Do people think the sentence is fair? I followed the case. I think it is about right. Probably on the lower end of a sexual assault case but i do think a custodial sentence was required.
It's wrong but the sentance is harsh by Irish justice standards compared to some of the nonsense that goes on in court. He was up front about everything it's bad but 15 months ffs.
Earlier today a guy was found guilty of careless driving in Ballsbridge which killed a 19 year old on a bike. He got his licence removed for 9 months and no custodial sentence.
Imagine this thread if he was an immigrant :)
DPP wouldnt entertain it if the genders were reversed
Maybe it was her first time being fully intimate with someone and it was all too much for her to handle all at once...she may have needed more lead in time or be in a relationship...rather than a 1 nite stand
His problem was being too honest, otherwise it was her word against him. They were both willingly intimate the night before, he tried to continue it the next morning and she said no so he stopped. She left and then a year later went to the guards and complained. Apparently this is worth 18 months jail while random gropers on the street,clubs etc are either not charged or get suspended sentences.
She must've really despised him wanting his name out in public.. otherwise it would have been another closed court case
Fair enough.
The proper sentence here should be a lot of community service and requirements to take part in a sexual education course. What he did was wrong, but it does not warrant a 15 month jail sentence.
That's the way it is now he should have known better and he has to live with the consequences.
The point is that he groped her breasts when she was asleep - when he didn't have consent from her to do so!
Most victims of such a crime despise the perpetrators.
Few hours earlier they were probably kissing the faces of each other with a passion..for it to turn so sour in such a short time is unusual in the circumstances
suspended sentence. I think in today’s case the judge was unduly swayed by the complainants testimony that she felt suicidal for years afterwards. Another girl would have swatted off the guys hand and said go away I’m sleepy and that would have been the end of it. My 2 cent worth and I’m out of any more comments, I’ve stuck my neck out enough!
So them kissing means he can do whatever he likes while she sleeps?
I genuinely believe a large number of people questioning this have never had a healthy relationship.
Strange the courts have judged both him and Lisa Smith as deserving the same sentence.
Didn’t hear anything about it on RTÉ. I wonder why?
It was on rte TV/radio when convicted few months ago
Does seem like there is more missing from this story.
There’s a weird culture in this forum of demanding that the OP present an opinion, the consequence of which is that the thread is biased from the start. Why the hell do you not just let the thread develop naturally, or ignore it?
You can't touch people when they are asleep.
How on earth does this still need to be explained to so many people? He has no right to touch her, even if she was happy for him to do so the previous night, she was awake then and could consent. She didn't have a choice in the matter when asleep.
Why the hell do so many people not understand consent?
He got a longer prison sentence than the female teacher who had sex with a minor.
God help kids growing up today, they don't stand a chance.
There's a bad smell off this case and in particular the length of time for a complaint to be made.
Posters above are right - yer man should have straight up contested the account and argued that between drink taken and lapse of time, that memory was unreliable.
Men will learn and it's a not a good day for women who may experience more serious sexual assault.
Because many people don’t know what to do when a woman/man/person of interest is within an asses roar of them, never mind if they were in a bed with them.
Same people will be the ones saying sex education isn’t needed in schools or consent classes are insulting to people’s intelligence.
I don't think anyone is saying it's ok to do this it's wrong of course, but 15 f*cking months is ridiculous, especially when he's gone along with everything willingly which would have made the whole process a lot easier for the woman, and when you compare it to other sentences or lack of sentences for other far more heinous crimes over the years.
Looks as it was a one night stand with 2 consenting adults.. it's pretty obvious what happens on these occasions sleep or no sleep
Why is it ridiculous?
What should be the punishment for sexual assault on a sleeping person?
There are a large number of people here trying to make excuses to diminish what this fool did. You have no right to do that to someone when they sleep. He did it.
Its really not that difficult. You sexually assault a sleeping person, then you face the consequences. Tough sh*t.
There is nothing more to this story other than the facts of the case as has been reported.
Well here's a guy who got his wanger out in front of a woman and her children in her apartment, and he gets no sentence. It just doesn't add up why this guy is getting 15 months, it's quite harsh in my opinion.
And he sexually assaulted someone when they were sleeping.
That is against the law.
Anything before that is completely irrelevant. He lost any privilege he had when she went to sleep but he helped himself to her tits anyway.
Sounds like you think sleeping women are fair game. Weird behaviour.
And here we f*cking go. The whataboutery begins.
Just because that sentence was lenient doesn’t mean this one should be.
You don’t help yourself to a woman’s body when they are sleeping. Stop making excuses or looking for whataboutery. You do what this fool did and you’re asking for trouble.
ok relax, I think it's a harsh sentence for something like this, you don't