Think I heard Jonathan Healy, that vacant plank, on OTB earlier this week. If he's Eoin's replacement, then they're in BIG trouble.
Jesus that is decent. I take it back so. Fair play to him.
Parkinson probably doing almost aswell as second captains. 3800 Patreons and less sharing. Marching into a niche could also be called staying in your lane. Parkinson wasn’t good on any sport but GAA or from my point of view if he’s good at anything it’s GAA.
Joe on OTB was fairly kind towards them in an interview in the last couple of years. Think he was talking about how he became an anchor on the show due to their departure, so he probably views it in a positive light.
In relation to Gers wedding that sort of thing happens to colleagues all the time. People you work with go to your wedding but once they leave work you never hear from them again.
Would love a 30 for 30 style documentary on it one day but wouldn't be for years while everyone is still working.
Parkinson made a mess of that. He had potential to be a cross platform personality, marched himself into a niche instead.
I heard that bit this morning. It sounded like Eoin was referring to a different departure, who I assume was Colm Parkinson?
And there was a big spread in the Sunday Independent a few years ago where Ger mentioned that they aren't friends any more, but sounds like natural drift when you're not working and not so much bad blood...
Ger said on his appearance on The Irish man abroad that the lads had all being at his wedding and now they no longer spoke. Doubt there’s much bad blood, just the way it is.
Jaysus. That's mental!!
Does anyone know how are relations with Ger Gilroy and the SC lads nowadays?
Eoin Sheahan finishing in OTB today and said OTB had survived and thrived after departures in the past and Ger ribbed him that he was firing shots at SC on his way out the door.
PS in other rival podcast verbal broadsides I suppose the lads don't listen to Dunphy anymore, but FYI Chippy Brady agrees with Ken on Alexander Arnold to midfield obvs, Brady didn't reference that anyone else has suggested it and I am aware Ken is not the only one to have said it.
Agreed
Hopefully. Because it will also mean the end of your obsession with Kens obsession with Ronaldo.
I remember when I heard him first on a podcast I thought it was some Irish fella. Only to find out after that he was Norwegian.
Hopefully Ronaldo is gone on Thursday, Ken seems to be obessed with him of late. How is that someone mentioned him on the lex fridman podcast worthy of news/discussion.
Apparently Lars wife is Irish hench the Irish twang to his accent.
He was on one of the live shows recently. Really good. Hope they bring him back regularly
Always enjoy Lars on the Guardian pod, is this his first time on Second Captains?
Fine Irish accent on that Norwegian lad.
He interrupted him a few times with jokey comments and Eoin did at another stage, which actually slightly annoyed me, could see why Ken might have been a bit annoyed too
Lars is excellent. More Lars please.
Also, was Ken really fed up of Murph today? Murph was going on about something to Ken and Ken just let out a huge sigh and then continued talking
Netflix
netflix
As Ken said though, Paola Futre comes across as some character! Worth meeting for a couple of pints with him I'd say.
Netflix I think
Where can I watch it, EJ69?
That Figo documentry Ken was talking about is excellent. Florentino Pérez wouldn't be out of place in Gomorrah/ is a serious operator.
They be on the radio on Saturdays these days - personally I find the format and style getting a bit jaded. Little difference from week to week.
Aer lingus would have to pay them or sort out flights for them to do that. I presume they get a deal with aer lingus for all the shout outs they do during those trips.
Really? I don't think they'd have him on to preview what is essentially a novelty event.
I am a tiny bit surprised they haven't had US Murph on to talk about the College NFL game tomorrow, since every time he's over they mention Aer Lingus a million time and they're heavily involved in this.
Plus I know he's big on college football, and frankly I want to hear about it since I'm going and know f*ck all the teams involved.
Very much enjoyed Ken's dramatic reading of Conte and Tuchel's statements.