Yeah fair argument. I hope for his sake that he is playing a character though. If he goes around all the time with that kind of banter I’d slightly pity those that have to spend a lot of time with him. I know that’s harsh but Jesus it ain’t for me.
I know from living abroad that that kind of Irish humour might not be greeted by the Italians with the greatest of warmth if they heard it. Continental Europeans wouldn’t quite understand that paddywhackery style of humour.
personally speaking I’d much rather hear about the amount of support the lads get in grants from Irish sports bodies. It would be the same for kellie Harrington. I suspect we are a horror show when it comes to supporting international grade athletes but it’s not something the media pursue. The media pursue the aren’t we great with little Ireland beating the big boys. Fcuk that attitude personally.
I can see Murph's point but Paul just seems like he is having the craic doing these interviews. I'd rather him be like that compared to the boring clichéd interviews we typically see
Is this their first time recording in person properly since the pando? Mad if it is, there was no discernable quality difference (I'm sure if you went back to match 2020 you'd spot it...)
Enjoyed the Heather O'Reilly interview, even if she pronounced her club as Shelhorn for some reason
Which episode was Murph talking about Paul O'Donovan?
2nd show yesterday.
The non football one from yesterday. Around halfway through
I'd like if they brought Heather O'Reilly on again. Easy flowing chatter. A funny and interesting person.
Yeah, she was really great
The one big bonus of them being back in the studio together is they won't have to add hot keys to the recording after the fact. So you'll get a natural reaction to them from the lads as they hear them together.
Id be happy if they just stopped all hot keys.
Let it flow.
I was listening to the free Monday football show as im not a subscriber and Ken Early must have waffled on for 5 minutes about some film where two men (Oliver Reed being one) removed their clothes beside a fire and started to wrestle in the nip. I think he was in some way comparing it to the Chelsea v Totteham game but i got the feeling Ken was trying to be a little too clever as it sounded like verbal diarrhea to me.
Doesn't sound like the show is for you.
The film was "Women In Love". Alan Bates was the other wrestler. Oliver Reed had the bigger mickey. I imagine Conte's is considerably bigger than Tuchel's.
I enjoy it. Listening to it a long time. Soccer and GAA would be my interests so Oisin McConville and Paul Flynn and Miguel Delaney, Dion Fanning and Jonathon Wilson are all very good. So are the three hosts. Just found that spiel by Ken to be nonsense on Monday.
It's not an image that would enter my mind thankfully.
It was absolute nonsense but that's one of the best things about the podcast.
Are you comfortable with your sexuality?
I remember hearing them for the first time back in 06 on Newstalk. I'd just turned on the radio and some lad - Ken - was going through a complex and laughably overwrought analogy between a polar bear struggling to survive as the ice caps melted and some facet of the latest in the football of the day.
These guys are great, I thought.
They were giddy at times today. Being able to talk over each other and interrupt naturally is much easier to listen to than skype polite awkwardness.
Was that the time he said (it wasn't, but any excuse to mention) that we'd all accept global warming if Pardew's house got flooded first?
That's what I'm paying for.
Yes. Really enjoyed today, a great laugh.
I remember Ken going on a bizarre rant about Rafa Benitez's adrenal glands, wish some of those 2006 to 2013 shows were available to listen to somewhere online.
Today was superb. The references to the watch scene from Pulp Fiction were properly funny. Worth the 5 euro (plus Vat) by themselves
No sign of today's episode
There it is
What's the deal with the episodes lately particularly on Friday they always seem to be late. It's messing with my commute 🤣
6:15pm on a Friday... jaysus.
You'd think you'd try to get finished early on a Friday.