Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
Jaysis, nobody was saying that Mark. There are criticisms that can be made of government over and above what world events are causing.
Firing out the Putin shite just because you cannot take criticism is juvenile reactionary rubbish. Trite and meaningless because it is always done to deflect.
Not sure what you are on about.
You seem to have a habit of spending the day and posting an hourly update on 'what was said on this radio program' day in and day out.
If one wants to engage or consume that type of content then perhaps they are better off on Twitter or listening to RTE Radio 1 all day. It seems you want to make this thread a minute-by-minute take on the news cycle.
Again, no analysis, no critical thinking, no foresight.
First off, the article is not behind a paywall for me, so not sure what settings you have on your browser, maybe try opening it in a private tab.
I don't think I am incorrect in that they did absolutely nothing. They spoke a lot, but on the grand scheme of things, it was getting worse much faster than anything that they were claiming to do was fixing it. They did nothing. As for the 'adult conversations', - I'll ignore that coming from yourself.
So you think it is worse to try fix the problem than the opposition parties which are trying to make the problem worse?
Have you worked out the issue yet?
The opposition parties are not 'trying to make things worse', it is simply laughable that thungs have got this bad and now FFG are scrambling around saying that now they can fix it. People have had enough, and no longer believe them. Why would they? After all, as mentioned, it was they that caused it.
The government is in place since 2020
That may be, but it is no reason to ignore or forget the condition that the two main parties in government left the housing crisis before 'this' government took over, particularly Fine Gael, as they have been in power since 2011, and that entire time the problem has got worse under them, all of a sudden they now claim to know how to fix it with (possibly less) than 2½ left.
If they can, fair play to them, but I for one have zero faith in them. They caused it, have been unable fix it given much longer time, I don't believe they deserve any more chances, passing out highly paid positions to underqualified buddies for the payout and the advantage of having 'one of theirs' in a position, rather than looking for the solution. I, and so many others, are sick to the teeth of them.
EDITED - The discussion seems to have moved on, but I didn't notice as I was replying, but leaving this here anyway,
Well, its a good thing for most here, because before the war in Ukraine most here would have preferred we spent next to nothing on defence.
Again though, since you admit that the opposition cannot change inflation, what's the beef?
Even you Marko must admit numerous crisis in Ireland not only started long before the Ukranian crisis but are infact not even impacted at what's going on in Ukraine, albeit the government's virtue signalling nonsense and seemingly indestructible magic Money tree keeps a flowing but not it would seem to address crisis nearer to home.
I didn't say anything of the kind, lying about a post again.
I said 'the government can be criticised above and beyond what world events are causing'.
Try reading what is actually written instead of what you want to read.
Indeed and your last line is precisely what I was referring to when it comes to our National broadcaster 😏
So you want to critique them for
a) Something beyond their control
b) Something the opposition, if in power cannot change
Consistent as always Francie.
How have your thoughts on defence spending changed since the 2nd invasion of Ukraine? Who do you think will invade Ireland in the next 100 years?? And for what reason. I'd much rather see the government spend on the long standing health/rental/housing/climate crisis than token defence. Fix what they broke first.
By the way, get off Sky News.
Another bizzare makey uppy response, what exactly your referring to is a mystery.
The effects of inflation can be mitigated mark. And like it or not the government are responsible for that and can be criticised or praised. Pulling the Putin shite is an attempt to deflect from that.
Indeed, we can leave that shyte to Pippa Hackett.
...again, the government can actually implement polices, to limit these negative effects, but they keep defaulting to their fundamental beliefs and ideologies in doing so, these will never work, but will only exasperate our most critical problems, as this is exactly whats occurring....
Bad enough to see it as a deflection tactic here never mind seeing it creeping into government rethoric.
two rouge Green TD'S
well Neasa's a redhead, not sure about Costello...
This has been done to death in the NATO thread.
What is clear is those who don't care about the defence of Ireland still don't but will still pick up the stick as a way to beat the government with.
Complain about Refugees - Check!
Complain the government spends too much money - check
Wants the government to do more, i.e. spend more money - check
How can they be mitigated against Francie? Go on tell us your solution.
What policies should they enact?
The current government parties decimated defence spending Mark...nobody else. It's a stick they cut from the tree themselves
You supported that 'decimation' Francie. You are on record about that.
Indeed but in fairness they are desperate 😏
What the hell are you on about?? The defence forces should focus on the culture of mysogeny first and foremost.
Nice try Marko , complaining about refugees is it, complaining about this Government policy , Not refugees but I suppose your one of those who thinks the Blatant hypocrisy, Virtue Signalling, inequality and bottomless pit of money is all perfectly fine are you 🤔
And also quite content with how their policy, with no infrastructure, no accommodation, existing crisis on services and cost of living crisis are you , all going swimmingly is it 🤔 😳
Although misrepresenting again it is You who are objecting to the government being criticised for it while now accepting that they did it.
Meanwhile breaking News and a bit of lunch time cheekiness
Wait a minute. How can you tell that the opposition is not making things worse?
My understanding is that Sinn Fein and other opposition politicians are objecting to nearly every single large housing project, while newspaper reports indicate that they are telling developers that nothing will change when they get into government. That is certainly making things worse.
I think we will be waiting a long time before we get constructive responses to these questions. The only thing likely is some fairytale loaves and fishes while taxing unicorns and rainbows.
Yeah right, complaints about government policy that allows refugees in and looks after Ukrainians is NOT complaining about refugees and NOT supporting Putin. Yeah right.