Do people think the sentence is fair? I followed the case. I think it is about right. Probably on the lower end of a sexual assault case but i do think a custodial sentence was required.
She must have been very comfortable sharing a bed with him ..he wasn't banished to the couch for her to sleep it seems.
Ah, interesting. It strikes me as a bad rule.
it used to be a rule of boards.ie
How do a lot of (established) couples initiate sex? Often one party will start caressing / fondling their partner hoping to get them in the mood. Now that’s apparently all sexual assault. (Not saying it’s the same for people who’ve just met)
She woke up with him on top of her groping her.
She wouldn't consent ffs
More than likely they were probably naked/half-naked in bed anyway so their bodies would be touching involuntary as some stages while both sleeping in the same bed
this comment equates someone breaking into someone’s house and assaulting them as they sleep with someone attempting to resume consensual sexual activity, and stopping once the other party indicates unwillingness. Context is important.
I think it's a very harsh sentence.
This wasn't a platonic friend staying in the guestroom and he entered her room and bed uninvited.
They met that night and she felt comfortable enough to return to his house, get intimate and fall asleep in his bed. He tried it on again she said no he stopped and she continued to sleep in his bed.
I've had similar happen to me and at no point did I ever consider it an assault.
If I felt things were moving in a direction I wasn't comfortable with l got out of the bed, got dressed called a taxi and went home....I certainly didn't remain in their bed.
He was also a friend of a friend of hers....there's just something about this case that has an American revenge movie feel to it.
I have often had one night stands where in the morning the girl was fondling me as a bit of a wake up and looking for round 2.
If only I had known. We may have been exchanging bodily fluids all night but in the morning she was in fact assaulting me and I should have been traumatised.
I would also like to apologise to all those girls who have ever slept beside me. There is a very high chance that at some point during the night I will have turned over in my sleep and my arse may have touched against hers. Who is assaulting who there I am not quite sure, but as the man I guess it will default to me.
Well she should've accepted that after she said no he stopped so that for me is a genuine guy he didnt carry on pestering her and he dropped her home and met with her next day so obviously that says something about him. The apologies should've happened and a line drawn there not a year later there's definitely more to it.
Would you ring the guards a year later to report them?
that's a bit silly and presumptuous, I've woken up with people I shouldn't have and didn't want to sleep with after getting absolutely wankered and the last thing I'd want to do is have sex with them when I woke up beside them
Not buying it one bit, imagine if it were her that was the horny one and fondled him to wake up. It would've ended in sex not a prison sentence.
There’s a growing trend of men avoiding marriage because the costs are too high. However, most men think that the alternative of hook-up culture carries no costs. This case demonstrates that hook-up culture can carry huge risks. It’s all ‘I want nothing serious’ until you end up in court, lose your job or have your character ruined.
There’s a generation of young women brought up to think that men are the enemy and the cause of all their problems. Make a wrong move and all of this anger will be projected onto you. Look at the glee of some posters to see a man's life being ruined.
Men need to value their self-respect and career before risking it all on a one-night stand with women they don't know well.
No. She was asleep. How is that so difficult to understand? It's the lack of control, the fact someone is doing things to you while you are asleep? That you are aware off? The fact you can't help but question what else they would have done if you don't wake up?
How can you not comprehend how horrible this would have been for her?
Do you think it's ok to touch someone while they are asleep? That's what this case comes down to, nothing else.
To be fair this wasn't a relationship he had just met her, so it was out of line to wake her up that way.
I showed it to my partner who's as feminist and woke as they come and she said the victim impact statement was OTT and that he was wrong and he did his best to recover the situation. He f*cked up but I don't think the guy is a predator ffs.
I'm so mad since I heard this at lunch.
I'm a woman and that girl obviously has a screw loose. you dont snog the face off a guy all night go back to his and engage in sexual activity more than likely half naked and doze off for a couple hours and when she finds said guy fondling her breasts she automatically becomes a prude. This happens in every relationship when drink is taken someone is in the mood and fondles the other awake hoping for the ride. And the fact that he stopped as soon as she said no goes to show you he was a decent enough bloke. He even met her for an hour to talk after she said she wasn't comfortable with what happened. And WHY wait for a year to shop him. The whole story stinks and her victim impact is bullshit, she freezes when she becomes intimate your either in the mood or not.
So he would be as well off picking up a paid hooker instead so...as they would have both being in the same mindset
ok relax, I think it's a harsh sentence for something like this, you don't
And here we f*cking go. The whataboutery begins.
Just because that sentence was lenient doesn’t mean this one should be.
You don’t help yourself to a woman’s body when they are sleeping. Stop making excuses or looking for whataboutery. You do what this fool did and you’re asking for trouble.
And he sexually assaulted someone when they were sleeping.
That is against the law.
Anything before that is completely irrelevant. He lost any privilege he had when she went to sleep but he helped himself to her tits anyway.
Sounds like you think sleeping women are fair game. Weird behaviour.
Well here's a guy who got his wanger out in front of a woman and her children in her apartment, and he gets no sentence. It just doesn't add up why this guy is getting 15 months, it's quite harsh in my opinion.
There is nothing more to this story other than the facts of the case as has been reported.
Why is it ridiculous?
What should be the punishment for sexual assault on a sleeping person?
There are a large number of people here trying to make excuses to diminish what this fool did. You have no right to do that to someone when they sleep. He did it.
Its really not that difficult. You sexually assault a sleeping person, then you face the consequences. Tough sh*t.
Looks as it was a one night stand with 2 consenting adults.. it's pretty obvious what happens on these occasions sleep or no sleep
I don't think anyone is saying it's ok to do this it's wrong of course, but 15 f*cking months is ridiculous, especially when he's gone along with everything willingly which would have made the whole process a lot easier for the woman, and when you compare it to other sentences or lack of sentences for other far more heinous crimes over the years.
Because many people don’t know what to do when a woman/man/person of interest is within an asses roar of them, never mind if they were in a bed with them.
Same people will be the ones saying sex education isn’t needed in schools or consent classes are insulting to people’s intelligence.
There's a bad smell off this case and in particular the length of time for a complaint to be made.
Posters above are right - yer man should have straight up contested the account and argued that between drink taken and lapse of time, that memory was unreliable.
Men will learn and it's a not a good day for women who may experience more serious sexual assault.
He got a longer prison sentence than the female teacher who had sex with a minor.
God help kids growing up today, they don't stand a chance.
You can't touch people when they are asleep.
How on earth does this still need to be explained to so many people? He has no right to touch her, even if she was happy for him to do so the previous night, she was awake then and could consent. She didn't have a choice in the matter when asleep.
Why the hell do so many people not understand consent?