Do people think the sentence is fair? I followed the case. I think it is about right. Probably on the lower end of a sexual assault case but i do think a custodial sentence was required.
I’ve been wondering this as well..
and I can only assume she said proper asleep and he verified this..
It’s been said here: there could well be a case of malicious vindictiveness about this.
Lad is accused of a crime, admits to crime, is found guilty of crime and is sentenced for crime, boards user still tries to victim blame.
I'd also argue the vast majority wouldn't find themselves in a similar situation because no normal person thinks "she said no, maybe if I climbed on top and copped a feel she'd realize she made a mistake"
He pleaded not guilty to the charge/crime. He did not “admit” to a crime. He told his story/version.
have you even read the report? She said no after waking up and he immediately stopped.
It wasn’t “she said no, fell asleep and he tried it on.”
Ye how can anyone ever prove consent was given without some form of contract , or than that it's just he said she said
But see it actually makes zero difference. She was asleep , he admitted to being on top of her touching her breasts , she then woke up and was annoyed , he admitted to saying sorry i was horny. So it makes shag all difference what her recall was. The case was shockingly easy.
Unfortunately what it will actually lead to is the clogging up of the courts with OTT and not necessary legal proceedings.
The lady in question played her part in this. She was on the receiving end of a schoolboy feel in a bed from a man who hours earlier she happily and willing participated in sexual activities with.
The act she took issue with is ridiculous, and far from a significant personal violation, on the account of what she had already participated in. She is a grown woman who needs to wake up, not destroy a person. I can only imagine the havoc she has caused throughout her life.
This case makes a mockery of anyone who has been raped and who is in a queue waiting for their time in court.
Never mind, it’s their usual approach. Plus reporting everything that upsets their sensitivities. You get used to it.
No genuinely dont lump me with with that man. I dont touch sleeping women tits and mount them. He broke the law. Maybe you dont agree with it and you feel sorry for him but it was so obvious he broke the law. Maybe she did go for him in a vindictive way. Maybe she was pissed off with what he did to her. Either way it was undeniably his own fault.
In her impact statement she mentions his using sexual violence against her. I cannot get this.
how do you fall asleep immediately after, take a lift home, meet up later (allowing him into your house), and then wait a year to report it if the man used sexual violence against you?
His version matched hers
The following July he met with gardaí and said that after falling asleep together he had woken up and started to kiss the woman and got on top of her. He said he had tried to wake her up and when she did wake up, she was annoyed at what he was doing while she was still asleep.
It was though
Ó Leidhin suggested they have penetrative sex but the woman said no
That's it, game over, consent withdrawn, climbing on top of and fondling a girl who already withdrew consent is rapey as fcuk.
He told his story. Which was 100% factually a crime in irish law. So he effectively admitted to it.
His point obviously is that there is no consent in either of those examples, so every young boy or girl who ever dropped the hand should be convicted of sexual assault.
Nah, the chap in this story is a rapey creep, and anyone who's like "haven't we all found ourselves in this situation" is also a rapey creep.
This is how blurred and potentially dangerous it all is.
two people become intimate and an act is performed without the person explicitly saying “you have my consent,” and that person can then say stop; you stop, but that person can then report you and you are investigated…
We must have grown up in different centuries because even teenage girls in my day were capable of telling you exactly how far you were getting.
Frankly, the amount of times a girl has sexually assaulted me is outrageous. For gods sake women of Ireland, educate yourselves on consent before it is too late.
They didn't grow up in different centuries, they just live in a fantasy land because how anyone could have no idea about any of this is genuinely beyond me, unless they've never been in a position to have a healthy sexual relationship.
I thought it was healthy, turned out she was raping me.
Yeah, I'm an embarrassment because I know mounting a woman while she is sleeping and grabbing her breasts is sexual assault.
You defending the rapey creeps who think it's ok to help yourself to a sleeping person is what's shameful here.
Report it to the guards then, or stop bitching about it.
What this man did was sexual assault. End of. It's in clear, defined writing in Irish law. A man or woman who is sleeping cannot consent. If you mount a woman (in this case) and grab her breasts while they are sleeping, and they report you to the guards, then you're f*cked. Tough sh*t.
He was a political correspondant. He would have seen the discussions around consent throughout political discourse, and he helped himself anyway. Nobody to blame but himself for being such a stupid fool.
Don't be silly, a woman can't rape a man under Irish law.
You were sexually assaulted though by the letter of the law.
So “rapey creep” has definitely become the new buzzword here.
Only because a group of them show up whenever one of these threads appear, might as well give them a name.
Did I demand or ask? Weird or not, Boards has a long-standing No Link Dumps policy. Try not to get angry about it.
Yes, by rapey creep females, as you’d put it!
It would depend on how rapey their behaviour was.
Go ahead if you want to sound like a 14 year old girl. Sorry but it just sounds ridiculous
Bear in mind you're responding to someone who questioned a verdict of a man sexually assaulting a woman when the man pleaded guilty.
Purely wanted to ruin him and he was too honest, her victim impact statement you'd swear she was violently raped. Suspended sentence would of been the right sentence but now he'll be locked up with proper scum rapists and peadophiles.
There is a lack of empathy for the victim here in many posts and yes she is a victim.
One thing I will agree with is the people saying don't talk to the police are completely correct. Even though the judiciary has started taking a negative view of "No Comment" interviews. If you google online there is a superb video by some police officers called "Don't talk to the police" which has nearly 18 million views for a good reason.