So ironic, you're always waffling around the edges. Stay classy Rosita.
Legendary manager and his trophy list speaks for itself.
I'd say Marty Morrissey and Martin Breheny will be annoyed that you guys are beating them to these vital and relevant gems. Especially the Viagra one. No wonder Kilkenny hurling began to rise that year.
What a miserable, mean spirited and, above all, bitter post. I'm not sure if you're a troll but I sincerely hope so. Sad as that would be it would still be preferable to the alternative, i.e., a complete and utter lack of self awareness and humility.
Harry and Meghan is more exciting than Tipperary senior hurling at the minute. Tipperary never had a legendary manager. Bluffer Babs is your most famous one. He won 2 All Ireland medals. Well 3 if you count the one he won for Offaly.
Lol..oh far more important
People his age?? You're one ageist ill wishing poster. Get a life.
God grant us all the grace to grow old.
Just ignore - not worth your time commenting on
I wouldn't have thought Carey was old. And you're calling me ageist!
I thought he was finished a few years back but jeysus did he go out with his head held high. No other manager would have had ye within 2 points of Liam especially after 2 6 point comebacks.
The great years speak for themselves but the way he kept the team so close to the top in the bad years is the amazing part.
I feel sorry for you. Your posts are so bitter. You're full of negativity. Not much for 'old' people to do in this country. What a horrible comment to make about people over 65. Brian Cody is probably twice your age and he has more positivity and go in him in his little finger than you. Trolling the internet for kicks.
Rosita. Just one thing for you to remember. Brian Cody is the GREATEST manager of ALL TIMES. And get lost.
Here's some more "bitterness". In the seven seasons between 2009-15 he won 5 All Irelands. In the seven seasons since he won 0 All Irelands. Call that success if it makes you feel better.
Ah stop. It's one thing on the All Ireland thread but dont WUM other counties threads.
The ignore button is a wonderful thing, lads!
https://twitter.com/McCarthyMick/status/1550836811597053953?t=2MG357X5E8YdF1Voxs33CQ&s=19
The end of an era to see Brian Cody step down. His achievements speak for themselves. Unlikely to be surpassed. A sincere thanks to him for his service to our county as both a player and manager. Hope he enjoys his retirement and that it's lengthy.
A few more 1998 bits n pieces off the top of my head.
Warren Gatland takes over Ireland. They lose by 2 pts in Paris.
Clare Munster hurling champions and the 3 Offaly games. Offaly AI champs.
Kildare Leinster football champions for the first time in 56 years. Galway win the AI.
Sonia O'Sullivan 5k and 10k cross country champion.
Already mentioned Bill and Monica, Viagra, GFA.
Christian Cullen reaches 21 games played and 21 tries scored for the All Blacks.
Kerry beat Laois in the U21 football final.
Brian Beano McDonald goes for 3 minor All Irelands in a row with Laois. They lose to Tyrone.
The summer is wet and cool. A spell of weather in mid May reaches 25C and a warm spell in mid September reaches 25c. Cork beat Galway in the U21 hurling final. Doing back to backs.
Ireland Rugby summer Tour to south Africa results in bad beating and serious fighting. Dion O'Cunneagain is a stand out flanker with serious pace.
He won 4 Leinster's in 7 years in that time which was good going considering the players available, the previous 10 years was the best panel the country has ever seen.
Thought it'd be left till after the football was done & dusted. But can also see why it was announced today, an attempt to minimise coverage!
Which maybe how Brian Cody wants it or maybe not. But he's due a fair bit of coverage and I'd think that he'll get it in due course.
Just unbelievable stuff.
Congrats and hope you enjoyed the Limerick celebrations.
Anyone can twist time frames.
1989, 1991, 2001, 2010, 2016 and 2019. That's 6 All Irelands for your county in 50 years. NO back to backs. And that's with several managers. How do you like those apples?
Arsenal win their 1st double under Arsene Wenger, Chelsea win the 2nd last cup winners cup. Justin Rose finished 4th in the British open as an amateur.
France win the World Cup. Ronaldo top scores but has a 'turn' before the final.
The original Ronaldo was class as was that France team. Would Lyng be the front runner for the job? Given we're going mad on the sporting references will Cody have a say on his replacement like Alex Ferguson?
If the ones about Christian Cullen 21 from 21 and temperatures in May and September are genuinely off the top of your head, I take my hat off to you!
Apples are tasty since it's not my county!! Lol!!
I hope he doesn't. Because that can often mean the successor is compromised. Shankly, Ferguson etc turning up at training.
I think Lyng has earned it in a very Kilkenny way. Underage, senior selector, quietly. Bringing Henry back would cause a bit of a circus, and pressure on him to deliver. Herrity etc seem a bit below Lyng. I don't think they'd go for Eddie Brennan. He's a bit vocal on twitter etc.
And to be fair, taking the last 7 years and comparing them to the previous 7 is not exactly chronological gymnastics. They are straightforward and directly comparable time-frames.
I'm a student of history and I've a good memory. May is easy, I was doing my finals. September I was in London and flew home to warmer conditions in Ireland.
Fair play!