"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,545 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

I’m not sure tbh.

All I know is I got a smart meter and I was asked to opt into a smart meter tarring after a 30 day billing cycle- which I didn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

I believe you were blaming the ESB not "legislation".

You said

"much of the wind has been installed in suboptimal locations where it was convenient for the ESB to offer connections - not in the best wind locations"

You make your claim with no backup up

From Eirgrid

"Developer Led"

"This is the current policy for Ireland’s electricity grid. Ireland has a successful track record in adding renewable electricity – 40% of our electricity already comes from wind generation. This was due to many factors, one of which was the incentivising of renewable generation. This was the goal of government and regulatory policies over the past decade or more.

As a result, EirGrid must connect new sources of renewable electricity, regardless of the local strength of the grid

If this approach continues, we forecast that developers can build enough generation to meet the demands of the 2030 target. However, our studies show that it will not be possible to expand the grid in time for Ireland to use all of this power."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

When looking at worst case scenarios does it not make sense to prioritise which would have the most immediate sudden abrupt change rather than attempting to ignore it, or even more insane, attempting to legislate to just add to the problem leaving no way to alleviate it ?

It is not just the poster who believes our gas supply is not secure. Our regulator and the E.U. both view it as not secure and the recent U.K. position on shortages there have not made that less so. Yet greens here and the Irish Green party are attempting to hand-wave that away based on nothing other than pretty much everything else to do with their dogma of "Trust us we know what we are doing". If you are looking for a sudden abrupt change scenario that would leave us in deep s**t, then that is the one that should be top of the list.

I dunno many who reached adulthood before the 1990s in Ireland were would have experienced power outages, fuel rationing, freezing cold houses with little or no insulation, single pane windows, that had a decent fireplace or rayburn with a back boiler if you were lucky. It certainly wouldn't be anything new to that cohort anyway.

However allowing the greens to deliberately engineer a situation where power outages are increasingly likley because they have their collective heads stuck in the sand about the need for a secure source of natural gas is not a good idea regardless whether we have snowflakes or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,770 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

....we ve largely neglected our energy system for decades now, before the green party even existed, so its very disingenine to truly only blame them for this debacle, but they certainly aint helping it.....

the greens have only ever played a minor role in our governments, all parties must sign off on agreements, so all participants are equally to blame for the short comings.....

....again, there hasnt been enough investment in our power system for decades now, of which the greens have only played a minor role in, its actual ignorance to only truly blame them

...yes it makes absolute sense for the greens not to sanction further development of fossil fuels, its clearly obvious, its over!

But therein lies the problem, it`s not over. There is not going to be a switch to 100% renewables in the morning no matter how much greens dream about it. We need gas, and we are going to need it for a long time into the future. Germany, whose master-plan Irish Green Party policy was based on got a sharp reminder of that with Putin`s gas and have now gone back to burning coal, exploring for fossil fuels and building and leasing LNG terminals. Here the Irish greens are carrying on as if none of that is happening.

Potentially we are no more secure on gas than Germany was, yet we have The Irish Green party legislation banning exploration, attempting to legislate to ban LNG, a recognised transitional fuel source, and doing everything the can to prevent development of the Ballyroe field. The may not be to blame for lack of investment in our power system, but for all the above alone they are to blame.

the expansion of fossil fuels is over, we ve known for decades that this has been the case, its truly over, its time for us to move on from it, as major countries such as china have been doing, with their rapid expansion of renewables, we must all follow this approach, or else......

no, a switch to 100% renewables is not possible immediately, but we now know how to role them out quickly, it just requires the will, the will similar to other countries such as china...

...yes germany has made major mistakes in regards their energy plans, betting on russia was the most idiotic thing to do, and then to shut down their nuclear program, holy jesus!

...again, the greens, minor party, i.e. ffg, major parties, i.e. not only the greens at fault here!

...again, yes, banning fossil fuels makes absolute sense, its truly time for us to grow up and be adults!

...again, as above!

Do we need to go over the greens threatening to collapse the government if they don't get their way? Which they have been doing so as recently as just the other week.

We're dealing with the here and now. This green party and the need for the country to have secure sources of natural gas to keep the lights on. The only ignorance is their own, being even more examples of green policies destroying the country.

Th EU have stated that both gas and nuclear are necessary for the period of transition to renewable energy transition. They have also called on all EU countries to have reserves of gas for this winter to ensure security of supply. And our greens have the eyes shut, their fingers in their ears whilst singing la la la.

So unless the green party do deliberately wish to shut the country down - then it makes absolutely no sense whatsoever for them to stick thier heads in the sand to demand they get their own way regardless of the counties currents needs.

no, a switch to 100% renewables is not possible immediately, but we now know how to role them out quickly, it just requires the will, the will similar to other countries such as china...

China? You got to be freaking joking!

China is battling away building dirty coal powered electricity power stations to beat the band. They are the single biggest emitters of ghgs globally and will continue to be for the foreseeable future and at tthir current rate of emissions, climate change is a slam dunk regardless of what any other countries does unless they bother their arses to start reigning in their emissions.

They are also rolling out as much renewables as possible (much of manufactured by coal powered electricity) not for any environmental concerns but rather to increase their global industrial capacity.

