Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
When Martin is finished in FF once the handover is done to Varadkar. Martin is possibly the worst taoiseach we have had and we have had some beauts. I don't expect the government to last much longer then.
Even if he does step aside or is removed, it will take some time to find a new leader. Still, it might be a good time to consider it anyway. Having up to 2 years left gives them a chance to bed in and figure out where to position themselves and the party. They also have a deal and the last thing they will want is to be blamed for an unnecessary election. FF hotheads may see an escape from government to restore the FF brand as a good thing but it's really not.
The future of the party is the opposition benches and they will have to become the FG alternative and wait for their go again. This coalition has badly damaged the party IMO, not just having martin at the helm but just getting into bed FG. Martin had to have his go as chief though, you don't want the honor of the only FF leader who wasn't.
Will it take some time? He's been in trouble since the election, his replacement is long earmarked.
Has to be one of the worst party leaders ever and his membership must cringe when they see this stuff. Instead of just saying, 'ok, fair cop', he digs a deeper hole for them all.
I think all the people that survived covid because of the government would disagree with you.
If you want to see terrible leadership during a crisis not far to look to find them. Northern Ireland had a multi party leadership during covid and made a complete balls of it. In fact a lot of people in the North said "F**k this" and came to the Republic to get treatment. The likes of Cavan hospital full of people from Northern Ireland.
So on covid response alone that is not correct.
The sick competition and victim exploitation rears it's ugly head again.
The actual reality is NOBODY got it all right and people died in both jurisdictions that should not have died.
Leadership in Covid? LOL. They were absolutely nowhere to be seen, the show was been ran by NPHET. Covid is history at this stage, old news, they will be judged on housing tbh and they have made things worse with their policies. Housing was the number 1 issue at the last election too so its not a new problem.
What's he on now in leaders rating polling, 26% approval and his party almost in negative territory on support polling, has a kind of groundhog day feel to it.
Incorrect on NPHET. They just advised the government.
"Covid is history at this stage, old news" are you serious? or just don't want to admit the government performed well. Covid is far from "old news"
Housing was the number 1 issue, a month later the World changed.
And at one point they ignored the advice and it led to us being number 1 in the world for Covid incidence and many people dying who didn't have to.
Stop polishing. Recognise that they made plenty of mistakes as well as getting some things right.
I.E. Live in the real world and stop disrespecting those who suffered and died.
I'm not entirely sure if Paschal thinks all his constituents are, Stupid, Thick, Moronic & uneducated,, but his happy chirpy, not a care in the world and not cleary thought out, Tweet, got some delicious responses, like this one (on top) for example 😂
The victim exploitation is coming from you, with your hit me the dead COVID victims in my arms nonsense.
You are disrespecting those who died by not looking at who did well and who did badly and learning the lessons for the future. It is disgusting to see you hand waving away those who died unnecessarily in the North because of bad governance and telling us to forget about it.
I'll discuss the figures here in Ireland on an Irish government thread, I WILL NOT engage in your sick politically motivated game and exploitation of victims in another differently run jurisdiction.
It was sick when you were cheering on behalf of FF FG and the Greens at the time and it is sick now.
You really really need to grow up.
The survivors of the mother and baby homes are extremely thankful for some of the speeches Catherine Connolly has made on their behalf in the Dail and elsewhere. She is a barrister and clinical psychologist so is perfectly equipped to speak on their behalf.
Have a listen to this powerful speech from last year.
By the way, where did the investigation into the report's leak end up? Nowhere of course.
Actually I don't expect you to listen to the speech. You seem unwilling to learn every single day.
The hypocrisy is on the side of the usual crew when on one hand they say FG has never won an election, yet say in 2020 when MLMD wins an election, agree with her.
Cant have it both ways lads. Wont fool ol'marko on that one.
If you want to get FFFG out you won't achieve that by voting independents .
Didn't claim that it would. Just remarking on what you said.
The outcome is unknown but it's highly unlikely that SF will get an overall majority. They need to poll in the mid 40's to get there.
Therefore, once the next GE takes place, and SF doesn't have an overall majority, it can be viewed that SF has not won the election, as that is your claim.
What do you make on MLMD comments when she stated that SF won the GE of 2020 when they were 45 seats away from an overall majority? I take it you disagree with her ;)
Regards,
Marko
If you chop off the context of what she was saying you can put words into people's mouth to suit yourself.
ol'marko may fool himself, but very few others.
You dont know what the EDIS is do you?
Eh, did the ROI wipe the floor with Covid deaths when it came to the North?
More a general point not having a dig .Personally have no strong preference just would like some clear alternative government options then whoever wins good luck to them .
Jesus, how callous is that gloating?
So they did?
Didnt the border counties perform worse overall in the ROI?
We made major mistakes here. If you want to discuss those, do.
Compare and contrast are a normal part of discussion.
Your veiled threat to bring the mods down on me won’t stop me from appropriate comparisons, and when it comes to evaluating the COVID response, there is no more relevant comparison than the rest of this island. It is starkly clear why you fear this comparison so much. You want to hide away victims in pursuit of political objectives. Nauseating again.
It is not callous to compare which government on this island did the better job. Lessons can be learned for future pandemics and also about political party competence. We owe the victims to learn those lessons so that future victims can be avoided.
Didn't FG pay some lad to run their campaign and he also coached them on how to use social media effectively? Pretty dodgy lad, he's a federal criminal last I heard. No wonder Leo thought it would be okay to run a load of anonymous accounts etc. He wasn't the most commendable of people to be learning from, especially not if paying him.
I think both jurisdictions made critical mistakes.
I will not gloat about the figures to score nasty political points.
I will on a government thread point to the critical mistakes made here. I have also praised the initial efforts made by the government here.
It was NEVER a competition.
*Your paranoia is leading you to see 'veiled threats'. Why would I stop you when I think the damage you guys do when arrogantly reveling in this mire will help when people eventually come to vote for the parties you do it for.