FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Nothing much the government can do about inflation right now.

I know that

You know that

We all know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

I mentioned the government using tents earlier but its now gotten more serious. New arrivals to Ireland fleeing war in Ukraine or seeking asylum from other countries are staying at the old central terminal building at Dublin Airport due to a shortage of State-provided accommodation. You can read more on this here https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/social-affairs/2022/07/14/old-dublin-airport-terminal-used-for-refugees-as-state-runs-out-of-accommodation/.

Any FFG supporters on here care to comment on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,760 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

thay actually can do more to help though, but they probably wont....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,963 ✭✭✭jmcc

Getting back to the Irish Times poll, the Margin of Error for these polls is generally around 3%. Some of the other polls have showed FF and FG %s bouncing around with the gains and losses being less than 3% for the parties. The IT poll has FF on a 3% loss and FG on a 4% loss. That's more than usual and it is a 7% loss for the FFG government even though the Greens are unchanged. That's a major hit for the government. The Independents and others seem to have increased a bit.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I will repost this as a reminder.

The government tell us they are taking the housing disaster, that FF/FG created, seriously but news stories over the past few weeks show that they are not taking it seriously at all.

1) Land Development Agency working at a “glacial pace” in delivering land to build homes.

2) Property funds bulk buying 350 homes despite ‘Mullen Park’ stamp duty levy. Figures show that the funds have spent over €100 million since the government attempted to limit the practice.

3) An Bord Pleanála hit with fines as 5,500 houses now delayed, Section overseen by Paul Hyde faces new deadlines on plans for 25,000 home by August.

4) More than half of the country’s local authorities have not collected a single euro of the vacant site levy from landowners since its introduction in 2018. Only 8pc of money due for payment under the levy last year was collected by various city and county councils.

5) Darragh O'Brien busy pulling political strokes after introducing a last-minute amendment to the Electoral Reform Bill to allow political parties obtain lottery licences for political fundraising. He also has very strong ties to the construction industry.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

There heading off for Hols with not a care in the world and keeping us in suspense with the kite flying goodies they've "mentioned" , at the current state of affairs, they'll be nothing left in the Kitty by September. Maybe they'll be bring back , sticks of candy rock and a magic money tree for everyone in the audience 😏

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,760 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

im hoping for an emergency recall of the dail, as its bloody required, but i wouldnt hold my breath....

it truly is time to start planting those magical trees, cause we bloody need them now, more than ever!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

So all this talk of housing, Vacant properties and all the promises of Darragh O Brien.

This morning, waiting outside a medical facility in Tullamore, waiting for a scheduled appointment, what do I see right in front me 🤔

Three of about 50 similar properties around Tullamore in this state. Many abandoned for 8 years or more .

IMG_20220714_085743.jpg

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

You can't call him "Leo The Winner". What has he won since he became leader of FG? Nothing as he has the habit of losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Am I mistaken, or is this the longest time that FG have been in government unbroken? Can someone check that for me, as I might be wrong about FG actually winning elections and getting into government.

I mean that is how you win - get elected into government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

Not sure how anyone can call Leo a “loser” and he is about to become Taoiseach. What does that make the leader of the opposition? 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Without a doubt and long may it last!

Nothing like exposure.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

"He is the youngest person to be Taoiseach and also the first openly gay leader of Ireland"

FIFY.

It may be worth pointing out to you that being a qualified doctor, or a homosexual are not competitive events. However, as the leader of FG, he has lost every single election he and they have run in. He didn't even win his own leadership overall vote. - A loser.

loser

noun

Save Word

To save this word, you'll need to log in.

los·​er | \ ˈlü-zər

\

Definition of loser

1 : a person or thing that loses especially consistently The team had a reputation for being a loser year after year.

In the June 2020 Irish Times/Ipsos poll, FG was polling at 37%. In the July 2022 Irish Times/Ipsos poll, FG is at 18%.