Hillariously they get kudos for this

But you want us to be like China? OK how about we fire up Moneypoint to run 24/7 so we can manufacture our own renewables, whilst continuing to burn turf and anything else we can get our hands on. That do?

It remains we need a secure source of natural gas now. How do the greens not understand that?

Do we need to go over the greens threatening to collapse the government if they don't get their way? Which they have been doing so as recently as just the other week.

Incorrect

And that proves what exactly? I already detailed above that China is rolling out renewables to increase their industrial capacity. Because they're are not shutting down their coal fired power stations, they're building lots more of them and have stated they are going to continue to do so for the foreseeable future. Oh and you know all those lovely solar panels and other renewable technology they're exporting? Yeah manufactured using coal powered processes. Ye have to hand to them. Their a great bunch of lads altogether!

China have a much higher proportion of renewables then Europe and the USA and more ambitious targets to increase the proportion.

...it shows the rapid expansion of renewables compared to us! we truly are the laggards here!

...and where does a significant proportion of Chinese goods end up!

...and why was the majority of western manufacturing outsourced to china, and who done that!

They are manufacturing those renewables using COAL FIRED POWERED STATIONS! Whilst building lots more coal powered stations

I already asked and you didn't answer - how about we fire up Moneypoint to run 24/7 so we can manufacture our own renewables, whilst continuing to burn turf and anything else we can get our hands on?

Because that's whats China is doing but whats worse they have no intention of stopping building new coal power stations for the foreseeable future

Btw I'm all for banning Chinese tat. And I've detailed that previously!

So an answer to the above proposition thanks

yes, china is still using an enormous amount of fossil fuels, but has expanded renewables faster than all countries now, while we re still playing with ourselves.....

...or how about we rapidly expand off shore wind, and get on with it.....

...if we banned Chinese goods, our own economies would probably also collapse! the main cause of inflation is due to significant supply chain disruption, banning Chinese goods would more than likely cause even greater economic problems for us....

...so, go again!

Nope. Green Party members stated they could walk away from Government if Coalition leaders do not agree a deal on emissions targets for agriculture as was detailed by another poster in this thread and reported by the media .

Whats the story DaCor? You claim to be neither a green nor a green party supporter but spend much of your time either posting feel good links about their policies or defending them against any criticism whatsoever. Now don't get me wrong I'll take you at your word but it really makes no sense whatsoever 🤔

Nope you still haven't answered my question and still fail to understand the issue

So

how about we fire up Moneypoint to run 24/7 so we can manufacture our own renewables, whilst continuing to burn turf and anything else we can get our hands on and don't give a shite about our emissions?

Because guess what that's exactly what China is doing!

The Chinese have not closed their coal fired power stations. They are building more of them. Their emissions are not reducing rather they are increasing and will continue to do so because along with lots more coal energy generation - their additional renewables do nothing to reduce their emissions. The sole purpose is to ramp up industrial production to even greater levels. Which bit don't you understand in that setup?

So I see you're critical of people buying Chinese tat but believe we shouldn't stop buying Chinese tat even where that means that we will likley exceed IPCC targets because China is the single biggest emitter of ghgs globally!

Seriously I give up.

Post edited by Mecanudo on

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

Maybe not a complete lie. According to this article published 3 years ago, ambassador Joe Hackett assured the European Commission that Ireland is adhering to EU water conservation rules, i.e. charging of excess use of water over a certain amount.

China ?

China has been building coal burning plants to beat the band and the energy they are getting from renewables is not even keeping pace with demand. A demand that is being driven by the demand for green tech products.

Germany`s policy on gas was madness, but where is ours now any different ?

Where is the sense in the Irish Green Party pursuing a policy on gas where a problem with an insecure source that is providing half of our electric needs would shut the country down in the morning. This policy that somehow we will jump to 100% renewables because we will have no alternative is madness on any level you care to name.

You can roll out renewables as quickly as you like, but it`s not going to change the fact that we will need either gas or nuclear for many years to come. Even at that nobody seems to have even a vague idea of how many wind turbines/solar panels will be required or at what the cost will be necessary to reach even 80% never mind 100% of our needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,807 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Back in my day we used to wash ourselves with lumps of coal.

Nope, incorrect.

What was stated was 22% would not be acceptable.

Same as FF folks stated 30% was not acceptable

Screenshot 2022-08-03 at 16-36-28 China electricity generation share by source 2021 Statista.png

Other than Hydro, something we have little or no possibility of increasing, China`s generation of electricity from wind and solar is just 11.2% and last year their tonnage from coal mining set a new record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,980 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Here you go... at the time of talks on the Programme for Government:

And back when Brian Cowen was Taoiseach:

And more recently - suggesting they wouldn't "put up" with lower targets:

They really do like throwing their toys out of the pram really! Negotiation under threat isn't exactly a good starting point among coalition members.

Nope. It was a total lie. Ireland set the level of what constituted excess use not the E.U.

But even that is meaningless as only half of domestic dwellings are metered, so no way of knowing how much those dwelling are using.

None of which is evidence of the GP threatening to pull the plug "as recently as just the other week."

The fact that you have to go back to something from a decade ago shows how weak this argument is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,980 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nope.. it shows that they have form in this area - also see the last link for the most recent tantrum.

You mean the one I already called out where they said a 22% target wouldn't be acceptable, that one? The one that mecnudo and you are trying to twist?

That one?