Do people think the sentence is fair? I followed the case. I think it is about right. Probably on the lower end of a sexual assault case but i do think a custodial sentence was required.
Or Mr Toast , ive a fairly far out idea but try stick with me. Dont hop on top of women and feel them up when they are asleep. Or yeah go with the solicitor letter haha
Shouldn’t have tried anything while she was sleeping then. It’s very, very basic.
And before any idiot starts, the trust built up through months and years of conversations within a couple is completely different to two people who met up randomly one night.
Zero surprise that some people believe men can just do whatever they want though.
You reckon people get up on sleeping women regularly?
There was definitely a thread on this previously.....i commented that there would be alot of men sweating around the country based on the facts of this case....if this is sexual assault......we have alot of sexual deviants in this country....
A year after the incident, she decided that she was assaulted....
Going forward you will have to get a signed and written consensual sex agreement before getting down to business....maybe have a solicitor there to witness it aswell just in case....
There was but it said it was closed. The sentencing was out today so it adds to the debate.
Wasn’t there already a thread on this some months back?
It was the fact that he started while she was asleep. Thats the kicker really and the most pertinent fact with regard to the actual law.
He did get on top of her and touch her breasts while she was asleep. Im not sure if you missed that part of the original story. He himself also admitted guilt. Harsh end result all the same ruined career/life. But an incredibly idiotic act during a 1night stand.
I honestly think it's very harsh.
They had already had consensual sexual relations before she fell asleep in his bed. Not like she was a platonic guest sleeping in the spare room.
I've certainly experienced similar and at no point did I consider it an assault. If I felt the guy was getting abit too carried away and I wasn't in the mood I got up and got dressed, called a taxi and went home.
She was a friend of a friend of his, the story always felt like an American revenge film.
I'm glad I'm not a single man right now tbh.
He'd have got the same if he were in Isis.
Can't belive this went to court...guys reputation is ruined...he started she said no so he stopped..is there more to it then this?
"Hey, are you awake?"
4 words.
She woke up in the morning, told him no, he accepted. She went back to sleep and he dropped her home that night. She couldn’t have felt that unsafe.
She agreed to go back to his gaff, they had consensual sexual activity. Now she gets to ruin this guys life and remain anonymous the entire time? A joke. Poor fella.
This can happen to any man at any time and it’s wrong. There was a young chap that lived in the apartment just across from me in college. He was fairly vocal about fancying this youngone that lived down the corridor and at any sessions he’d ask her for a kiss etc. she agreed one night and agreed to “ride him once”. A few days later she filed a rape claim. Plenty people were in the apartment that night and saw everything and if it wasn’t for them he’d have been in very serious trouble. The poor lad was totally innocent and despite charges being dropped, he had the tag of being a rapist for a long time after. He changed college because of it.
Very harsh sentence in my opinion - would've been less had he killed her with his car.
This just shows the importance of consent. Discussing consent is really important. If this guy was told about Discussing consent ans d the consequences of wrongly assuming consent, then neither she nor he would be in their current situations.
If he didnt mean to harm her It's a tragedy. Be both harmed someone he didn't intend to harm and has to pay the consequences. And still the usual posters will oppose any kind of reasonable discussion of consent as part of sex education.
In my view the sentence was harsh. They had engaged in consensual sexual activity the night before, he was trying to get things going again. He stopped as soon as she told him to. He called around the next day when he realised she was upset. I would not have thought that these are the actions of a sex offender. The judge confirmed that he was previously of good character. When you see in the news the same day that a Garda gets just 3 years for physically and mentally abusing his partner for 2 1/2 years and hear about repeat offenders for all sorts of crimes regularly getting off, a 15 month custodial sentence seems harsh
The lad will probably serve 9 months. It's a strange one though. I don't think it should ever have gotten to court but at the same time he was convicted. I think 8 months is pretty low for a sexual conviction. There ye have it though.
Deleted