I grew up in a 60s era council house with an Aga in the kitchen that ran the central heating and a fireplace in the living room. It was lovely, especially in the winter, curled up on a big armchair with the fire going and watching something on TV.
However, my partner and I bought our house in 2011 and it's purely gas heated and so has no fireplace in the living room. I actually like it as the house is quite snug. It heats up quickly, retains the heat and never feels stuffy.
That 60s era house I grew up in had one bathroom. My own has two, one of which is a windowless loo under the stairs. I love it, so so handy. I would have a really hard time living in a house with just one loo, as a result of being here.
Yeah, agree on having at least one other loo, but it would have to have a window for me.
You must leave the toilet in an awful state if the window is that important to you!
No. 😂
But fresh air and natural light are always welcome.
Probably depends on how much time you need to spend in the jacks really.
It's a tad foolish to put all your eggs in one basket. Without electricity, how would you heat your house? Or cook if you had an electric cooker?
And given our precarious power situation (possible electricity blackouts predicted by Eirgrid - https://www.eirgridgroup.com/newsroom/eirgrid-predicts-electric/) fire could yet come in handy. One of those backwards yokes below can heat a few rooms and you can also cook on it if push came to shove. I wouldn't write fire off just yet.
Nice house and beautiful location maybe a bit over priced
But don't they need electricity to run the heating pump ?
God almighty, their artworks would have me gibbering in a corner 😬
No you just run the electricity off the heating and then the heating off the electricity, simples.
Damn, I was sure you ran the heaticity off the electricing, or jave I hust had a stronk?
I think there’s a huge demand, relative to supply, for rural property in the west with a view that is in move-in condition. A lot of stuff out there needs work. Think that that will fly off the shelf at that price
Yeah, you'd have no pump but you could have the stove lighting and that would heat a good chunk of the house. Not as good as radiators as it's a single source of heat but miles better than nothing in the event of a powercut during cold weather.
If you have enough roof space I'd recommend everyone to install PV panels with a battery back up.
Close enough town too which is another positive
I see now, thanks for the info. Just in the process of buying a house with a heating and cooking stove and I was a bit worried about what would happen during a power cut.
I've actually cooked meals for four on a 12kw stove like that , boiled potatoes, vegetables and fish in tin foil, during power cuts.
I'm open to correction here but, depending on the type of stove you have, you might not be able to light it when there is a power cut. I remember hearing something about the potential for the back boiler/hot water cylinder to blow up if it runs out of water. I could be remembering it wrong though.
That sounds serious. I think when we move in I'll check on the make and contact the makers for info.
Thanks for the input, BattleCorp.
I have two of those free standing wood burning stoves which give amazing heat, nice comfortable heat. I have an electric oven but a gas hob. The power goes off quite frequently - though I think they might have fixed it, I reckon there was a milking shed in the area that was cutting the power somehow, it hasn't happened for a while. My main problem when the power goes off is the water pump for the well goes off also and almost instantly there is no water.
I didn't think it was still safe to drink from a well due to what farmers spread on their fields.( but as I type this I realise it is most likely bullsh*t from bar stool stories).
Our well is tested every year or so and it is excellent quality water. The farmer whose land surrounds us does muck spread but is very careful about only doing it in dry weather - I got the whiff earlier this eventing. Most rural houses would have wells and their own water treatment systems.
Er, lads, this property is on a hill, you can't make a straight horizon by tilting the camera.
It is by all accounts a '3 bed detached'...something. There are no photos so we don't know exactly what.
Better off just getting a gas cylinder. Heating you can move room to room as well as something to cool with.
Youd swear we were in mad max territory the way some people go on about power cuts.
That not seem dear. €100,000 It's also an auction so how much do they plan on getting. It's also in the back end of no where. If I was going to buy it I would pay less than €100,000 for it. Also no pictures inside to gather what condition it is in.
Looks like roof rainwater is discharged onto the footpath via the neighbours property - a very Irish solution.
Modern boiler stoves have an internal thermostat, if the hot water line gets too hot the air intake to stove will shut off - this stops the line from boiling.
You can light a small fire and periodically add a few twigs so just enough heat is produced to warm up the cylinder. I'd be slow to rely on any internal thermostat like that there is always a chance that after many years of sitting idle that the thermostat won't work or that the door won't seal as well as when it was new
Same, and the caps.
I always feel a little bit sad when I see pictures of houses like that.
It was somebody's home, and hopefully they were happy there, regardless. Can sometimes be the case too (I know of some from around home) that someone denies themselves even the most basic of comforts and then leaves a lot of money behind them. 😔