Do people think the sentence is fair? I followed the case. I think it is about right. Probably on the lower end of a sexual assault case but i do think a custodial sentence was required.
She got all coy all of a sudden, she had no business remaining in his bed or house for that matter from that point on,you don't go home with people to nap in their beds
Sexual.assualt was the offence. Plenty of rapists thing rape isn't a big deal either, doesn't make it the case though.
Mods can these similar threads be merged please?
If he hadn't pleaded guilty there would have been no conviction here, have no idea why he did, he did nothing wrong.
Very strange case , I don’t see what he was guilty of? how many men and women have dropped the hand without asking for consent?
this fella cops a feel and gets 18 months, a man in my locality was found guilty of possessing and distributing hard child porn and got 6 months
i don’t get it .
That follow up meeting they had was a bad omen for your man...why did she expect of him as the event outcome couldn't be unfolded at that stage...did she think this could/ wanted it to... lead to a relationship and he laughed it off /agree to disagree which really infuriated her and she felt used and his fate was probably sealed at that stage
I already did answer. And it's no. Never when someone was asleep.
Consent can be withdrawn at anytime and is automatically so once someone is asleep. How on Earth can you be so ignorant of this?
Don't ever go near random women. Dangerous person with attitudes like that.
Mod - Moved to CA
He incriminated himself obviously by meeting her post the ONS night and after, co-operated with the Garda investigation, not sure if he had a brief present during questioning, he basically hung himself, what did he actually do btw, what was the offence, seems on the lower end of the scale to me.
No.
She willing returned to his house, consensually engaged in sexually activity, then under own free wil stayed in the bed with him, and also alluded to possibly later picking up on where they had left off.
At a later point he initiated. She said no and he stopped.
Had he continued, then in that circumstance it would have been a sexual assault.
Modern society and its lack of personal accountability is really becoming very concerning. Everyone is a victim nowadays and it is entertained.
The usual scumbags coming out of the woodwork.
Im just replying to mad max outlined scenario above, Im saying he should have went "No comment" on any questions put to him by the Garda.
he co-operated with the Garda, maybe with no solicitor present during questioning? I dont know why he met her post the ONS , its obviously she was pissed and wanted evidence, so there was a text trial and calls and maybe she recorded him, she deffo went to town on the guy.
Obviously because the supreme gentlemen of Boards are out, it's entirely the woman's fault. And the biggest crime the bloke committed was being gullible. He's the real victim amiright?
I'd suggest he shares a little responsibility for touching up someone who wasn't conscious and wasn't in a position to consent. Is that too much to expect on Boards?
So i think you are saying that this person was manipulated because he had no solicitor. If he didn't comitt acrime he should not have being in court.
I only know what i read here,
I think this case will be pivotal in terms of highlighting the concept of “consent” in educational settings in the future- the victim impact statement is a distressing read - it certainly a case that gets people thinking. Hopefully some good will come of this very sad situation.
Agree, I still feel that there is more to this , was she egged on by her friends and family to totally rip him to pieces, hes career is gone, 15 months is harsh sentence. She chewed him up and had him for breakfast.
I think he was too honest, stupid, naive, like a fish out of water. I hope he learns his lesson from this.
Buyers remorse. Seriously?
He's gullible for admitting what he did?
Indeed and to those arguing that this illustrates why " consent classes " are needed, quite the opposite, it's listening to a narrative of how men should always meekly aquaisce to women that landed this guy in trouble, this was extremely easy to avoid ending up in court no matter how vindictive this lady was ,she had no proof anything happened
I totally agree with you, he should have got a solicitor earlier on, should not have co-operated with the Garda investigation and never agreed ot meet her to discuss any issues post the ons , very naive and gullible chap
Yes I am a male. One that lives in the real world where I don't believe I can just mount a woman and grab her tits while she sleeps.
Do you believe what he did was sexual assault, yes or no?
He admitted it and accepted the verdict.
What more do you actually want?
Exactly to last few comments especially where if u cuddle up half naked etc hand goes round touch breast spoon man hand lands on penis. I just think it's a big sentence for a silly mistake there are far worse things being done for lesser sentences.
Even the act of foreplay, people kiss, they move their hand to other places. It's what happens and its natural.
According to the priests and nuns on here you should be asking permission. So if you're kissing you should then ask if you have permission to touch tit, or touch their leg and so on.
It's like these people are socially inept. Everything has to be black and white. There's no room for reading between the lines.
Presumably the sentence will be appealed.
Outrageously harsh but what's more astonishing is just how gullible the guy was
He should have sent her packing once she got an attack of buyers remorse, she had no business being in his bed after that
Once she began demanding a get together to discuss what happened ,he should have ceased all contact, instead he text her ( and met her ) so a recorded correspondence existed
He then sang like a bird to the cops
It should never have gone near court if he had even an ounce of sense ,he was like a fish who hopped into the net willingly
He worked for RTE so probably bought into the whole WOKE BS and gormlessly sacrificed himself at the feet of a vindictive woman ,had he kept away from her after that night and denied everything when the guards came knocking, the thing would never gotten near court
Hard disagree with the opinions here.
There's an understanding when you go home with someone, engage in foreplay, sleep in the same bed that you don't need to ask permission for basic physical contact.
He got on top of her, fondled her breasts. She woke and said stop. He stopped. He wasn't planning on having sex while she was asleep.
If he woke up and cuddled into her, that would be called sexual assault too because she was asleep.
Vast majority of sexual contact is initiated through actions, not by asking for permission.
Watch yourselves out there lads, there be some women out there who'll ruin your life for no good reason.
Are you male? Seriously i doubt there's a male on here who hasn't been in the same situation, be it ONS or relationship.
I certainly have in both scenarios, should i be handing myself in?
This is utterly ridiculous in any semblance of society.
The way that current clown world is trundling along, it won't be long before certain people will demand that anybody else voicing any sort of opinion that differs from theirs gets a maximum custodial sentence of 15 years, never mind 15 months.
People can subjectivily agree or disagree with the severity of sentence. They're also free to subjectively think that the sentence should have been more or less lenient than a comparable case.
That's not whataboutery, that's just having an opinion. There's no objectively appropriate sentence for any crime, so people will always differ in their assessments.
I said this at the time of the verdict - it's pretty much a textbook example for a consent class.
People who drag victims down alleyways know they're breaking the law, and consent classes will be worthless for people like that.
But I bet that never in a million years did this guy imagine that what he did would get him in so much trouble. And there's many more like him, who never imagined that what they did amounted to assault or rape, yet they're convicted.
If nothing else, information about what the laws actually say, and information about the absolute legal sh!tstorm you can bring upon yourself by 'taking a chance' like this would be valuable.