One must wonder how he'll get on. Surely he will be kept separate from the other prisoners at all times?
Yeah the boys are two absolute little fu*kers - I don't give a sh1t what happens to them, but the comments here saying their families deserve abuse are baffling (with the exception of that prick of a father, but no evidence that the other parents are such lowlives). And also, the disgusted community didn't seem to be there for Ana when she was alive, which is a part of it that really pisses me off.
That poor child - my heart breaks whenever I think of her. 😪
I don’t understand why the are not named when turning 18.
If they had committed the crime at the age of 18 they would have been named.
I wasn’t talking about conscience but about the basic concept of not repeating the same mistakes again.
Anyone leveling abuse at the families of these young sociopaths need to consider that there have been lads that have lived through far harsher upbringings than either of these fools and not done any harm to anyone. By all accounts both had relatively decent lives.
Even if you arent a good parent, absolutely no one can raise a child to behave like boy A and B did. Not discounting boy B fathers actions as deluded and utterly foolish.
While parenting is a big factor, sometimes there are anomalies you cannot account for. The acts being so heinous i would disagree that they picked that up off a parent.
Doesn't matter how many times I've read something like the above; it just doesn't get any less brutal. One of the most horrible things to happen in my lifetime anyway
Both fellas should be named. Can't be arseing about with the 'ah sure their family will be abused then'. Can say that about any murder case
Psychopathy is heritable. These scrotes got their genes from somewhere, and likely showed signs of being 'problems' for quite awhile. I'd be concerned the same genetics are in their siblings, too. Hopefully the Gardai keep an eye on the whole mob.
Darren Goodwin didn't exactly seem to get a hard time from his fellow inmates, despite murdering a child. This idea that scum like this will get whats coming to them in prison is I suspect, largely a myth.
Probably true for Irish prisons. The myth might be true for US prisons though, but there's more incarcerated in US prisons than in most places.
Only about 1% of people with aspd fall into the psychopathy bracket. The vast majority of affected people are presumably products of their upbringing.
The constant misinformation people claim is incredibly tiresome. And no, this isn’t aimed at you specifically and more of a general rant.
Ah here...
He's dead now though yeah?
The number of people with psychopathic traits is hard to estimate. They've very good at manipulating other people - that's kind of their strong suit. That Dr. Fallon goes into how he found the portion of the brain that is missing in psychopaths. But, Hare (who is the gold standard for psychopathy research back in the day) says it might be as much as 3% of the population. Personally I think that's probably low.
FWIW Fallon is a descendant of Lizzie Borden, which is pretty interesting, and if you read his book he has a lot of psychopathic traits - very manipulative (he's a dreadful husband, for example, cheats on his wife regularly, but buys her off with goodies,) impulsive and a great liar. He talks his brother into traveling with him to a cave in Kenya where no one will go because there's some horrible viral outbreak traced to it, but he just omits to tell his brother that fact till later. The brother cuts him off at that point, as do his children when they're adults because of other shenanigans he's gotten up to with them.
Boy A and B, from what little can be learned from reading the newspapers out here, sure show signs of manipulative behavior (I think A talked B into coming along for the rape), lying and getting up to mischief/being impulsive.
Don't underestimate the prevalence of this defect in modern society.
What, like getting caught, you mean?
He'll be sent to Arbor Hill Prison. It's the section for sexual offences cases. Probably spend the last couple of years in Castlerea or one of the open prisons on some form of rehabilitation programme.
The other inmates will know who he is, if not on Day 1 then very soon afterwards, probably through one of the prison officers. They won't do anything to him as plenty of them have committed grievous crimes too.
Yes, died suddenly a few days ago, post mortem will be carried out and his funeral in next Wednesday.
Gardai not looking for anyone else in relation to his death either.
While they're in prison I don't think there's any point in naming them, but if they got out, yeah they'd deserve to be named. But I really hope people wouldn't view their family as the same as them just because they're related (apart from the father of one of them who acted like a sh1t). That's very uncivilised thinking.
Nonsense. A child of loving, responsible, strict, supportive parents can still turn out to be a little cunnt. Because of being innately awful, and because of hanging around with similar little cunnts.
People who blame the parents always seem to be the same people who go on and on about personal responsibility. These weren't really young little kids.
Wrong. https://rip.ie/death-notice/darren-horan-mountmellick-laois/503767
I wonder how some of these people would react if there sibling or child committed a crime like these boys.
They got Huntley with boiling water and sugar, no harm if that lad got some of the same.
Weren't the 2 juvenile killers of Jamie Bolger named and did one of them reoffend? or is English law different?
They were named. However they were given new identities. One did reoffend.
because there are people every bit as bad as him disguised as vigilantes
As someone who is related to someone who has schizoprenia the genetic lottery as it were can manifest in a rediculous amount variation even amoung 2 parents. I have 6 siblings with only 1 of which having schizoprenia.
The same is true of ASPD, it taking probably the "worst" traits of both parents to manifest an individual who is this way inclined. Its a spectrum of genes that give rise to it and often is not problematic for either parent.
Are you saying that all people with psychopathy or traits associated be isolated from society?
I think youths guilty of serious crimes, i.e crimes that cause serious physical harm, either fatal or not, should be named, from 15 years upwards.
I think they should not be held in youth offender detention centres but in actual youth prisons, that are basically the same as adult prisons. Perhaps up to 21 years of age. Then transferred to adult prisons at 21 if need be.
I think the way we deal with youth crime is all wrong, in fact backward.
Who would be helped by naming them?
For the record they clearly were not good parents, i totally agree
However, under your definition of good parenting (that which is at least better than what these lads got) the state would need to take a fairly sizeable amount of kids into care.
My point is these lads had a badness in them that is almost unheard of. There was no furore about teachers seeing it in them either. Plus the fact they were early adelescent when they committed this horrble act. Childrens personalities can be unpredictable when developing especially ones with a budding personality disorder.
The same kinds of people who are helped when adult offenders are named in the media.
My point is these lads had a badness in them that is almost unheard of.
And it's becoming less unheard of. That is why I think we need a change of policy as I outlined.
So no one then. That's what I thought.