If you are a man over 18, would you feel comfortable walking around town shirtless, ie bare-chested with no top on?
Or would there be something stopping you from doing that?
What do you think?
Each to there own i suppose
Unfortunately it is not that simple as people in that group have gone on to commit mass murders as it is very hate filled and feeds upon itself. They blame the world for their problems and seek revenge
https://youtu.be/32I4uxAU8wQ
I know a guy whose brother is a bit like that. Big dangerous incel shut-in type. He went shirtless at a party he tagged along to once and let me tell you Stephen King could write a book about the stink body odour off him and he was as pale as a ghost. You couldn't stand near him without feeling that tickle in your throat that warns you that you're about to lose your lunch. Didn't seem to bother him, it's more about your attitude than how you look, although he was extremely unpopular at the party it has to be said.
Life isn't like the movies.
Hasn't been the 19th century for a long time. Peasants aren't a thing anymore.
This thread seems to be mostly comprised of men disapproving of men being topless, so I dunno why people are saying it's just women giving out. But I agree - it looks awful imo. And it is the preserve of skangers.
Seen this thread title and immediately thought of the 4 topless arseholes on the Dart today heading in the direction of Bray out lunchtime. Tunes blaring and drinking cans just being loud and obnoxious roaring absolute nonsense. Pure scumbags with thick Dublin accents. (I'm a Dub btw)
Was at seapoint on Monday Eve and there was another gang of them there amongst strewn cans and beer bottles. And the smell of piss walking by was something else.
If you are going around with your top off and its not a beach/pool/similar water feature or your own private property....you are either :
1. A scumbag....or....
2. not far removed from a scumbag....
I already answered the first questioned, Raymond.
I have no qualms about strolling around topless. Whether I'm the lowest class, the highest class, or anywhere in between...I don't give a bollocks.
As a show of one upmanship on the topless people I like to go bottomless...just strut about. Only issue is I cant use the 'its cold out' shrinkage excuse in this weather
Cool you don't care people think you look like a scumbag. I dress how I like and don't care much but I would never want to look like a scumbag. I find only scumbags don't care about looking like it
"People who are celibate by no choice of their own". That's a large chunk of the general population I would estimate. Not all of this grouping suffer from personality disorders. Is it only males that are categorised as "Incel"? What about female (involuntary) celibates who hate men and may suffer from mental health problems? Should these be labelled separately?
I hadn't had the ride in about 5 years at one point, not through choice. Didn't turn me into a hate-filled bag of piss blaming literally everyone except myself.
Identifying as an incel is a choice.
Just imagine how many scumbags wear a suit...
Just as a matter of interest, do you see any issue with parents smoking outside schools waiting to pick up their kids?
I think someone dressed in a suit looks like a scumbag.
People dressed in suits have done infinitely more damage to the world than lads strolling around topless.
I mean, smoking objectively harms people, so yes. Whether you're indoors or outdoors, inhaling smoke impacts health.
I am curious as to what your "GOTCHA" is...
It's interesting people have only so far talked about class and not culture. I would agree with the class perspective within an Irish context, but I think upper class Brazilians and eastern Europeans would also take their tops off a lot without really thinking about it. It's just interesting because maybe I have that wrong?
if i could , i'd show my beauty to the city :)
I wasn't aware about a new shirtless fashion among the bankers, guess I'm not up to date.
Nothing wrong with going around in a vest or basketball jersey in this weather.
Wouidnt go topless personally and yes it is associated with scumbags over here but that’s stupid really. See tons of guys with no top on in Spain or Italy and it’s just the norm.
Its the weirdos going round in jeans and a hoody I’m worried about. Saw one guy wearing a woolly hat also. What the actual **** like.
There is but the incels are too lazy to put in the effort.
Folks should only be topless when at the beach or sitting lying down in the park other than those situations put a top on, yes even if you are walking around the park.
What about a park?
But men have to put up with being teased by cleavage all year around. And don't get me started on those crop tops; I know most Irish girls are too fat to pull off the look... but on that rare occasion when the girl is fit, it can be an instant hard-on!
Exactly, women think they have the sole right to show skin.
I'm still in decent shape (if I do say so myself) so I'd have no qualms about it on that front but if I'm in town I'm usually going into shops etc. and that seems a bit manky to be doing with the nips on show. Also as much as I'd hate to admit it, it does look a bit scrotey to be sauntering around with your ill advised tattoos for all to see - its the shaper walk obligatory??
However, if I'm cutting the grass (long rest it's soul in this weather) you best believe there's something for the neighbouring curtain twitchers to ogle
That doesn't happen anymore in our more puritan environment. 😀 In the early 2000's we were teased by the ladies showing off their thongs.
I think it boils down to a lack of education/self awareness. I have not seen many going around shirtless around Grafton Street but in other poorer parts of Dublin I can see that quite clearly.
You won't see Michael D, your local doctor or dentist walking around town on their off days shirtless. They are aware it is not socially acceptable.
People who do so are not aware of how unacceptable it is. Same with smoking outside a school.
I am entirely aware of how unacceptable people think it is, I just think the arguments are stupid.
I put my t-shirt on whenever I enter a shop/building as I know that's the social expectation/store policy.
I am literally a solicitor so your whole "doctor/dentist/etc" is a load of bollocks. An Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar, was literally shirtless in Phoenix Park a couple of years ago.
If it causes offense it's a crime, seeing groups of teens in their tighty whities jumping into rivers in the middle of a town or city is pollution for the eyes. But has anyone actually ever got fined the 635 euro fine for it?
It has to be proven to intentionally cause offence.