"I see speculation he can waive that but what’s the basis for that?"
Transparency. He can expose the FBI by declaring what was in the warrant and they are stitching him up for.
"On point 2 any inventory given at the time of seizure will likely be high level eg 10 boxes of documents as they won’t have had time to review them all, if there is a smoking gun such as a classified document that probably wouldn’t be on such an inventory."
Do we know it was just boxes? Could it have been computers, LAPTOPS maybe??? SERVERS????
Wouldn't that be something...
this is going to backfire badly on the demmies.
they and their followers just don’t learn, it’s like they want to lose.
by sending the FBI to trumps office they are proving the FBI is politically biased and that the jan 6 hearings are completely nullified
they never learn, even pelosi stating for years that china should be respected on Taiwan and than visits Taiwan and causes an international incident, truly deranged and stupid people
What a tangled web we weave from the weaver fish in the sand who hides and deceives
What has this to do with the dems?
If you think about it..
1) they could have gone after him for his involvement in what Cohen was sent down for (he directed Cohen to commit the act).
2) they could have gone after him for the obstruction of justice charges disclosed in Mueller's report
But they go after him for national archive stuff? Something doesn't smell right. It HAS to be bigger than just that. They know the political fallout and still went ahead and I don't think they would do that over a trivial matter.
Time will tell.
You can also garner from the reactions of his proxies, political witch hunt, forged warrants, planting evidence. If it was for a small matter, they wouldn't be so rattled.
I think they have him "bigly".
The Democrats were not involved in this. They didn't "send" anybody anywhere.
The President (or Pelosi) do not provide direction to the DOJ or the FBI.
Why is that so difficult to grasp?
If the President did have that control , do you think that Obama would have allowed Comey to do what he did a week before the Election in 2015?
Even by your usual standards this is a really stupid post. Maybe you are just trying to have fun riling people. Grow up, for Christ's sake.
How can Chris A Wray be politically biased when Donald Trump appointed him himself saying he had “impeccable credentials”
even Garland was well liked by the republicans before they decided to politicize him. And mueller.
So Garland (whose an obvious democrat) didn't see fit to get someone to wake Joe up to bounce it off him?..that he was breaking all conventions to raid the gaff of the former president, over a couple of missing folders?..
It's funny to see you all cheer on this almost totalitarian kgb/gestapo style "justice"..All those things ye were saying Trump was going to do..turns out it was all just projection..
LOL. Desperate
So Garland (whose an obvious democrat) didn't see fit to get someone to wake Joe up to bounce it off him?
No..Because that's not how it works.
The President does not have oversight of the actions of the DOJ , he doesn't have the ability or authority to "direct" the DOJ - despite what Trump thought.
Garland doesn't require Presidential approval to do anything.
What "conventions" were being broken??
I wasn't aware that there was a convention that someone who used to be President has lifetime immunity from criminal investigation or prosecution.
I don't actually care, he's not my president like, I just find myself having to be a voice of reason here and almost defend him at times because a lot of you seem to have become deranged since he got in..
But if all of this was happening to anyone else, you'd probably be going 'hang on a minute, this seems like a witch-hunt..I don't think this is how justice works..'
"Voice of reason" you really are on a roll. keep 'em coming.
No convention was broken. Presidents were always vulnerable to fbi investigations. Previous just didn't break the law outside of the one who was specifically pardoned.
No he would not tell Joe. Joe should be entirely independent of this investigation.
But like, from a perspective where you don't think he is like, the devil incarnate, all these investigations and trials, going on since before he took office still not having come to anything, does it not look like a witch hunt?..If you could try to lay your biases aside for just a minute..
You pretty clearly care though since you've only recently pushed the election fraud claims. The Whitehouse are not involved as they were equally not involved in the Clinton investigation. They're being entirely consistent.
The DOJ obtained a search warrant from a judge. To obtain that warrant they have to show probably cause that a crime has been committed and the search the location of the warrant will uncover evidence of that crime. that is a high bar. To say it is a witchhunt is to imply that the DOJ, FBI and a federal have conspired to create a spurious warrant. We already know that trump had documents at MAL that he should not have. We have known this for months. my only issue is that they should have done this months ago. Hoping that trump would cooperate is ignoring his entire past of flouting the law.
All you doing is repeating fox news talking points. no original thought at all.
it’s mad, they can’t even verbalise why they personally hate trump .
how long do you have?
You know that the office of the president operates completely seprerate to the DOJ right?
“The president told me several times he’s going to name a moderate [to fill the court vacancy], but I don’t believe him. [Obama] could easily name Merrick Garland, who is a fine man. He probably won’t do that because this appointment is about the election. So I’m pretty sure he’ll name someone the [liberal Democratic base] wants." - Senator Orrin Hatch
didn't see fit to get someone to wake Joe up to bounce it off him?
But in the wake of the pro-Trump riot on Capitol Hill on Wednesday, Biden began his speech on Thursday by reiterating whom his nominees will serve.
“We need to restore the honor, the integrity, the independence of the DOJ of this nation that has been so badly damaged,” Biden said.
“I want to be clear to those who lead this department who you will serve: You won’t work for me. You are not the president’s or the vice president’s lawyer. Your loyalty is not to me,” he added. “It’s to the law, the Constitution, the people of this nation.”
Many of Biden’s nominees echoed that sentiment and called for a return to an independent, apolitical Justice Department.
Garland, whose prior nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court by President Barack Obama was blocked by Senate Republicans, spoke immediately after the president-elect.
“The essence of the rule of law is that like cases are treated alike: That there not be one rule for Democrats and another for Republicans, one rule for friends, another for foes, one rule for the powerful, and another for the powerless,” he said.
“These principles — ensuring the rule of law and making the promise of equal justice under law real — are the great principles upon which the Department of Justice was founded and for which it must always stand,” Garland added.
Yeah, of course it does..
I'm sorry.
What the hell are you on about? Cheering dead grandchildren?
Take a deep breath, please!!
Such impotent rage.
You'd be SHRIEKING if the DOJ/FBI ran this past the WH first.
I only pushed the election fraud claims because the election was stolen..
50 plus court cases and all of them ****ed out, but they are all wrong and you're right.
Gotcha
Yet another situation where I wonder to myself "What exactly will it take for people to stop believing what Donald Trump says?".
Trump was no better or worse than the others? Name a president with two impeachments
You could fool us with your rager posts.
The election wasn't stolen good try though. Shame all those Trump appointed attorneys and judges and hell even supreme court justices couldn't find a single effing toenail of the kraken to hold up in a court of law.
So you believe Joe biden is the most popular American president in history?..after losing all the bellwethers?..after not campaigning?..
Some of us watched how it all went down..they got away with it..fine..
Who said he had to be the most popular to defeat the least popular, most impeached POTUS in history?
Ah would you go away with your common sense, understanding of the separation of powers and facts about ensuring the legislature or Executive doesn't interfere in the judicial process...
I mean everyone knows that the FBI are an arm of the leftwing neosocialist fascist commies in the white house 😉
(/S)