So the balls-up has started since last night which makes Fairview from clontarf to Edges corner a single lane with bollards down the centre.
This will be a permanent feature and works will take 21 months.
You can go Alfie Byrne road and take the Tom Clarke bridge to avoid the tolls.
Are you implying Clontarf to Donnybrook via North Strand Road is some off-the-beaten-track way of going? The only other way I can think of is the EastLink, which is what I assume you’re thinking of too. Some people hate tolls!
I'll take a guess that you are a south sider, with a poor grasp of how to get around Dublin, if you think Joe Duffy gets to RTE via the Five Lamps. Do you know where the Five lamps is?
Good grief there's some hysterical posts about a local traffic diversion. As if that's not been a regular feature of city life the world over for 100 years.
Lol, unlikely
Because he lives in Clontarf and works in Donnybrook ffs.
Donohoe will act on it, because he's a senior cabinet Minister and a TD for the area. And he will do so, because if he doesn't, he'll be blamed for the consequences and have to find himself a new job after the 2025 election. And Paschal is on a decent trajectory to be Taoiseach, so if he has to slap the City Council around a bit to stay on track, he'll do it without hesitation.
This is just the kind of obtuse response that turns people against these projects.
'Be grand sure' is not a policy.
All those roads are within a couple of km of the city centre and will have a plethora of buses passing by their front door on a dedicated bus lane not being hindered by car traffic. They'll be OK.
Why would Joe Duffy drive that route to work, you aren't making any sense?
The dangers so far have been caused by impatient drivers, speeding, breaking lights and using the bus lanes. Zero regard for other road users, and other drivers just trying to get to and from work while obeying the rules.
And why would the minister for finance be the one to straighten out DCC?
I've just now read, that any RESIDENTS and businesses who live in any of the many side roads and cul-de-sacs between Fairview and the Five Lamps (27 in all!!) and who wish to drive southbound, towards the City, will be forced to drive northbound and use one of only four or five cross streets, to rejoin the new chaos through Ballybough! And half of those cross streets look like this anyway!
This whole insanity is going to create so much chaos, danger and economic damage its inconceivable.
Can't wait till the first episode of Liveline after this shyt lands. Holy War won't even cut it, not least because its Fateen Duffy's own route to work in Raidió Éireann 😂
I daresay Paschal Donohue will have DCC straightened out within the day!
You never get tired of disappointment, clearly.
I think the Germans might have a word for that....
certainly not due to marty whelan's tweet, the reaction to that is about as violent as woodstock (the original one!)
lol
To be fair, the Cycling Forum is right up there.
I guarantee there'll be private cars back on this route by the end of the month, certainly before the schools return in earnest. What Ray Shah correctly refers to the sh1t show will be completely intolerable and unmanageable.
It could well be that some motorists just keep driving the route anyway, and once a few do it, everyone will.
I mean, intending to bring all in-bound private traffic back down Portland Row to the Five Lamps, while intending to give enough priority to the Strand to keep the buses moving on time. **** off and pull the other one.
It'll be back to the drawing board, again, for the keystone cops of project management, Dublin City Council.
The Karens are now calling for a violent uprising of hard pressed motorists, the toppling of the current anti car regime and possibly a public execution of Eamon Ryan. The struggle is real and these people seem to be using their real names and social media profiles
I for one can only dream that the construction of bus connects corridors will be a fraction of this level of entertainment. And Fairview isn't even that entitled wait till they get to Rathfornom or Donnybroke. If Sorcha can't wedge the Rover over the bollords onto the footpoth there'll be mayhem.
The post about it on the Raheny facebook page, from Ray Shah seems to have disappeared.
Marty Whelan left interpretation of his views open, so hard to know how he actually feels.
...with pretty much all of it based on completely mis-informed nonsense.
Violence has erupted on social media
Nothing here, and it's 250m away from me.
Came in the door this afternoon.
If you don't wear lycra then you aren't welcome here mate.
And if you want entitled, then start with the jeweller in Fairview that didn't want extra trees, didn't want benches for older people, didn't want safer pedestrian crossings, didn't want improved water main and sewage pipes. All because of his failing business that he was closing down anyway.
Looking at the IT article, the sub heading and the first paragraph refer to the project as constructing a "cyclepath"...
Buses, taxis and cyclists permitted to continue using route during Clontarf cyclepath construction
One of the busiest traffic arteries into Dublin city from the northside is to be closed to private cars for at least one year from Monday to facilitate the construction of the Clontarf to city centre cyclepath.
It is only if one could be bothered reading until the very end that they elaborate (slightly) on what is being done...
The cycle route, first proposed a decade ago, is part of a €62 million project that also involves watermains rehabilitation and new bus lanes.
Interesting thread. I'm a bicycle owner and user. But I don't own or wear Lycra while using the bike. I've often wondered where the angry and rule breaking cylists go when they lock up their bikes. It looks like I found the place . . . . . . This thread. I've only ever seen rudeness and entitlement (exhibited in this thread) in school playgrounds.
Paywalled for me. But I'd love to see the comments.
Pro troll Ray Shah already complaining on facebook too.
Private cars to be banned inbound from Dublin’s North Strand from Monday
https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/dublin/2022/08/03/private-cars-to-be-banned-inbound-from-dublins-north-strand-from-monday/
There is four spots on the park side of the road, close to his shop, which will be removed after the works are complete. He said this was too many spaces removed, people needed those four spots across the road to park in, or they couldn't attend his shop apparently.
In reality, he was probably barely keeping his head above water. Covid probably had a big impact on business. And he just decided to cut his losses, and just go work for someone else. Which was probably a good decision for him. But rather than admit why his business was failing, he just decided to blame cyclists.
There's an insurance broker up at Annelsey Bridge doing the same thing, blaming cyclists. No complaints though about the two large apartment complexes being built right on his doorstep for some reason.
I think it's the main reason for facebook groups to be honest.
😂
I can understand people wanting better things for their area. But I can't understand complaining when another close by area gets something, as is the case with the C2CC route.
It would be gas if someone opened a bike shop there! 🤣
BTW I'm aware there is a nice little bike shop just down the road from there, at the corner of Marino, in case anyone is looking for one in the area.
giving he was selling the premises, it was an odd thing to go public.
'this cycle utopia is going to destroy my business because of where it is located. here, does someone want to buy the retail unit i've been using?'
It wasn't! He announced the closure before a traffic cone had even been put on the ground (leading me to think that the shop was always going to close for whatever reason (presumably poor sales irrespective of anything transport related)).