Admittedly, polling was highly abnormal then due to Covid but support for FG under Varadkar has more than halved since that 2020 poll. :) At 18%, FG is heading into the old Labour "third party" position in Irish politics. The political model, if this polling was replicated in a GE would result in one big party, two smaller parties and a bunch of fringe parties.

The instability of the Big Three model (FF/FG/SF) is that no two parties of the Big Three have enough seats to form a government. There is the possibilty of a kind of 2.5 party model returning but it might be more accurate to describe it as a 1, 2, many model with the two smaller parties being FF and FG. On 18%, FG has to be looking at damage limitation for the next GE and choosing which seats can be saved and which will be lost.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,325 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I predicted he would lead them back to GE figures. He has surpassed himself.

Martin is odds on to lead FF past FG as Leo will lead them into what will be a bruising election for the power swap and the Greens. As long as Michael can steer his tenure home that is.

I wonder has Michael sleeveenly engineered the last laugh?

Since Leo has become FG leader they have lost their vote share and became the third largest party during the last election. How is that what winners do? If Leo had not been so arrogant they would have won the last by election in FG heartland.

Again, they are in government, how is that losing?

Losers in politics are outside government. The likes of Ruth Coppinger, Paul Murphy and Claire Daly are the serial losers of politics in Ireland. Never a day in government, never a single positive achievement, never even a successful Act passed by the Dail. They are complete and utter losers, out in the fringes looking on.

There are some in the opposition - SF, Labour, SDs - who may get into government at some stage, and then become winners. Until, then, they are at best competing, but still end up losers like the crowd I just mentioned.

So now we are at the stage of trying to downplay getting qualified as a doctor 🤷‍♂️

Also you don’t seem to understand how big of a deal been a openly gay Taoiseach is, not just in ireland but across the World

Then again we did have people on here creating accounts in his partners name. Another weird obsession by some posters

FG had to go into government with Labour, Official Sinn Fein/Workers Party/Democratic Left and Independents. It had to rely on Fianna Fail and then had to go into government with FF and FG. The electorate hasn't trusted FG to give it a majority for decades.

Seems that Twitter is down. This may be a major blow to FG's Social Media policy. :)

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 34,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

They are all a shower of massive hypocrites on this front. However, its predominantly the opposition calling it a massive crisis while also blocking housing.

And it has nothing to do with the Mica disaster. It has to do with people not wanting "transient populations" of students and single workers living in apartment blocks near their semi-D homes. It is appeasing selfish NIMBY twats.

How on earth would you know if I wouldn't seem to understand the scale of being an openly gay Taoiseach? In any case, I literally made no reference to either, other than to correct you.

You repeating yourself the last few days a lot. the RIC, blocking houses etc. I wonder could you point out two that the opposition blocked with the reasons cited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

Would you ask a doctor to fix your car? He was a non-event in health ffs. I don't know what his sexuality has to do with anything either. A weird thing to keep commenting on. Do you think gay people are different? That's pretty out there thinking off you.

The protection racket is funny.

Personally he has lost every election he has led FG into.

There is no other descriptive term that applies.

Speaking of Varadkar's time in Health, how's that National Childrens Hospital coming along? Has FFG managed to get the budget under control? I don't think that Donnelly would have made quite the mess that Varadkar and Harris made of things.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

If I was a politician, I'd take sneers from the sideline about losing an election every single time I went into government.

Losing is ending up in opposition. FF, FG and the Greens were the winners of the last election, all the rest were losers.

I ask him before I would some person on internet who didn’t understand LPT.

No need to lie now. I know it’s the standard is to lie about a poster but I have zero interest in responding to lies

"And it has nothing to do with the Mica disaster. It has to do with people not wanting "transient populations" of students and single workers living in apartment blocks near their semi-D homes. It is appeasing selfish NIMBY twats."

No mention of crony developers either..

Yet he will be Taoiseach.

The people that lost sit in opposition, difference is I would never refer to any TD as a “loser”.

No blanch, ‘losing’ is about losing.

The jury is out on whether going in to government will be another decimating loss for FG. Signs are not good.