just wondering if any boards members are going to the Open in St. Andrews in July?
And would anyone be interested in swapping tickets for days they can't attend?
cheers,
Sean
No need to be sorry. He shot -2 as the co leader with the all pressure on the last day. His performance over 4 days was only one off the old Tiger record -19 and C Smith won by shooting lowest ever aggregate. Scottie Sheffler won the Masters this year shooting -1 on the last day when lads were firing in -5s for the craic all around him. So what does that mean?
A bad day with the putter nothing more nothing less plus he was only 1 off the average today?
Rory didn’t throw it away, Smith came and took it off him. Won it on merit. Unfortunately Rory just couldn’t get the putts to drop. He drove the ball great and kept his head. Sad for Rory I thought he was looking good for it.
Its a different course. To say that was a good round from Rory is to not understand golf.
Yeah but sure the average includes the amateurs. Shooting below average is not good enough. But yeah look maybe a choke is a bit harsh. Either way he will be pissed at himself. Dont really get that though - bad day with the putter , sure isnt that the most important part of the game , is that phrase meant to be an excuse or an ahh hard luck.
And Cam Young
Cameron Smith shot 1 over par yesterday after starting the day a bunch clear, leaving him with huge ground to make up today. If he had been "more proactive" yesterday then Rory wouldn't have been in contention at all today, by your logic. It's a different game when you are out in front in a major.
I really wanted Rory to win it today but shooting 70 was a poor return when you see the scores out there today ...I think questions on Rory's mental side of things are fair...that was there for the taking...
That makes no sense at all sorry
That course was easy for these guys today, you protect a lead at Augusta or Carnoustie, not St. Andrews in perfect condition
Oh we cant question Rory here , and never say the C word.
Mcilroy seems completely bamboozled in his interview on Sky
A solid round but Rory needed to be more aggressive.
One birdie out of 4 drivable par 4's isnt good enough.
Who was protecting a lead?
The conservative way Rory played suggests he was
When a player shoots 30 on the back nine of a Sunday, hats off to them. An Open won, not thrown away by anyone.
That's it until next year. Enjoy the sun while it lasts.
McIlroy lives in Choketown. Has done for a long time now
Cam Young must be sickened with leaving some of those online putts short today. Could easily have nipped in to win this.
So mcGinley says he was tight , mcGinley said it came down to pressure, pins were the easiest today. He shot his worst round of the week by 2 shots. But everyone on here says no way was that a choke? Hmm
Oh hes the Mayor!
I mean because he didn't putt well? You seem to be looking at the scores and working backwards and have no clue what you are on about,
I’m not going to try and convince anyone I understand golf. From basic observations of Majors since I started watching around 1992 , a 54 hole leader who shoots anything under par on the final day often wins. Yes and Rory’s fans expect a lot of him because he is just so good over the years and certainly it’s disappointing when he doesn’t sizzle. The other lads flying today highlights it more I suppose. By the way when he won his last Open he shot -1 final round for a total of -17 and the rest of the top 10 outscored him, many by 4 or 5 or even 6 shots. Can’t remember it being described as a bad round.
No Mick I play golf and have for 30 years, I just don’t think you understand what I’m saying or the point im making which is fine.
Couldn't agree with that assessment today. One of the great ever final rounds in a major from Smith and Young not far behind. McIlroy didn't shoot the lights out but he didn't choke.
To shoot 2 shots your worst round on day 4 with the pins in the easiest positions of the week is a bad round. Not a bad round for a normal world number 85. But a bad round for Rory.
Deserves to be after this meek and weak final round performance
Just on the debate about whether -2 was over par, it should be said that a mere two birdies definitely is. Most high scorers had a bogey or two to compensate.
You havn't even offered any reasoning or examples because there are none to give, who cares if you have 30 years of golfing, doesn't preclude you from talking nonsense.
2 more putts drop for Rory and you aren't maki g this point
Mick you just don’t get it, you can bring a horse to water but can’t make it drink. Don’t worry about it.
I’ll meet you in the middle and call it a disappointing round as we both seem to hold Rory to very high standard. But as it would have won almost every major ever from lead/co-lead position , yes even ones with benign pins and weather on day 4, I’ll probably always struggle to call it bad and the world 85 remark was obvious nonsense. Hopefully he’ll have another good go next year although I’ll be rooting for Lowry.