etc. just would really like to buy the genuine article if I could.
I'd just stick with the 18 if I was you, I know it's annoying but the grant is worth more than those wheels. What would you do with old wheels with brand new tyres and not even taking in the factory tracking is done on 18 inch wheels so that would have to be sorted too.
Tracking is not required for new wheels.
Maybe I'm not using the correct terminology but I'm sure the geometry would be off by the larger wheels surely. Wouldn't the car have been setup in the factory for the 18 inch wheels.
You can alter the wheel size in the Tesla touch screen
The suspension and tracking is set up to be straight. You can then add the wheels of your choice. The 18” set up is the same as the 19” set up
The wheels and tyres themselves need to be balanced separately off the car though.
But essentially, once the alignment/tracking is done on the car itself, you can change the wheels as often as you like.
Get the white car with the 19” wheels, and get the car wrapped….
Yes! I have considered this but feel the white on the insides of the doors would send my OCD over the edge.